We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel Parkview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Parkview
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Chandigarh
Reviewed 3 June 2011

It is a decent hotel in the heart of the city with serene surroundings and quite comfortable. The rooms are comfortable with big balconies. It is a good value for money. Only that food is not of very good quality.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csonia1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

This place is adequate, generally clean, and is an "average" hotel for that area of India. Our room was adequate in size and it was pleasant to open the windows and be able to watch people walking around, etc. We couldn't find any nearby stores or places to walk so using the car was necessary if we wanted to do anything. The restaurant seemed pretty expensive and other guests said the food was lackluster.

I really dislike the hotel's policy of requiring 1,000R damage deposit. I paid it with a credit card and the money was refunded without question (or an inspection) upon check-out, but this really messes up accounting procedures. Besides, I thought it was insulting that the hotel somehow assumes that guests will damage the room. Bad policy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

You get for your pay is exactly how i will describe Hotel Parkview. Being one of the cheapest citco owned hotels, you can expect some level of standard but that is about it. The rooms are designed for the money you pay. I had booked a Semi-Deluxe room and the room was quite adequate. It had a TV on which reception was bad, had beds which were comfortable enough for a nights sleep. Being cold they had given us a room heater which was ok'ish. The geyser never heated the water inspite keeping it on for the entire night. All it did was "warm" the water. We called the electrician twice who worked on it for sometime and then left saying give some time it will heat the water, well in the end it never did ! We never tried their restaurant as we wanted to eat at local dhaba's, so no comment on that. The only thing they need to work on is their service. You have keep calling them to remind you need some kind of service only then they will send someone to attend. But as i said overall i am satisfied as i got for which i paid :-)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darshandodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Hotel Parkview is run by the city tourist board. This means that you won't be ripped off, it also means that management falls under public service in a country that doesn't know the concept of public service.
There are semi-deluxe and deluxe rooms and suites (which I didn't see). Another traveler noted that there's basically little difference - well, that depends on how you look at it. I spent a couple of nights in both varieties. The basic amenities are the same indeed, only in the deluxe rooms you feel like you're in a real though simple hotel; the semi-deluxe looks more like an eighties youth hostel that has seen its best days in the seventies. No big deal, only in a deluxe your chances of getting hot water also double more or less (from 2:5 to 4:5 - the trick seems to be: if there's no hot water, keep the hot water tap running for a couple of minutes to trigger the boiler, then come back after an hour) and the airco system looks decidedly ymore up to date in the deluxe. (I was there in december so no need for airco.) The slightly pathetic little heaters are the same in both types and provide just enough warmth for a Chandigarh December night.
The rooms and all of the hotel are worn but clean. There's a stuffy and slightly smelly little bar but also I nice lawn with terrace. The equipment in the fitness center looked like it hadn't been used since Independence.
Breakfast was labeled a "joke" by another traveler and again this entirely depends on your sense of humor. It's called a "lavish buffet" in the information booklet, which means toast and 1 type of jam, tea and coffee, and two "dishes" that can be anything: cornflakes (only hot milk though), boiled eggs, pasta, or an Indian curry. My sense of humor left me when the combination was toast, cornflakes, and red beans in tomato sauce. And lo and behold: my angry face was duly noted and they offered to make me an omelette for no extra charge.
Which is how I learned that staff, although not very efficient, is really very helpful as long as you ask. Same for housekeeping: I had to ask for a number of things from clothhangers to toilet paper and fixing my heater, but everything was done quickly and courteously.
So in the end I learned to stop worrying and like this hotel. You pay little, you get little, but there's a relaxed atmosphere and the shortcomings (except the hot water problem) are funny enough to overlook. If you're uptight about your hotels though, this is not your favorite place :-).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClemRobyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

the hotel's location is the best part to me. it is located in a quiet area. i found this hotel to be very relaxing. even after being in the middle of the city, it's location makes it the best hotel to stay in. the rooms offer full value for your money. its very much affordable. room service is also good. its easily reachable. your privacy is taken care of. the staff is very professional and cooperative. i would recommend this hotel to everyone who plans to stay in a hotel in Chandigarh.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarunpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Orbit 34
Hotel Orbit 34
#75 of 101 in Chandigarh
53 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Emerald Chandigarh
Hotel Emerald Chandigarh
#24 of 101 in Chandigarh
129 reviews
2.2 km away
Sun Park Resort
Sun Park Resort
#31 of 101 in Chandigarh
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
#14 of 101 in Chandigarh
499 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel City Plaza 7
Hotel City Plaza 7
#52 of 101 in Chandigarh
122 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#27 of 101 in Chandigarh
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parkview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parkview

Address: Sector 24, Chandigarh 160023, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range: RM122 - RM236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 157

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing