We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a good hotel - Valur for money”
Review of Hotel Golden City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Golden City
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It is a good hotel - Valur for money”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I had stayed in the hotel with my family. It is an ok hotel. The swimming pool is an added advantage for its tariff. However, the size of the swimming pool is very small. The food is spicey but overall satisfactory.
The service of the hotel staff is not adequate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitabh1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    43
    20
    8
    28
See reviews for
23
33
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We never intended to stay in this hotel. When we got off the bus the the taxi driver took us here and then the hotel manager told us that the hotel we were looking for did not exist. We learned the next day that this was a complete lie and it was just around the corner. Fools!

Then that night i briefly left my girlfriend alone with the hotel manager on the roof terrace. When i returned she made gestures that she wanted to leave - it turned out that while i was gone he had told her about his genitals, tried to proposition her and offered her a massage.

Also when we told him we did not want to go on a camel safari he got very short with us.

One to be avoided i think,.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgoldencity, Owner at Hotel Golden City, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
I am very sorry about the problems you had earlier in the year in fact as you will see in an earlier review I fired Bhaya Khan, who is now working at Tokyo Palace, a few months ago. Regards. Gazi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaisalmer hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We arrived at jaisalmer tired after a long train ride, and were taken to the hotel (Which I unfortunately had booked via phone),

- There were bugs in the room, AC's filter was as filthy and dusty as it could possible get. The AC made the room stink.
- There were no controls on AC, only power ON and OFF was possible and in a tiny room it would have frozen us in no time.
- The swimming pool water was too dirty. I wouldn't have touched it at all.
- The linen was stinking and had oil stains and was not washed since ages. When I asked them to replace it, they replaced it with even worse quality.

Almost dead tired as we were, we still decided to walk through the barking and stinking street dogs who keep walking just outside the hotel's filthy front yard, and find another hotel (Hotel Renuka).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nowtejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We arrived around 10am (after not being picked up from the bus station as promised!) and were given a room to get ready in.. we were told we could keep this room if we wanted. We had to decline as there was blood on the sheets! However, the second room we were given was better, cleaner sheets at least. The shower, however, was cold and only let out a tiny dribble of water (not ideal after a 15 hour bus ride).

It is a pretty sociable hotel as they have a roof top restaurant and also lots of people by the pool. The staff were pretty friendly too, although could be a little pushy about the camel trip.

We decided to do the camel safari and despite gaining a few saddle sores really enjoyed it. Just a warning though, no matter what you book noone seems to get a camp bed or tent. You sleep under the stars...which, personally, I loved.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Rooms are not very clean but they have a great view on the fort. No hot water. Swimming pool is good. If they can, you'll have the room early in the morning (but we were there in the low season). A little bit expensive, 750 rs without breakfast.
The staff is very oppressive about camel trip, that's was expensive and they tried to cut parts of the trip. If you want to have a camel trip WRITE ALL YOU WANT (included closed bottles of mineral water - ok - , number of people on the car - they tried to place 8 persons on a car! -, places to visit - they tried to say us it was not possible to visit some places because "the street is broken"- , pillows and bedcovers -that they DIDN'T give us-). If you want to do a camel trip, perhaps it's better to take it with another one...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enrica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 km away
The Royale Jaisalmer
The Royale Jaisalmer
#19 of 104 in Jaisalmer
530 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 104 in Jaisalmer
666 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
771 reviews
0.6 km away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
0.6 km away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#86 of 104 in Jaisalmer
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden City

Property: Hotel Golden City
Address: Opposite SBI Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): RM47 - RM112
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden City 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with 14 rooms. We have a/c and non a/c rooms all with ceiling fans and satellite tv's. We have a rooftop restaurant with wonderful views of the old city and a swimming pool with a small garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Golden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing