We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Option for the Galapagos”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchidea

Orchidea consists of two apartments: one upstairs and one downstairis in a fine neighbourhood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Orchidea consists of two apartments: one upstairs and one downstairis in a fine neighbourhood
Upstairs - Balcony Upstairs - Main Double Bedroom with queen bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Orchidea consists of two apartments: one upstairs and one downstairis in a fine neighbourhood
Upstairs - Balcony
Upstairs - Main Double Bedroom with queen bed
Upstairs - Main Double Bedroom with queen bed
Upstairs - Main Double bedroom
Upstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Upstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Upstairs - Bathroom
Upstairs - Bathroom
Upstairs - Bathroom
Upstairs - Living room
Upstairs - Living room
Upstairs - Kitchen
Upstairs - Balcony
Upstairs - Private entrance
Upstairs - Entrance patio
Upstairs - Private entrance stairway
Upstairs - Private entrance patio
A plan of Orchidea! Both up and down have the same rooming plan.
Orchidea's position within Puerto Ayora.
Downstairs - Living area
Downstairs - Main Bedrroom with double bed
Downstairs - Main Bedrroom with double bed
Downstairs - Second bedroom with twin bunk-beds.
Downstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Downstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Downstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Downstairs - Second bedroom with bunkbeds
Downstairs - bathroom with shower unit and small bathtub
Downstairs - Dining room
Downstairs - Dining area with kitchen behind
Downstairs - Dining room, with back entrance
Downstairs - Living room, dining area with the kitchen in the background.
Downstairs - Kitchen
Downstairs - View across the kitchen, dining area with the living area in the background.
Downstairs -  Private back garden. There is a sheltered area with hammocks here and also an outdoor table with four...
Downstairs - private entrance
Downstairs - private front garden
Downstairs - private front garden
Downstairs - front sheltered patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gary S
Safed, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Option for the Galapagos”
Reviewed 16 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were 3 adults that stayed for 8 days in the Galapagos. We decided not to stay on the yachts (a great decision) and do day trips from Santa Cruz Island. We visited 3 islands and spent 3 days touring Santa Cruz.

Staying at the house was great, easy walking distance to town, all the tour guides knew the place so pick up was great for the tours. The house is basic (you must bring all household stuff) - but they provide plates, glasses etc. Food was easy to get as the supermarket is a 10 min walk away, bakery is 4 minuites - in short - all is clos eby.

As we enjoy walking, we did not take the taxi's around the town (they are $1) as you miss a loss if you dont walk.

Paul and Gaby were fantastic and always around to help. We were met by them, given ideas on what to do, where not to go. As Paul is a naturalist, he gave us a tour around the Darwin Institute - great! As they live next door, it was just a quick jump and they were over to help. The whole build up to the trip was easy as both Gaby and Paul answered all my e-mails (and there were a lot) quickly.

I highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to town and the friendliness of the owners
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2011
Thanks for your great review Gary! It was fun having you here!

I just want to make sure that any readers are clear about the "The house is basic (you must bring all household stuff)" comment. We do provide soap and a couple of rolls of toilet paper for arrival after which one can purchase household necessities in the stores nearby. This is all written in the information we send out prior to arrival!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2011
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
s_lamb333
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple living in a home away from home”
Reviewed 5 September 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I loved the simple elegance of the place. It had a very natural feel to it with a beautiful garden setting around the property. It was far enough off the beaten path that you felt you were living with the locals, but not so far that it was a pain. I had a little difficulty finding the place, but that was mostly do to the fact that I speak very little spanish. I would definitely recommend this property if you are going to spend significant time in Puerto Ayora

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, far enough off the beaten path, but not too far.
Liked least: House keeper spoke very little english.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2011
Thanks for your review Scott. Glad you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoamingTr...
Wilmore, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming & Delightful Island Getaway”
Reviewed 7 March 2011 for a stay in September 2010
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent ten days downstairs in the Orchidea before kicking off our our two month South American backpacking trip. It was our perfect dream situation for exploring the Galapagos islands! Being on a tight budget we found ways to save money and experience the magic of the archipelago.

Before traveling to Ecuador, Paul McFarling and his incredibly helpful website was crucial to orienting us to the experience and made logistical coordination easy. Christina Paz, her husband and Marta were wonderful upon arrival, providing assistance with the apartment, day trip coordination and the flexibility we needed.

Day trips to area islands were spectacular but a pleasant surprise to us totally enjoyed the local adventures on Santa Cruz island itself: the Charles Darwin Research Station, our first ever surfing lesson at gorgeously pristine Tortuga Bay (within walking distance from the apt.), bike riding in the highlands, delicious swordfish fillets bought at fish market cooked at the apt - our freshest meal the whole trip! Enjoying fabulous afternoon drinks at Finch Bay hotel, The Rock, and many other fun restaurants. Lovely spa experience within a five minute walk, fresh local market foods, beautiful walks by the water - a charming small town experience in the heart of the magical Galapagos Islands.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Reviewed 15 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing