We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aroha Taveuni
Nearby Hotels
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat(Waiyevo)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Garden Island Resort(Taveuni Island)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maravu Taveuni Lodge(Matei)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taveuni Dive Resort(Taveuni Island)
US$254
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Taveuni(Taveuni Island)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat(Taveuni Island)(Great Value!)
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$880
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taveuni Palms Resort(Matei)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
203
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdennis and ngaireoutdoor showerrainbow reefbase to explorebeachfront bureperfect hostsmedical missionsomosomo straitfishnatural water slidesowners and staffa special placestayed longercoastal walkamazing foodevery mealkitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We arrived at Taveuni by ferry not really knowing anything, and couldn't have found a nicer place to stay. Ngaire was very welcoming, if not a bit bemused by our lack of planning. She suggested activities for us to do and I wish we had stayed longer. We walked from Aroha to the natural waterslide/sliding rocks, there are also stand up paddle boards and kayaks to use. The rooms are spotless, really nicely decorated and also soundproof thanks to the concrete walls dividing them. There is a great cafe/restaurant as well as a pool, and the ferry is a 2 min walk away. What else could you want?!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed a week for our second anniversary and enjoyed every meal, swim, sunset, star gaze, and tour. Dennis and Ngaire are great hosts with concierge service. They booked our tours, provided first aid supplies, and even accommodated a Saturday massage. Our bure was lovely with a shaded deck, small open-air kitchen, comfortable bed, ceiling fan (AC but we didn't need it), and outdoor shower. The staff was very well trained and kept our bure and the restaurant clean and full of flowers picked from the abundant hibiscus and plumeria plants on the property. We enjoyed our driver/guide, Jim's, local history and stories as he took us to the other side of the island. I highly recommend snorkeling at the Rainbow Reef and hiking the three waterfalls. We chose the Aroha after reading many reviews of places in Taveuni, and we got exactly what we wanted--a quiet, beautiful, relaxing week.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the water, so all five are great!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We are constantly searching for perfect idyllic and boutique remote island paradises.

Ultimately, remoteness is essential to ensure that there is a unique interaction with the surrounding habitat and local communities, far away from the crowds and cookie cutter experiences.

Our recent searches have been enriched by the addition of our two young boys (aged 1 and 3). Although this adds to certain criteria, the rewards of successfully finding and staying in a desirable accommodation facility in such a place are immensely heightened.

As was the case with our recent experience at Aroha Tavenui.

Aroha had been in our scrapbook of searches for some time. When the planets finally aligned and presented an opportunity of heading into the unknown, Aroha was easily our first choice.

Whilst we travel extensively, we had never been to Fiji because “it was too close”. I always knew that reckoning was a mistake. Both our stay at Aroha and adventurous experiences and tours on the island of Tavenui easily confirmed there is a unique remote paradise near our back door.

The booking process was very quick and seamless, especially for somewhere remote. Everything which followed when we arrived easily exceeded our expectations.

The owners are remarkable people with significant industry experience who are both very interesting and very interested in you.

The airport transfers were quality and offered an insightful initial tour of Tavenui’s beautiful and pristine west coast, its ocean views and different villages.

We stayed in the family rooms which consisted of two massive adjacent large rooms with huge ceilings, two bathrooms and an alfresco kitchen and dining area, which became the key central activity zone during our 5 day stay.

The accommodation is beautiful and very comfortable, and is in a lovely and timeless location. The outside shower for one of the bathrooms has views into the heart of the rich rainforest on the nearby mountainside. Such immense surrounding green made every shower time an experience that reminded you of the reasons for coming to places like this and for the right reasons for travelling itself.

The ocean at the front provided a constant opportunity to cool off and the blue at the immediate entry to the Villas is a striking contrast to the surrounding green. Our boys loved the beach, especially the chance to dive acrobatically into the waves when the local boys came to meet and play.

Time swimming in isolation in the breath taking pool was the perfect antidote to our busy lives back home. The restaurant is amazing, given the location of Aroha. The quality of the food and the refreshing drinks are remarkable, especially the different daily dinner specials. The wood fire pizza oven was always burning, even though there may not be anyone immediately around, “just in case” you wanted yet another one of their very delicious pizzas.

This willingness and preparedness to please are ultimately the qualities which set a place like Aroha, the owners and the staff apart, and keeps it special in your heart. Every member of their staff are unique, fascinating and lovely individuals who took the time to get to know us and were always extremely helpful, even when it was not asked.

Places like Aroha always come with the inevitable sadness that departure brings, knowing that there really is a special place like this in the world. It is easy to say we will return one day, but it actually takes a deep commitment and some planning to make this a reality. In the case of Aroha, I am absolutely confident that we will sacrifice further searches elsewhere to make a special return to Aroha in the very near future a reality. Our boys will make us!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank DeepintotheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

my husband and i enjoyed 3 uber relaxing nights at Aroha. i feel like its more of a high end bnb than a resort but this just adds to the charm and the personality of the place. The owners Dennis and Ngaire are so welcoming. The restaurant they have there (Kai time) is good value for money, always tasty and they were so accommodating with my coeliac. Staff are lovely and knowledgeable. The pool there is awesome, the beach itself is right by the port and the ships can be a bit noisy and i think they probably stir up the sediment a bit so the water is not very clear, no luck snorkelling here, so we took advantage of the Aroha island tours on offer. We went on a rainbow reef snorkelling trip and highly recommend it, it was beautiful and the dive team were fun and friendly.
The Bures themselves are super clean, comfortable and they have everything you need except for a telly, i loved having a TV break to be honest but the husband missed it! They do have reliable wifi though for screen junkies. The outdoor shower is bliss. Wish we could of stayed just one more day. highly recommend ! Kia Ora to Ngaire and Dennis!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btchnbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

A friend and I recently spent a few days at the Aroha following a long dive trip with a group of friends. What a charming place!

When I first saw our bure, I thought it beautiful and comfortable, but that it had to be one of the strangest arrangements for a hotel room I had ever seen. All of the doors were standing open, and it felt . . . so exposed! Within an hour, though, I was completely won over. The slatted wooden gate, the louvered windows, the doors all allow for varying amounts of breeze while still maintaining security and privacy. From leaving everything wide open to closing it and turning on the air conditioner, the room's design helps keep you comfortable in pretty much any conditions. The outdoor shower is charming, especially when you use it in the rain. If I have any criticism of the room, it is that the lighting was rather poor. This wasn't a huge problem, but a more powerful light would have been occasionally useful.

The resort sits right on the beach, so the views (and the sounds) are lovely. It is a short walk to a small store where you can buy everything from food to yarn to medicine. They have people who can take you to various sites like the waterfalls or the coastal walk. If diving is your thing, they can arrange that (the dive company will pick you up in a car and bring you back in the boat, right to the beach in front of your bure!). The food at their restaurant is tasty and reasonably priced (not to be missed is "roast night" on Sunday).

All in all, Ngaire and Dennis have put together a lovely and comfortable resort. Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KED2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews