We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cliff Lounge Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 103 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2017

First of all I would just like to say the photos on site are misleading, the room doesn't look at all like we stayed in, location is good and family were very nice. In my opinion it is way over-priced for what one gets... Advice: shop around .

Room Tip: Inspect rooms before staying, photo and quality misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

As a group of girls we felt safe and well looked after.
The owner was friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, comes with mosquito nets already. Hammocks are awaiting you outside the door so you can relax on the balcony.
The location was great; very short walk to the cliff tops where all the restaurants and shops are located.


All in all. No complaints at all and highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bonzababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

Cliff Lounge is the perfect place to stay in Varkala. Julie & Nitheesh are lovely and welcoming, very helpful too. Our room was so nice it felt like home immediately. We loved the balcony view.
Mosquito coils were a nice touch.

We would have loved to stay for longer but ran out of time!

Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanielleT2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

A friend and I spend over a week staying at cliff lounge and had an amazing time. Very welcoming and helpful owners. Not to mention the very cute puppy who we spent a lot of time playing with. Nice clean room, lovely roof terrace and great location.

Note the bar next door was not open during our stay so I don't know if it would disrupt sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
5  Thank JazminIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014 via mobile

Awesome place - clean, comfortable, affordable. 100m from the beach. Cool rooftop with a hammock. Nitheesh and Julia made us feel relaxed and at home the moment we walked in. Not to mention they have an adorable puppy that we loved hanging out with. We intended to stay for 3 nights which turned into 7 nights because we didn't want to leave. Neither will you!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Cordelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0 km away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
966 reviews
0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0 km away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
403 reviews
0 km away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#33 of 103 in Varkala
52 reviews
0 km away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#12 of 52 in Varkala
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Lounge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lounge Guesthouse

Address: Near Juice Shack | Tibeten market, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: RM83 - RM122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean and very comfortable guest house with excellent facilities centrally located near the cliff. Solar system for warm water. Regular house keeping services are provided. Only 50 m from the main beach steps located. Very secluded but close to many restaurants and shops.Only one our drive from Trivandrum international airport. We do airport pick up and drop off.When you arrive in Varkala drive to Helipad at the North Cliff, drive the Cliff walk way until Tibetan Market/Juice Shack,then turn right. At the end of this street you reach Chill Out Lounge.There is a walk way on your right, which leads you to us. Welcome to The Cliff Lounge Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cliff Lounge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lounge Guesthouse Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing