We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
119
18
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
119
18
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jan van mahogany furniture st francis church vasco de gama an oasis of calm boutique hotel living room swimming pool old world charm his team spall marigold fort dutch antiques luxury cuisine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2019

We stayed for 3 nights at this superb hotel. It is beautiful colonial house, an oasis of calm in a tourist location. The staff were helpful and polite. The atmosphere is of being a guest in a country house rather than a hotel, with a wonderful wooden heritage decor. The food was excellent. Yes, it is expensive, but well worth every penny.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019

Built in 1506, this is the second oldest colonial bungalow in asia. One of the earlier residents was Vasco de Gama who died here and was buried in St Francis Church before his remains were removed to Portugal. Other notable resident was a French Naval officer Mahe de la Bourdonnaise who went north and coquered Malabar. The bungalow was then used by Dutch officers before it fell to British. 1605 AD was possessed by the Dutch and remined in Dutch possession till 17th Century when it fell in British hand and remained so till 1947. Many a Dutch, French and British colonial army and navy officers have stayed at this property

Present owners from France bought the property c. turn of the millennium and converted it in to a seven-bedroom resort with a swimming pool. Each room is named after colonial officers who had made significant contribution in colonial times.

Hotel Marigold series two was filmed in this hotel.

Dining area overlooks the pool and overlooks the garden. This is
tastefully decorated with outside lights and is suitable for romantic evening dinning. Cuisine is mixed Indian and European cuisine and all including bread and ice-cream if requested are prepared daily in house.

Rooms are attended to twice a day, in the morning for main cleaning and in the evening for turning down the bed. Bathrooms are very spacious and each room has a shower and a bath.

Staff are very friendly, attentive and meals are excellent and cooked to western taste.

This place is a must visit.

Date of stay: November 2019
1  Thank 525quercus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2019

We just spend 4 night at the Colonial.
This historic house keeps on living thanks to the devotion of a family taking care of preserving the authenticity of this former colonial estate while pushing the standards at the highest level.
The furnitures and antiques have been selected with care, the atmosphere kept magic and the staff and managing team are incredibly pro and careful.

They make you fell like at home, with a step back in rhe colonial past.
There is nothing to change.

The pool and small garden are beautiful.
The meals served are perfectly executed and customized to your choice: possibility to choose between continental or Indian dishes.

Incredible and Wonderful place! A must stay place.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank berengere b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Le Colonial is a charming little hotel indeed, I’ve always wanted to find something like this and here we are! An old Colonial home with many stories to tell, tastefully restored and recreated into a luxury dwelling with many modern day requirements,
yet retaining its old world charm. Just walking in to the entrance through the living room like lobby was always a warm feeling with so much history before you.
We stayed in the Jan Van Spall suite which was again, full of period charm, two vintage styled queens, Mahogany furniture, a sit out terrace and a large bathroom with separate tub and large shower cubicle. Most importantly for us, a nice strong water pressure often rare in historic buildings. We also particularly enjoyed our terrace and the view we had onto the garden and pool.
A warm reception always from Arun, the manager and his team.
Special thanks to Akhil for moving around some furniture and my several requests for extra towels. They also were able to arrange an in room massage for me on the terrace, which was most appreciated.
Only place that we felt they ran short and could easily improve was food, not that it was bad, but considering that this suite is one of the highest priced accommodations in town, they could do better. Breakfast was that of a good B+B, nothing to match the luxury 5 star tab that they charge. I’m glad we opted to have dinner included only one night of our stay, as we were able to dine very well in nearby restaurants.
I would definitely stay again. For lovers of nostalgia and comfort this is the place to be in Kochi.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank kovitss1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

This 8 room boutique hotel was built in 1506, but is completely modernized. The location in historic Fort Kochin can't be beat. One block from the Arabian Sea and walking distance from all the historic sites. The rooms are large and three have balconies (get one). The food is excellent and the staff is fantastic. Visit Kerala and stay here for a magical experience.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank dorothyandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews