We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a friendly place !!”

Flying J Ranch Chuckwagon Supper and Western Entertainment
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For over 30 years, folks have been stepping back into the legendary era of the Great American Cowboy at the Flying J Ranch. We invite you to experience an evening of great chuck wagon cooking and western music much like cowboys would have enjoyed after a long day on the trail. Enjoy the Western Village, complete with gift shops, pony rides for kids, tipi, and even a gunfight before supper. All this followed up with a fantastic and fun Western Music Stage show featuring the Flying J Wranglers.
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Flying J is a nice break from all the humdrum of Ruidoso! Such loving and family friendly place to hang out! We love it !!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Roseller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

The meal is outstanding and there seemed to be seconds if needed, but because of the large evening meal, seconds are rare. The entertainment is also great. Cindy (co-owner) is quite a comic in her skit. The fiddler would be difficult to beat. James (Cindy's husband) is very good at being a hilarious subtle comic. Can't say enough about this evening. You are definitely missing something if you haven't been there. They also provide several things for the young ones.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wildcatguard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We came with family who had been before. The jokes are cheesy, but delivered well. The food is fabulous!! And they served nearly 600 people in about 20 minutes with opportunities to go back for seconds! Our kids are pretty picky, but tried some of everything.

Get there at 5:30 when they open the gates to take advantage of the pony rides and pistol shooting for kids, otherwise you’ll spend all your exploration time in line. The gift shops have quaint items...what you’d expect at a place like this.

They open the sweet shop after dinner so you can get a cold drink or ice cream to enjoy during the show.

We had a great time and I would come back again another time!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LISA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Had a fun time and the food and entertainment was great. Enjoyed our time spent at the Flying J Ranch.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Show was great but disruptive lady and 3 kids ruined the whole show. They seemed very nice then show started and they were out of control. Lady was worse than kids. We were so disappointed that we missed half or more of the show.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank trueb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying J Ranch Chuckwagon Supper and Western Entertainment also viewed

 

Been to Flying J Ranch Chuckwagon Supper and Western Entertainment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing