We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 23 June 2012

went at the start off the year was sheer bliss pools were abit cold and nights were chilly but the whole package was 1st class room was massive right by the heated pool ,kids club and entertainment was good quailty, but the main bufffet area was the worst ever no organisation russians are disgusting greedy animals !! lucky for us without knowing when booking we booked ultra inclusive which let us go a la carte every night there was 6 or 7 asian was are fav but they were all good so for little more money go ultra !!!! staff were nice mohamed at the main pool bar and wally in the round the world stood out more tho , airport rubbish ,, change money out there for a better rate ,, all in all good standard and good hol would go back ,,

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guests,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,312 - 4,316 of 7,502 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

we had a wonderful time at this hotel. We used all the restaurants. There is no charge if you are a thomascook customer. The best one was the asain the steak house was good too and so was the italian. We all had a free hair cut as thomascook customers. The kids club was great rhiannon and erin were really good with my special needs son. Never worried when i left him in their care. Pools were very clean and mohame the pool boy was wonderful with the children as was the life guard. The cups are small and the progod bar was never manned by enough staff and we had to que for quite a long time. But the waiting staff will get your drinks. we booked a trip with the boys around the pool not the rep. They were wonderful and we had an outstanding day on a boat and even saw dolphins and a giant turtle.The captian was great with the children. The beach is safe and shallow but crowded with beds. The food was very good with lots to choose from and toffee apples for the kids. They even have an area for children to eat. The shop keepers do not hassel you and are very nice. All in all you will have a fantastic holiday and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: block ten is next to the pool very big block for familys. block 34,35 are very large family rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your holidays at our resort.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Sunrise Royal 5th - 13th June 2012, on arrival we checked in and were shown to our room, we were in block 38 which was right by the reception and great to access the pool. The room was very nice, large bed, balcony, dressing table and plenty of wardrobe space, the bathroom had a walk in shower (no bath) but I wasn't fussed. We arrived late around 12am but delighted the restaurant opened for us to eat along with a few others from our Thomas Cook flight. The hotel has a new time zone of one hour infront of Egypt as they say this allows more time in the sun. You had a choice to eat breakfast in the Mexican Restaurant or the main, we chose to eat in the Mexican as it was much more relaxed and less chaotic (do not expect a full english) We used the main pool most days which we loved and there was always sun beds available and no getting up early to race for a spot. There are 7 Al a Carte Restaurants which you need to book in advance to eat in we tried the Italian, Steak & Meditteranean overall the food wasn't bad but I suffered unfortunately towards the end of our holiday, the entertainment was good and overall this hotel was absolutely ideal for us. We did the Mahmya Island sunset trip where you went snorkelling 100% recommend this absolutely perfect!! I will not return to Hurghada but I would recommend this hotel to anyone as its suitable for all! Prepare to tip and the staff will always go that extra mile to look after you, this hotel is situated in the middle of a desert so don't expect much when you transfer from the airport!

Room Tip: blocks 31-38 are ideal as they are close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your holidays at our resort.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us.

We hope to welcome you once again.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We visited this hotel in June 2011 as a party of 15 for two weeks and we had a wonderful time - cool drinks upon arrival at the hotel then escorted to our rooms. The entire complex is spotless: gardens are kept beautiful, communal areas are constantly cleaned. You can visit the al a carte restaurants as many times as you wish and I have to say that the Asian was our favourite. I believe that the booking system has now changed for the al a cartes so you dont have to queue every morning to book.

We stayed at the hotel again in August 2011 for two weeks and had another superb holiday. The staff can't do enough for you, always smiling and helping wherever possible.

The Around the World restaurant makes a nice change at meal times from the main buffet restaurant and you can also get lovely pizzas and snacks from the pool bar at lunch time and also the family pool bar.

We booked a private boat trip with Blue Waves and had a fantastic day, the team on the boat were excellent they looked after us all day, cooked a lovely meal and we even swam with the dolphins!!

Entertainment was also really good from beach parties to pool parties and live music and dancing near the Pegalo Bar of an evening.

We took dollar notes to tip as the staff find it difficult to change pound coins.

We've booked to stay at the hotel again from March 22nd next year for two weeks as a party of 12 to celebrate my 50th Birthday and we cannot wait for this day to arrive.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions - go ahead and book as you will have a fantastic holiday at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunmax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you again in March at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I went to this hotel back in March and wrote a general review which got rejected as it wasnt personal enough.

Well what can I say this hotel is top class and for the money is second to none!

Holiday tips:
- Get a red flag and smile and say no thank you to the sales people
- Round the world restaurant for breakfast, fresh omlettes!
- No need to rush down to pool or beach as there are so many sunbeds around.
- Food is amazing all day food can be found in many locations around the site and all was great.
- A small tip goes a long way to brilliant service! a dollar here and there
- Any issues big or small contact reception as there customer service standards of off the scale of greatness!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southeastlondonsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming review on HolidayCheck.
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectations again.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any requests. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.8 km away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
971 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,426 reviews
17.8 km away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#37 of 222 in Hurghada
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
1 km away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,291 reviews
9.1 km away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: RM290 - RM780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing