We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience in my India trip!”
Review of Himmatgarh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Himmatgarh Palace
Ranked #76 of 113 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Reviewed 8 January 2015

The travel agency give us this hotel and we hadn´t time to check it the at tripadvisor and it was the worst mistake in the trip.
The service was very bad.
We arrive at night and it was thousand of mosquitos in the room.
The bathroom was really dirty and they turn of the hot water during the night.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jordan_bastoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2014

During my stay at Jaisalmer, had visited this hotel, primarily to meet the owner Colonel Man Singh, erstwhile of the Indian Army. The hotel is located on the road to Ramgarh, on a rise in the ground, thereby providing a beautiful view of the city of Jaisalmer, especially at night. I was impressed with the construction of the hotel. They have unique cottages, which are located in minaret type structures, round in shape and spread around the swimming pool area. The cottages looked clean, but were sparsely furnished, with just the bare necessities. The meal we had was nothing to write home about, but the staff was extremely considerate and helpful, true Rajasthani hospitality. Did not see very many guests around, which was surprising as it was the tourist season. The owner is a grand old man who regaled us with his stories and was considerate enough to take us around. The hotel looked as if it deserved a complete do-over.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

After our two-night stay, my husband and I (30's/USA) nicknamed the hotel "Creepy Palace." The hotel view, property's pool and “round rooms” are neat, but the overall experience was pretty strange. We were the ONLY guests at the entire hotel, which was off-putting. The entire staff was too attentive (watched our every move) and always seemed to be lurking around. They'd call our room before meal time to see if we'd be dining with them and then found the restaurant just set for two people. Very strange during the festival season which made you wonder why nobody else was staying there!

The hotel's view is great, but the location isn't ideal. You can't walk anywhere. While there's a novelty with the "round castle suites," we had quite a few issues with the room. The bed was very small, we had to request hot water one night (awkward) since it's only available in the morning, there was a terrible sewage smell in the bathroom that crept into our entire space, and there wasn’t WiFi available anywhere on property despite them continually telling you that there is.

The hotel's food was good, but not amazing. When we asked for an in-town restaurant recommendation we were given major attitude from the owner (who's also the chef).

For an in-depth look at our trip tips & guide to India, visit http://thetaleoftwotings.com/travel/india/

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The property looks great from the outside. The rooms and the cottages are sad to live in. The bed is tiny and just manages to fit two average Indians anything bigger cant fit in. The sleeping area and the bath are the same size and the fittings and accessories are pathetic.... they just came off in our hand. Hot water is only once a day. The restaurant serves food as per their convenience... the restaurant manager was really stuck up... but whatever was cooked and served was really good - great taste.
The view at night is awesome - the fort all lit up and the clear winter sky was amazing. If they fix the plumbing and the service staff the place will then be worth the money

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 200,270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is certainly a palace. But a poor man's palace! It lacked basic facilities like a tap/faucet next to the commode and hot water is available only for limited hours of the day. Breakfast was served at the table and was mediocre in variety and taste. The pool was dirty, though the room and toilets were clean. Dinner was worse with starch water for mushroom soup and under-cooked pasta for main course (unfortunately, we were at the fag end of our trip, and couldn't do any more desi khana). We aren't taking home any many memories of this hotel and would recommend looking up any other for a pleasant stay in Jaisalmer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VaishnaviPrahalathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.8 km away
Mahadev Palace
Mahadev Palace
#91 of 113 in Jaisalmer
83 reviews
0 km away
Narayan Niwas Palace
Narayan Niwas Palace
#101 of 113 in Jaisalmer
118 reviews
2.1 km away
Jaisal Castle
Jaisal Castle
#64 of 113 in Jaisalmer
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Golden Paradise
Golden Paradise
#73 of 113 in Jaisalmer
12 reviews
1.5 km away
OYO 3415 Hotel Heera Court
OYO 3415 Hotel Heera Court
#48 of 113 in Jaisalmer
69 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
#68 of 113 in Jaisalmer
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himmatgarh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himmatgarh Palace

Address: Ramgarh Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 113 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: RM103 - RM324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Himmatgarh Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Himmatgarh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himmatgarh Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing