We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“dont go” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentines Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valentines Retreat
Ranked #52 of 63 Hotels in Candolim
milton keynes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“dont go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

we went not expecting much but werent prepared for what we got it was a good location away from the noise of the road the room was cleaned daily but plaster was falling od the ceiling walls were stained and filthy balcony oer looked the rubbish dump and building site but the biggest disapointment was the dinning room it was like one of the local food stalls we were served breakfast on plastic plates chipped cups and the plastic cover on the tables were filthy and didnt look as if they has seen a damp clth for months. the management were surly rude and totaly unhelpfull and uninterested the only time they wanted to chat was when we left and they thought they were going to get a tip. although the beds and towels were changed daily they were grey and stained i think this is a more acurate review than i read befor we went.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    24
    33
    18
    28
See reviews for
31
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

just got from goa third visit hotel dirty room with view to rubbish filled car park and building site very dusty could not use balconey manger unhelpfulwould not listen when we asked to move rooms boys friendly but do not clean ganga in bar very nice only good we can say booked with jewel in the crown only see rep first day will not use them again advice do not stay here

Room Tip: pool view room
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

nice hotel, friendly staff, nice food. a good budget hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaustubh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Valentine's Retreat (VR) is a nice budget option for visiting northern part of Goa. It is 10 minute drive to the happening Calangute beach and Sinquerim beach (water sport activities) and 10 minute walk to Candolim beach. VR is amidst quite environment and a clean hotel with decent swimming pool. The food in the hotel is also good and reasonably priced. Rooms are clean and good. However, bed we expereinced was making screachy noise upon movement. However, this is not a beach resort nor there is any sea view from the hotel or any of its rooms. It is budget option to travel with friends / family without kids, as kids might not like non-sea facing hotel. However, if kids accompany, they can enjoy swimming pool. Also, this is not for couples looking for a romantic hotel / resort.

Room Tip: Choose garden/pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotharidhimant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I am a travel agent in Surat (Gujarat - India), Booked this hotel for few of my prestigious clients. They are very very upset because of the sickning service of hotel. On the top of that, I have loosed them for the future business and damaged my credibility.

They said, the staff in the hotel is very rude. When they come to clean the room in the afternoon (instead of morning). they dont take your breakfast plates & cups, they said its not included in our job.. (all the plates & cups was there for 04 days)

intercom was not working in the room.

water was coming out from bathroom, said this to the reception to send someone to clean: after waited for few hours, my clients themself clean the water with the dirty towel (provided by hotel).

instead of buying a non-branded packed water bottle from the hotel, they ask reception to provide a jug of water (provided by each & every hotel in india), they said we will not give you that service, if you want then come downstairs fill the water in the jug and take it in your room.

they dont change the bedsheet everyday.

pool was very small and dirty.

overall: i request you everyone, if they are offering free room then also dont stay at this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divyesh_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.0 km away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#58 of 63 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 km away
Prazeres Resorts
Prazeres Resorts
#51 of 63 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 km away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#41 of 63 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
FabHotel Magnum Candolim Beach
1.2 km away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#29 of 63 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 km away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#37 of 63 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentines Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Retreat

Property: Valentines Retreat
Address: Sequeira waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): RM89 - RM657
Hotel Class:2 star — Valentines Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Valentines Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Retreat Candolim
Valentines Retreat Hotel Candolim
Valentines Retreat Goa/Candolim, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing