We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rural spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GK's Riverview Homestay
Ranked #1 of 55 Kottayam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in the peace and quiet of Aymenem and it was a great area to explore and see rural life. Lovely location in the middle of nature overlooking the paddy. Georgekutty is an excellent host, knowledgeable and interesting and he was very helpful with bicycles and information too.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alisontraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for GK's Riverview Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Our stay at George's homestay was perfect and in our 2 month trip of india it is one of the most memorable places we stayed. We were sad to leave! Set out in the rural backwaters approx 10km out of kottayam it feels like you are getting into the heart of kerala. The accomodation is spotless and thoughtful. George and his wife Dai go the extra mile and it felt more like you were staying with family than a guest house!

George showed us around his garden where he grows so many different spices and herbs we westerners could only dream of growing in our gardens! He grows his own coffee which is ground and left in the rooms, plus a kettle to make hot drinks. The rooms look over a rice paddy which is gorgeous. There is a fridge in the room with cold water and juice on arrival. He will lend you bikes to explore the local area and arrange canoe tour if you want. We had already done a canoe tour in Allepey so didnt repeat it, as we were quite happy to explore the area on foot, but another guest did it and enjoyed it. The locals are so friendly and smiling and you dont feel like you are intruding if you walk around locally.

George and Dai are the perfect hosts, it feels like a true home from home eating at their dinner table whilst George makes conversation (his english is excellent), with his grandson sat on his knee and the entertaining Indian soaps are on in the background! The food was outstanding cooked by Dai and each meal very affordable (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and whilst it is chosen for you this was embraced by us as it meant we tried and experienced traditional keralan food we wouldnt normally have had. When the demonetisation thing happened and all our money lost its value overnight George was extremely helpful.

For those looking for a peaceful retreat in rural kerala, away from the tourist trail for just chilling out, reading and exploring this is the place for you!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dakes5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in GK's homestay in August with our 2 boys and really appreciated our time there. George did all his possible to make us feeling home. Location is nice along a small river. (We loved canoeing on the river). Rooms are comfortable with AC and a nice view on a quiet paddy field. Food excellent. .. Georges replied with patience to all our questions about India and Indian people. He helped us to organize our stay in Kerala before and after Kottayam. .Franckly speaking we warmly recommend this wonderful homestay

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgekutty J, Owner at GK's Riverview Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you very much Thomas for a beautiful review.
You were wonderful guests. Very understanding .It was our luck to host such great guests like you.
All the best
Georgekutty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

A very kosy place.
A wonderful stay. The room was very clean.
In this homestay You are very close to how people live in backwaters. You kan walk around inbetween all the channels and talk to people, maybe stop and have A toddy
George arrange canoe trip and massage If You wish...
The food was superb, likely the hospitality to George and His family

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lealllllllllllllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous homestay right by the backwaters overlooking a rice paddy. You are given your own hut with shared veranda and have your own tea and coffee facility as well as a packed cold fridge !! I was overjoyed !! George and Di are so lovely, providing lovely home cooked food and will arrange a canal cruise on the backwaters of you like - can't recommend enough !

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
6.2 km away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
113 reviews
1.8 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
5.9 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kuruvinakunnel Tharavadu
Kuruvinakunnel Tharavadu
#2 of 55 in Kottayam
16 reviews
8.4 km away
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
11.1 km away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GK's Riverview Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK's Riverview Homestay

Address: Aymanam | Near Kumarakom Backwaters, North West of Kottayam, Pulikkuttyssery, Kottayam 686015, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kottayam
Price Range: RM147 - RM248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of State Tourism Award for the Best Homestay facility in Kerala. The Genuine Backwater,Ecofriendly and Green accommodation with warm Hospitality provides the facilities such as mosquito-free AC & Non AC rooms, hot and cold water, veg/non-veg food, Canoeing,Bird watching, Boating, Sightseeing, Ayurvedic treatment and body massage,Yoga classes, fishing, temple and snake boat visit, giving a chance to mingle with the locals to learn the culture and village life, to see the cultural activities, festivals etc. and also arranging trips to hill stations, plantations, wildlife sanctuary. It is an ideal place for Bird watching and for a long stay for relaxation as it is in 100% pollution-free zone and peaceful Green Eco-friendly accommodation.It is a Romantic place for Honey moon.We accept all major Credit cards for payment and provide free Wifi and offer complimentary breakfast,Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your GK's Riverview Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GK's Riverview Homestay Kottayam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing