We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended place to stay”
Review of Hotel Fort View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fort View
Ranked #55 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Just outside of the fort gate, this hotel is a good place and value to stay for a few nights. Clean rooms, clean attached bathrooms, free wifi, but no outlet in room. If a gadget needs to be charged, it's possible upstairs in the rooftop restaurant, where you find good fort view, good food and chai and Ali, who is always in the mood to make a joke, have fun and be at your service.
If you need excellent service, cleanliness, food, toiletries, etc, you should choose other hotel which may cost you a lot more. Money is used to buy all the needs you have. If you have needs and money, then buy them. Otherwise, stay satisfied or even happy! :-)

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have no view at all, but there are rooms on the front with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csabiarvai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

The staff is unkind and very rude The rooms are not cleaned between guests. One of the worst places we were in India. Do not recommend it at all. Its not even worth the cheap price and the food of the restaurant that they have is not good at all.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Meche P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed a couple of nights at this place. Got off the train dusty and worn wondered around town getting the usual hassle till I came across this place which I went to originally for the view ( it does have a great view) the owner was nice, the price is the cheapest I came across. Which got me in the door. I ended up staying because the manager and. His son we're so nice. I wasn't hassled once, they have me some advice when I asked. He says it's ur home when u walk in and after a couple of days it did feel like that . Rooms are pretty much what u expect for Indian budget hotel. But views great, location is right next to fort entrance, tour and such can be provided and the foods good. if ur after a nice budget hotel give them a try. Thanks for the stay guys.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Michaelrochford1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

I visited Jaisalmer along with my friends when the winters were at the peak in Rajasthan. We arrived at the railway station early in the morning and were thronged by many people trying to win new customers for their hotels. We had a look at a couple of them and decided to go with the Hotel Fort View person. The person had arranged for a vehicle to take us to the hotel. There was a foreigner already sitting alone in the vehicle who must have booked the hotel beforehand. Upon reaching the hotel, we were briefed about the whole package what the hotel had to offer.
It was a one day package which included:
1. Local sightseeing (which included Jaisalmer Fort, Gadsisar Lake, Patwon ki Haveli, Nathmal Haveli and the City Palace).
2. Camel Safari near Sam Sand Dunes (which is about 40km from Jaisalmer)
3. Stay at the desert resort in tents.
4. Dinner and next day's Breakfast.
5. Rajasthani folk music and dance show organised at the resort (along with camp fire).
6. Drop at the railway station on the next day.

The package costed Rs. 1800 per head which we found quite reasonable for the activities offered in it.

The hotel also provided us a room to freshen up before leaving for the sightseeing. The hotel room was an average double bed room with a below average bathroom. The window did manage to give us a view of the fort but also showed us the dirty streets with bad drainage. The bathroom did not have hot water which was promised by the hotel staff. After complaining, we were told that the water would be provided shortly but it never arrived. :( It was freezing cold outside and we just couldn't gather the courage to take a bath in cold water.

About the sightseeing destinations in Jaisalmer you may read my reviews separately on the individual pages of those destinations on Tripadvisor. However, I'll speak about the camel ride in this review itself. It was really a good experience. We were taken to the camel riders camp by car. The drive was also good. The actual camel ride was not more than 2km but still we enjoyed a lot. For most of us riding on a camel for the first time in our lives. We were taken to the sand dunes where we took pictures with the camels and dunes and the sunset.

We later went to the Desert Resort where many tents were erected with proper furniture inside (like Beds and Chairs and a Table). There were also attached Bathrooms with western style toilets. We were pretty impressed by the total setup. There was a central area where the resort staff had arranged for camp fire with mattresses kept at some distance for people to sit and relax and enjoy the whole cultural program.
Then began the cultural program. There were rajasthani folk songs and dances performed by local artists. The program was well managed.

Coming to the dinner, it was just not that good. Below average I'd say.

The tents were big and cozy. With good quality blankets. But the power extension box was broken and only power point was working so we had to take turns to charge our phones.

We were dropped at the railway station next day morning and that concluded our one memorable Jaisalmer Trip.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Cheap room but clean and with bathroom. The restaurant is quite cheap and good too! Good central place and the staff is friendly and doesn't hassle you to sell you anything! The roof top has a good view on the fort and city center too.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0 km away
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
#68 of 114 in Jaisalmer
43 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Star Haveli
Hotel Star Haveli
#69 of 114 in Jaisalmer
45 reviews
0.1 km away
Desert Haveli Guest House
Desert Haveli Guest House
#31 of 114 in Jaisalmer
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel City View
Hotel City View
#50 of 114 in Jaisalmer
16 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Golden City
Hotel Golden City
#35 of 114 in Jaisalmer
193 reviews
0.2 km away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort View

Address: | Central Market, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: RM 47 - RM 437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT HOTEL - hotel fort view since 1983 hotel fort view are oldest property in jaisalmer hotel fort view recomnded by lonely plante hotel fort view your 2nd jaisalmer home our hotel room perfect all traveler,s we 6 double bed rooms and 2 four bed room all rome have free wifi four bed room perfect fort view e Enjoy our multi-cuisine roof top restaurant for a meal overlooking the breathtaking fort, or just relax on the terrace with a cup of chai and watch the world go by! h (HOTEL FORT VIEW CAMEL SAFARI) FORT VIEW CAMEL SAFARI 1ST CAMEL SAFARI ORGANIZER I N TOWN SINCE 1983 WE ARE ARRANGE Day Tours/ Sleeping Under the Stars: Experience the true soul of this enchanting land by adventuring out into the Thar desert on one of our many safari packages. On our most popular overnight safari, you will enjoy a 45 km ride by jeep through the desert followed by an hour long camel ride to your camp in the dunes where you will watch the magnificent sunset and have a traditional Rajastha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fort View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing