We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely my worst hotel experience in india”
Review of Hotel Maharani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kozhikode
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Maharani
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Kozhikode
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I found myself stuck in horrid calicut, it was dark and monson rains just started.
came to the maharani hotel after calling and verifying the is an available room.

the reception rep told me that i should supply a passport copy because their zerox machine is broken, i was amazing and asked him again, he said i should go get a copy of my passport,"either you supply it or get out", rude and arrogant.

With no other choice i left my original passport with him, he wasn't even ready to give me a written note saying my passport it with him.

beside that breakfast was pathetic, served is a pitch black room, hardly ate anything.
for dinner i got the worst cheese s\w you can imagine.

i asked to speak with the manager three different time, with different excuses.

my worst hotel experience, after 60 days.

Room Tip: don;'t stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ace k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed here on a one night stopover. We found it was good value for the money - just under 800Rs for a non-AC room and breakfast. The room and beds were were neat and clean, although the floors were a bit dusty in patches. The room had a TV. It was a good option for Calicut because its a little bit away from the noise of the town proper. The restaurant was reasonably good value. Its not a luxurious hotel, but if you're on a budget, it's fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katyandmark_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

What a find this place was. Away from the noise and bustle of the city, the Maharani offers 3 star accommodation in clean and comfortable rooms, at a very reasonable rate. The reception desk is among the most professionally run that I have encountered in India. Efficient, courteous and knowledgeable staff make for efficient check ins and have a wealth of local knowledge.

The rooms are spacious and certainly represent top value within their category. The restaurant has a wide menu, good service and a very acceptable level of cuisine.

I got the impression that nothing was too much trouble. We really did feel like guests here and not just customers. I would recommend this hotel to mid range travellers, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mr_metaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed two nights. This is a good place, located in a quiet part of the city, but within an easy walk to some of the main streets. Sarjun at reception took our reservation on the phone and did everything to help out on arrival (we arrived around 11pm). Professional front desk. The hotel has an airy feel, retro design, spacious rooms and well maintained. The complimentary breakfast was good and their meals also good. Friendly staff all round.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

The Worst Hotel and the Worst kind of services.

Irresposible Staffs

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank LimaBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kozhikode hotels
0.0 km away
Park Residency
Park Residency
#10 of 38 in Kozhikode
102 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel King Fort
Hotel King Fort
#9 of 38 in Kozhikode
140 reviews
0.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road Calicut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Marina Residency
Hotel Marina Residency
#8 of 38 in Kozhikode
271 reviews
0.0 km away
Malabar Palace
Malabar Palace
#14 of 38 in Kozhikode
72 reviews
0.0 km away
Copper Folia
Copper Folia
#5 of 38 in Kozhikode
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maharani

Address: Taluk Raod, Kozhikode 673004, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kozhikode District > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kozhikode
#4 Spa Hotel in Kozhikode
Price Range: RM62 - RM171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Hotel Maharani Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing