We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with Nice Rop Top Area”
Review of Hotel Udai Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Udai Niwas
Ranked #95 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We arrived with our group from Intrepid Travel in Udaipur. We enjoyed the room as it was clean and had hot water. The staff gave us more blankets as it can get quite chilly at night. It was also nice to have a hot shower in a clean bathroom. We were on the 2nd floor and the wifi didn't work very well in our room. Not much direct sunlight in the room as that would have kept it a little warmer also.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elyse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Udai Niwas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

I arrived freezing and exhausted at 5.30 am after a 16 hour bus journey from Jaisalmer - think twice before you do that!!! - and the staff at Udai Niwas could not have been more helpful! I got a really nice room with a HOT shower and was massively pleased when I went for breakfast on the lovely rooftop restaurant. I agree with other reviewers that this is the best point of Udai Niwas. The hotel is fantastically located for all the sights but is down an alley, so this amazing feature is not exactly obvious!

There is some noise from the nearby Jigdash temple but overall for quality, service and value, Udia Niwas is highly recommended, at least by me!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnJoeKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I arrived in Udaipur feeling a little worse for wear & Mukesh organised Hot Lemon Ginger Tea , followed with up with a check- in to a sunny room with a warm smile & genuine interest in following up on how I was recovering. Thank You for a lovely stay
Shireen South Africa

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shireen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Prior to arriving in Udaipur we had not organised accomodation. A quick phone call to Moki, the manager, left us laughing and looking forward to checking out Hotel Udai Niwas. We were absolutely not disappointed. After showing us a range of rooms, he then showed us to the rooftop hotel (Sun and Moon - which by the way, is BY FAR the best hotel rooftop - after 3 consecutive meals there we thought we should try others, only to find them empty of people, no atmosphere, etc.). Moki was pleasant and obliging for our whole stay, making recommendations and always with a friendly smile. Also, as we were leaving super early the next morning, they aranged to store our breakfast in the staf fridge and let us access it at 6am in the morning - really in all aspects went above and beyond. The rooms are clean, have constant hot showers andno power outages! Yes! Although - we did have a room right next to the temple so the first few nights we were woken up early by loud temple music - you do eventually get used to this but if you are a light sleeper then see if you can arrange a room towards the back of the hotel. Special thanks need to go to Moni from the rooftop restaraunt - so lovely - he let us choose the movie to play one evening and was very pleasant to chat to and made an effort to get to know us, and gave us a lovely send off on our last night. Look no further, you absolutely don't need to! You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Far away from the temple as possible if you are a light sleeper - but you do eventually adjust to th...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctortoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The rooms of this hotel are bright, cheerful and full of character, giving this hotel a lovely welcoming aspect paired with the fact that they are clean and comfortably sized.
The location is fantastic, bang in the middle of Udaipur centre in between all the little shops and side-roads you want to start exploring as soon as you arrive here!
The staff are welcoming, friendly and do their best to make their guests have a happy stay.
The only let-downs are the procariously slow internet and the top floor restaurant.
Although the roof-top has bundles of potential, it is maybe an apsect that needs management and fixing...we avoided it altogther and enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DannieandYianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#32 of 163 in Udaipur
791 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 163 in Udaipur
373 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#40 of 163 in Udaipur
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#57 of 163 in Udaipur
189 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Padmini Palace
Hotel Padmini Palace
#45 of 163 in Udaipur
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Niwas

Address: 84 Gangaur Ghat Marg | Near Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: RM88 - RM475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Udai Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 30 Dear Guests,Hotel Udai Niwas welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Hotel Udainiwas is a 30 Room with attached bathrooms family-run small hotel.The hotel is 5 storied and has a Highest Roof-top Restaurant in udaipur on the top floor. It is accessible both by Elevator & stairs.Hotel Udai Niwas is an aesthetically designed heritage property displaying a true traditional ambience. It is an excellent combination of comfort, convenience, entertainment and style. The accommodation is ornamented with soft furnishings and decor and offers a comfortable and pleasing stay. The stylish roof top restaurant in its cool atmosphere serves a palatable range of delicious food and sets the mood for a romantic dinner for couples. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises.Except Standard room category all rooms are equipped with Air-condition, Television and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Gangaur Ghat' very near to world famous Pichola lake. Location Hotel Udai Niwas is conveniently placed at a renowned area of Gangaur Marg. Some of nearest visiting places are Lake Pichola (100 mtrs), Fateh Sagar Lake (2.9 km), Jag Mandir (2 km), Monsoon palace (8 km), Jagdish Temple (100 m), Saheliyon ki bari (2.9 km),City Palace Government Museum (550 m) and Gulab Bagh and Zoo (2 km).Maharana Pratap Airport - 24.7 Km (Approx.) Railway Station - 3 km (Approx.) State Transport Bus Stand - 2.6 km (Approx.) Facilities Hotel Udai Niwas offers productive list of facilities that includes roof top restaurant, elevator, sightseeing tours, taxi services and money exchanging facility. The roof top restaurant is the ideal place to have a perfect dining experience. It serves its guests with an ample assortment of scrumptious delicacies. A well-established travel desk arranges tours to Rajasthan and India for the clients. It provides efficient taxi services to them. Other additional services include folk dance, laundry service, internet with Wi-Fi and doctor on call. Rooms Hotel Udai Niwas houses 30 rooms in Six impressive categories of Standard Room, Standard AC Room, Deluxe Room, Super Deluxe Room , Super Deluxe Room with Balcony and Super Deluxe Family Room. All the rooms are nicely done up and appointed with air conditioner, ceiling fan, color television,chairs and table with attached bathroom. THE HOTEL SERVES THE HIGHEST ROOFTOP RESTAURANT IN THE CITY. Our Attractive Rooftop Terrace Offers The Spectacular Panoramic View Through 360 Degree.Upon The Terrace You Will Discover The Perfect Spot To Relax Away From The Noise Of The City Streets.With The Restaurant Close-At-Hand To Supply You With Drinks, Snacks Or Meals, And Musical Entertainment In The Evening With The Folk Dances And Music Of Mewar, You Need No Other Reason TO Laze Away Your Day Here. The Elegant Rooftop Restaurant With Its Cool Atmosphere, Makes A Perfect Retreat From The Midday Heat. Dine In The Evening In A Romantic Ambience;Muted Lighting, Gentle Music,Twinkling Lights Of The City And Beyond Won't Fail To Enchant You. We Offer A High Standard of Cuisine From A Comprehensive Menu. The elegant" Sun-n-Moon" rooftop restaurant provides a wide range of delicious food and an views of Lake Pichola, the Lake Palace,Jagmandir island, Aravali Mountains & you can enjoy the complete Udaipur city (A City of Lake) 360 degree view.We offers a serene refuge of comfort and hospitality where Indian tradition and modern services are blended. The has now become one of the landmarks of the city with its highly professional and delightful services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Udai Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing