We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic didnt want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Just returned after 11 days of pure indulgence, perfect weather 34 every day staff amazing nothing too much trouble. Food excellant as was the 3 ala cartes, the Asian being our favourite. Heated pool was great plenty of sun beds.

Special thanks to Mohamed Hussain Mohamed who looked after us in the main restaurant so sweet and always smiling, also Mohamed Tawfis, Doaa, Khalid,Ahmed, at the Asian for making our nights very special.

Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supernanFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,070 - 5,074 of 7,485 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2010

well second time this year we have been to this hotel and our planning a 3rd trip, we had vip rooms for returning guests sippers bathrobes and fruit

we stayed over christmas and new year for 4 weeks christmas and newyear was in a great big tent with great food and entertainment,
the animation team are great with kids chicco,boyzon,christina and they work hard to keep u entertained our son loved them all
in the disco all animation were great including maro the dj and samier
in victoria pub hossam and methat were fantastic with us and our son
in the lobby bar mohammed was great, they all remember us from feb, and little mohammed the door greeter was also fantastic

i could go on about all the staff they are all great and really helpful, even mustafa the night manager

we had a vip managers cocktail party,
the restraunts are fab italian was our favorite but there all good
rooms are large and plenty of space
trips with thomas cook are good value
can not complain about anything a lovley hotel great staff and would highly reccomednd

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Thomas Cook holiday. The local rep, Vanessa was fantastic at making sure that you were able to do what you wanted to do.
We stayed for 2 weeks. The hotel staff did everything they could to make us comfortable. They were friendly and approachable. The food was delicious. The site was always clean. The room was spotless.
If you go over the Christmas holidays, I definitely recommend staying during Christmas Eve and New Year. They throw a fantastic spread for the celebration and a wonderful time is had by all.
I would love to go back again!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank panirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The whole experience from start to finish wasexcellent. The staff were all polite without exception.(to Tip at end of Holiday is advised)
The food was varied and plentiful, however the labels/description was not always translated correctly. Vegetarians need to talk to the chefs, as there understanding of the diet is interesting. But it's Egypt it's not England!
Drink loads of water., at least 2litres,( more if your on shorts) a day...readily available...then you are less likely to get pharohs revenge
We enjoyed 2 GALA nights-27chefs and there assistants put on a gormet buffet presentation of over 80 dishes.
HUGEcomplex, but you never felt crowded-areas to suit everyone.
Only disapointment was that there was no house reef to snorkel, but walk 500yds from the complex beach to the left side of the bay and there was.....not outstanding, but worth several trips at different times of day to vary fish.Clear water,goood corals.
Flies kept in control,but if you have a bird phobia watch where you sit in the restaraunts
as they come inside regularly to eat crumbs from the floor. However the floors and tables are kept clean and clear at all times.
A la carte restaraunts have to be booked,,,,,,probs with veggi again, but Italian Excellent. Snack bar at pool fantastic...... Pitzas made to order, burgers Koftas etc cooked reguarly, thoroughly and hygeinically....and believe me I'm fussy! Just never leave a plate without covering as Sparows and doves feel it is there area too!
Unfortunately we both had colds while away......caught we think from the planes recycling of air but this didn't spoil any thing. Temperature averaged 34-36 c during the day. Fleece needed for evening chill.
ON WHOLE EXCELLENT *****

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nannyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, Hotel Management at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2010

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we will put more attention to please our vegetarian guests.

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

This was our 2nd visit to Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort and this hotel was fantastic. From the day we arrived to the day we left we were treated like royalty.They have changed there general manager in May 2009 and he has totally made a big difference to the Hotel to the changes he has made. Abol the barman in the swimming pool bar to me was the most friendliest and polite member of staff in the resort. The food was excellent in the hotel and also the 3 ala carte Resturants where excellent. The Manager has introduced the red flag which you put beside your sun lounger that means that you wont be pestered with anyone trying to sell you boat trips, spa treatments. I am looking at booking again for next year and i always said i would not go to the same hotel again but i would with this one.

Terry: Ireland

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.8 km away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
966 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,424 reviews
17.8 km away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#39 of 222 in Hurghada
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
1 km away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,284 reviews
9.1 km away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#3 of 222 in Hurghada
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: RM282 - RM678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing