We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Namale Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Korovesi Sunshine Villas(Savusavu)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naveria Heights Lodge(Savusavu)(Great Value!)
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$826
US$771
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gecko Lodge Fiji(Savusavu)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$736
US$684
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Daku Resort(Savusavu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
333
36
13
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
36
13
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskava bowlhorseback ridingbowling alleytony robbinsdive shopgolf simulatorour honeymoondream houseapple tvair hockeyhydrotherapy roomcouples massageheaven on earthscuba divingblow holewaterfall massageother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My vacation this year was to the land of Fiji, at the Namale Resort and Spa. From my arrival of a warm welcoming song until my departure song, Namale will always be a beautiful memory. The staff, the food, the service were all at the very best and the grounds were as if you were living in the Garden of Eden. Thanks Namale for a great vacation. Bula!

Room Tip: Room selection all looked great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_HankW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill K, General Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

On behalf of all of us here at Namale we would like to thank you for your generous and gracious words. And, for sharing your experience with everyone here on Trip Advisor. It was a genuine pleasure having you as our guest here at Namale and we hope that your travels bring you back our way again very soon.

Sincerely,
Bill & Nowdla Keefe
Co-General Managers
The Namale Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The beach was non-existant - a coral pavement - dangerous at high tide for the unknowing. Mosquitos were the worst ever encountered. Orientation was short and patchy and the map unrealistic. The ocean bures were small in floor area, badly lit, water pressure poor and sanitary ware damaged, non functioning lights and broken window louvres. The bure in-house service had bad communications and the food arrived cold. The laundry service was mediocre
and the Cava Bowl & Fitness Centre cold and unfriendly. The food was disappointing in spite of the variety (fruit was of poor quality) and the breakfast menu needed some daily variety. Local telecommunications were dreadful - only 3 mins on a phone call ! and Blackberry mail was packaged.
However, the staff were all excellent and very caring.but there was a problem with leadership. The bar service was cheerful and good at all hours and there were some excellent complimentary wines. The dive centre and snorkelling facilities were well set up.

Room Tip: Ocean bures have a lot of faults (see my review)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NamaleResort, General Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

This reviewer was part of a small group, a few couples, that came to spend the better part of two weeks with us recently.

During the first few days of their stay, they felt as if Namale was not meeting their expectations. Upon learning this, I personally sat down with them the following morning to discuss what we could put their trip back on track. Namale prides itself on doing whatever it takes to make things right for our guests and this situation was certainly no exception.
When they described what they were experiencing in their bures, I concluded that our maintenance team could not quickly or adequately attend to those issues while we still had guests occupying the units. As a way of offsetting the inconvenience, and, making the units available for the needed adjustments, I offered the entire group the opportunity to upgrade, free of charge, to two of our top Villas for the remainder of their stay. The Villas came with private swimming pools, outside hot tubs, inside whirlpool spa tubs, private big screen movies, kitchens, and private ocean access. That is why, when they told us that they preferred to just stay where they were, I was perplexed at their response. Be that as it may, this is what the guests preferred so I dispatched our maintenance teams to the bures to address as many of the pending issues that they could without disturbing the guests.
I made arrangements for our Head Chef Joeli, to meet with the group later that day to discuss meals they would enjoy during their stay. Chef Joeli began preparing custom meals for their group each day for the remainder of their stay. From that point on I personally checked in with members of the group on a daily basis. They consistently told me that everything was great and made a point of saying how wonderful the meals were that Chef Joelli was preparing As far as receiving a room service order where the food was delivered cold, there is no excuse for that in a 5 Star resort. I just wish that I had been made aware of that situation at the time so that I may have addressed the issue myself.

Namale offers a personally guided tour and orientation of the resort on their arrival day. Although participation in the tour is strongly encouraged so all features and services are discovered, it is optional. This particular group chose to fore go their tour and orientation. It was mentioned that the cell signal was very weak and in many locations, non-existent. I explained it was because of our remote location and suggested they do like many of Namale’s guests and use Skype via Namale’s free Wi-Fi service as an alternative.
We do our best to let our guests know in advance that Namale does not have what many people know to be a traditional sloping sand beach. This is due to the way that the island of Vanua Levu, and in fact many other locations in the Fiji Islands, were formed. At the outskirts of this reef line there is remarkable snorkeling and marine life. Namale does have a sandy beach area with coconut trees, lounges, hammocks, and beach umbrellas for our guests to relax in and enjoy.
Namale is situated on the edge of the Rain Forest and during the period of time when these guests were with us, we did experience a number of days with heavy rains. As you might imagine, this can increase the mosquito population temporarily. Once the rain stops our staff can resume our aerosol spraying for mosquitoes and it may take some time for this to make an impact, but within a day or things are back to normal.
I am unsure about the “cold and unfriendly” remarks towards Kava Bowl (our game room and entertainment center) and our Fitness Center as they are widely recognized as being well-equipped facilities. I will admit that at times the air conditioning setting can be a bit chilly in both of these locations. Not sure if this is what is being referred to when these locations were described as “cold…” however staff is always available to make adjustments for our guests comfort.
What it comes down to is that we failed to deliver for this guest the “Namale Experience” that we have become so well known for. For that we truly do apologize. We are always striving to do better and provide each and every one of our guests that “trip of a lifetime”. We have learned a great deal from this reviewer’s feedback and we will put that knowledge to good use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I decided to spend our 25th anniversary at Namale and renew our wedding vows. It was so nice having the staff singing to us as we arrived and being handed a welcome drink as we checked in. Our room was beautiful as were the grounds. I loved how friendly the staff was and still miss them. Our vow renewal on the beach was amazing. I loved having the choir sing to us, it just made it all so special. I would like some lighter food selections, more veggies. The drinks before dinner were delicous. We are definitelly planning on going back.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bathtub. That was important to me so we made sure we asked for a room with one. We ended up staying in Siga a beautiful ocean bure.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Maiyanna,

Bula and thank you for your review and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Namale. We love looking after guests and creating magical memories in every aspect of their stay. We look forward to having your return in the not too distant future.

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Namale Resort was excellent in every category. We decided to get married and honeymoon in Namale and was very satisfied with everything. The people were excellent......everything was beautiful.

A special thanks to Cindy with South Seas Adventures and Hudson and the staff at Namale. Well Done!

Thanks for making our wedding and honeymoon a very special experience. Jameel & Telicia - Married on September 6, 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for Susana (Honeymoon Bure) or the Bula House (Villa - The Best) - we actually stayed in both and they were fantastic. All the Best, A Happy Married Couple.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jameel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Bula Jameel & Telicia . Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Namale has for many years been turning wedding dreams into a reality and we are very happy that we did the same for you. We loved looking after you both and wish you both an exciting and loving start to your new family. Telicia, give your tummy an affectionate pat and whisper well wishes to the baby that's on its way.

Fond Regards
Hudson Mitchell and the Namale Family
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Namale is an experience as they say..... its beautiful and serene. The Staff is extremely friendly and ever smiling. Its a delight to be attended by them and the warm hospitality they extend towards you. The Food is delightful and extremely delicious. Vegetarians will not have a problem and they cater to all dietary requirements once informed prior to check in.

The rooms are luxurious and warm. If you are more than a couple, the Bula House is perfect. their entertainment area is perfect for some fun post dinner.

the best part is they pamper you and you still feel at home. The spa treatments are fantastic and deserve a special mention.

Privacy is of utmost importance. Their themed dinners are fabulous and absolutely heavenly.

All in all..... Namale You rock !!! Love the place and will come back for sure !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shalink01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Bula and thank you so much for this review. Team Namale is delighted that you were able to experience the warmth of our staff and the magic of a Namale experience. Thank you for choosing Namale.

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews