We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GK's Riverview Homestay
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Aida(Kottayam)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrysoberyl(Kottayam)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Hotel(Kottayam)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Excalibur(Kottayam)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Kuttickattil Gardens Homestay(Kottayam)(Great Value!)
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre(Kottayam)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
109
22
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
22
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge and dailocal ferrycanoe triprice fieldspublic ferrygeorge's placewashing clothestwo nightssmall villagerural spotrural lifeother guestswatch the birdswe loved our stayarrange tripsamazing hostsback waters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Our stay at George's homestay was perfect and in our 2 month trip of india it is one of the most memorable places we stayed. We were sad to leave! Set out in the rural backwaters approx 10km out of kottayam it feels like you are getting into the heart of kerala. The accomodation is spotless and thoughtful. George and his wife Dai go the extra mile and it felt more like you were staying with family than a guest house!

George showed us around his garden where he grows so many different spices and herbs we westerners could only dream of growing in our gardens! He grows his own coffee which is ground and left in the rooms, plus a kettle to make hot drinks. The rooms look over a rice paddy which is gorgeous. There is a fridge in the room with cold water and juice on arrival. He will lend you bikes to explore the local area and arrange canoe tour if you want. We had already done a canoe tour in Allepey so didnt repeat it, as we were quite happy to explore the area on foot, but another guest did it and enjoyed it. The locals are so friendly and smiling and you dont feel like you are intruding if you walk around locally.

George and Dai are the perfect hosts, it feels like a true home from home eating at their dinner table whilst George makes conversation (his english is excellent), with his grandson sat on his knee and the entertaining Indian soaps are on in the background! The food was outstanding cooked by Dai and each meal very affordable (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and whilst it is chosen for you this was embraced by us as it meant we tried and experienced traditional keralan food we wouldnt normally have had. When the demonetisation thing happened and all our money lost its value overnight George was extremely helpful.

For those looking for a peaceful retreat in rural kerala, away from the tourist trail for just chilling out, reading and exploring this is the place for you!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dakes5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in GK's homestay in August with our 2 boys and really appreciated our time there. George did all his possible to make us feeling home. Location is nice along a small river. (We loved canoeing on the river). Rooms are comfortable with AC and a nice view on a quiet paddy field. Food excellent. .. Georges replied with patience to all our questions about India and Indian people. He helped us to organize our stay in Kerala before and after Kottayam. .Franckly speaking we warmly recommend this wonderful homestay

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgekutty J, Owner at GK's Riverview Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you very much Thomas for a beautiful review.
You were wonderful guests. Very understanding .It was our luck to host such great guests like you.
All the best
Georgekutty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

A very kosy place.
A wonderful stay. The room was very clean.
In this homestay You are very close to how people live in backwaters. You kan walk around inbetween all the channels and talk to people, maybe stop and have A toddy
George arrange canoe trip and massage If You wish...
The food was superb, likely the hospitality to George and His family

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lealllllllllllllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous homestay right by the backwaters overlooking a rice paddy. You are given your own hut with shared veranda and have your own tea and coffee facility as well as a packed cold fridge !! I was overjoyed !! George and Di are so lovely, providing lovely home cooked food and will arrange a canal cruise on the backwaters of you like - can't recommend enough !

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

The second I got out of the tuk tuk I simply thought 'Wow!' George and Dai are wonderful hosts who welcomed us to their home.
The four guest rooms are set about 50m from the main house overlooking some paddy fields with hammocks to lounge in and birds to watch. I could feel the tension just dropping off of me.
The rooms are basic and clean with a ceiling fan, A/C, fridge and a kettle. What more do you want?
George is a perfect host and his knowledge of the area is second to none. He has a list of walks that you can take to really soak up the place. Everyone there is just so friendly and all wave at you and shout 'Hello'
The evening meal is an enjoyable experience as west round the table with George, discussing whatever, and enjoying the food that he and Dai had cooked for us.
Many want to go on the expensive backwater boat trips whilst in Kerala. George put us right by getting us to use the local ferry which cost all of 54 rupees! It took the same route and you got to chat to the locals.
Another good trip to take George up on us the backwaters canoe trip. It takes about 1 1/2hrs and you really get to see the area.
The only down side to our stay at GK's was that it came to an end.
Can't recommend this place enough. Definitely the highlight of our three weeks in Kerala

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews