We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach, value for money”
Review of Golden Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Rose Hotel
Ranked #147 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I booked a double room for 2 days and when i reached i was told that they upgraded us to the suite free of cost. That was a nice gesture. Little did we know that the room was not clean and there was dirt everywhere. We tried cleaning the wardrobe so that we could hang our clothes, but gave up mid way because there was no end to it. The entire room was dusty. My husband was quite pissed and said that a clean double room was better than the suite. While we were there we didnt ask for the house keeping as we felt that it would do no good as the dust would simply fly around aggravating my dust allergies.

Pros

English speaking staff. The lady there (dont know her name) was nice and friendly. Didn't care much about the guy. He seemed clueless. Also while converting US dollars to pounds the guy tried to scam us so pay attention to the figures and his calculations cause Maths is not his strong suit.

Free passes to the El Sakira beach.
The location is great as the Marina and city center are in walking distance.
There are a lot of restaurants, banks, soverneir shops. etc nearby
The breakfast was superb as they have a wide variety of food eg, bread, pita bread, fool. falafel. salad. eggs. fruits. etc and is served buffet style.
The rooms and bathrooms are spacious.

Cons
WIFI is available only in the reception area. That too its very dodgy and unreliable.

They never have enough change. Be it US Dollars or Egyptian currency. I dont understand how the hotel doesn't have enough change even in their local currency.

Do not under any circumstances talk money with the guy at the reception. He doesn't understand it. So to be on the safer side have exact amount either in dollars or pounds to avoid the hassle.

Their exchange rate is horrible so to get better rates go to the Bank.
Their airport transfer fees is 10 dollars which is a total rip off. It is barely 20 mins to the airport and you can find taxis that go for 5 dollars.
The rooms are dusty and are in need of a good scrub
The place gets noisy at night and that affects the sleep quality
The hotel front is covered in waste with at least 3 dogs roaming around. Also there is some construction happening and hence the area in front of the hotel is a complete mess.

Room Tip: Bring adequate change with you Bing earplugs as it tends to get noisy at night The suites are ni...
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenth0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Golden Rose Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

We have just spent one month at this hotel. It is ideally situated being just a few minutes walk to their private beach, the Marina or the main shopping/restaurant street. The outlook from the hotel is a bit grim though, overlooking litter-strewn spare ground.

The hotel does need some investment. Even patching up some damage to the bedroom walls and repainting would make such a difference. It is clear the furniture was of good quality when installed. Items broken don't seem to be replaced. Our toilet seat was loose and despite two requests was never fixed. We had to move rooms mid-stay due to our air-conditioning being faulty and the replacement room had no shower head. We moved the one from our first room ourselves!

The restaurant, too, needs updating. The tables and chairs are old heavy metal and not very comfortable and the seat cushions stained and in serious need of replacement.

Sheets and towels are changed every two-three days but the rooms only benefit from a very superficial clean. Not surprising really wth just one housekeeper and his assistant for the five floors.

A buffet breakfast was included in the price and there was a good selection including eggs cooked to order, pancakes, fresh fruit and yoghurt together with different potato choices each day, red beans in a sauce, bread, cakes slices and jam. Tea and coffee, of course, and a weak a as fruit drink made from diluted powder I suspect. We didn't have an evening meal their during our stay.

The staff were friendly enough but some lacked initiative.

To end on a few positive notes. We enjoyed our stay in many ways and free daily passes to El Sakia beach with clean beach towels each day was a real bonus, as were the comfortable beds, the air-conditioning and the fridge in the room. Good breakfast, too. A great pity the hotel appeared to have a neglected, unloved feel about it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dande49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Just to be honest about it the place is really nice and in center of hurghada has a fantastic roof view of the sea and city, you could have a huge room with tv aircon, and a fridge. Plus nice bath shower with hot water walking 2 min to beach or marina shopping center and 150 meters to Sheraton or sherry street, very good price for the service and honest smiley staff and management

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Hamada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Horrible hôtel , everything are very old And broken , even The room are very dirty , do they clean ??? Anyways its on a good place And you have a beach near The Hotel. The name are beautiful but When U go inside ...... There is Hotel around this i advice to go there.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Zakia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

It was the first time for me to visit Hurghada, so I wanted to be next to the city centre (5 minutes away from the New Marina!) The location is excellent. Service could have been better as the staff is really polite and good. Food is good but poor in variety. Beaches next to the hotel are quite good. It can be improved, keep it up ;) !

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Heppa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.7 km away
Triton Empire Hotel
Triton Empire Hotel
#162 of 222 in Hurghada
794 reviews
4.7 km away
Triton Empire Inn
Triton Empire Inn
#183 of 222 in Hurghada
133 reviews
2.9 km away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#103 of 222 in Hurghada
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Panorama Bungalows Aqua Park Hurghada
25.9 km away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
256 reviews
0.3 km away
MinaMark Beach Resort
MinaMark Beach Resort
#82 of 222 in Hurghada
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rose Hotel

Address: Sheraton Road, Hurghada 61111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Price Range: RM59 - RM143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Golden Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing