We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience is excellant”
Review of Agashiye

Agashiye
Ranked #8 of 3,680 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 'Agashiye' in Gujarati means on the terrace. This beautiful restaurant is spread over two huge terraces are inter-connected by a smaller one that houses a small wooden cottage. At Agashiye, the food is freshly prepared, a lot of it in the terrace kitchen where you can see it. Our attempt is to retain the distinct flavours of the ingredients and we use both spices and oil sparingly. The menu at Agashiye changes daily and varies seasonally too, so an item that you particularly liked during a previous visit may not be there on the menu. Though we hope you'd find another favourite!The staff at Agashiye comprises mostly of men from neighboring villages. During dinner, they will guide you to the waiting area where you will be served juice and starters. You will be informed when your table is ready. During lunch, you are seated at your table right away.The food is served in a kansa thali immediately on being seated at the table. The meal starts with a choice of Indian breads and ends with rice. Servings are unlimited. The staff has been instructed not to constantly hover around you and yet be attentive. In case you have a specific requirement, a supervisor will be there to assist you.Please don't be surprised if you are served a non-Gujarati dish or hear non-Indian music at Agashiye. It is neither an ethnic nor a theme restaurant. It is meant to be a dining experience in a contemporary Gujarati home.Agashiye can be booked for parties of up to 400 people with a buffet setting.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

They serve all gujarati Thali ( dishes),though very delicious but very very costly compared to other good restaurants in ahmedabad serving gujarati food or Thali.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 933anil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at Agashiye, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking time to review us and share your feedback. Feedback from our guests if of immense value to us. Thank you for your appreciation for our ambience and food. With regards to cost, we believe that our prices are commensurate to the kind of unique experience we provide with our food and ambience. We are happy you had a pleasant time at Agashiye and look forward to have you with us again soon.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

As an architect I like the design and experience. As soon we enter the place we get feeling of a designer environment. A beautiful concept of serving traditional food with approximately designed environment. Curiosity can be the key word. A great experience.
I will recommend to use stairs to enjoy the complete journey.

Thank Mayank Rawal's L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at Agashiye, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking time to review us and share your experience with other food lovers. Thank you very much for rating us with 5 stars and for your appreciation. You have described the Agashiye experience so well. We have put in a lot of passion and efforts in restoring the hundred year old family home of Sheth Mangaldas, one of the foremost industrialists and philanthropists of Ahmedabad; thank you for taking a note of it. Mahatma Gandhi stayed here as Sheth Mangaldas's guest when he first came to India from South Africa in the second decade of last century. Being an architect you can appreciate the design, decor and ambience of The House of MG even better; we are honored with your comments. Thank you once again, we will be happy to have you with us again soon.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

It is a old time palatial house from the princely British era which has been converted into a nice 3 star hotel. The decor is great, they even have a book shop and a textile display. Per head the meal will cost INR 1000 approx. You have to pay upfront on the ground floor and go up to 2nd floor where they have the restaurant. The food is unlimited and very nicely cooked and the staff are very friendly.

Thank Vijayan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at Agashiye, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking time to review us. Thank you very much for such a detailed and informative review; I am certain it will be of great value to other food lovers looking for a unique dining experience in Ahmedabad. As you have mentioned in your review, The House of MG was built by Sheth Mangaldas Girdhardas in the beginning of last century as his family home. Sheth Mangaldas was one of the foremost industrialists and philanthropists of Ahmedabad and Mahatma Gandhi stayed as MG's guest at this house when he returned from South Africa. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant time at Agashiye and will be happy to have you with us again soon.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Agashiye experience was simply worth every minute and every penny spent there. Beautifully done up property and such amazing earthy Gujarati thali and a relaxed atmosphere and we didnt need to push food down throat to match up service speeds ..like it happens at many places :-) .Portioned beautifully, the rotis were wow...the inhouse dessert made it great compilation of thali menu. Thank you !!!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank sreeja d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at Agashiye, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking time to review us. Thank you very much for your appreciation. You have described your experience at Agashiye so well. We will be happy to have you with us again soon, thank you.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

This restaurant opens at 6-7 in the evening and serves Gujarati Thali and they charged us 1400 per person. They serve authentic organic Gujarati thali. Value for money !!!!

Thank RitezSikkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at Agashiye, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for taking time to review us and share your experience at with all. We are very happy that you had a pleasant time at Agashiye.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agashiye also viewed

Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 

Been to Agashiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing