We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
Review of Kesar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kesar Palace
Ranked #19 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zuentersbach, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We got a really nice room with modern bathroom, nice and big bed, clean and very central. The sunset view from the rooftop is amazing and the food is good. Best price/value we have gotten so far in India!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julu j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    66
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
16
91
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After travelling for over 2500 kms. and 25 days (from Kathmandu to Pokhara, cross over to Sonauli and Gorakpur, then Varanasi, Agra, Delhi and Jaipur), Udaipur came as a breather. We were not expecting a whole lot given what we've seen from the North but our stay in Udaipur was really special. The town itself was a welcome calm and the locals less intrusive and above all the place we stayed was really perfect. Kesar Palace was found by our auto-rickshaw driver (Pamna, one of the friendliest and very honest folks in the trade) because it was quite hidden (about 30 meters from the main road in old town Udaipur, a stone throw away from the Jagdish Temple). Kesar is so impressive with its big rooms, elegant bathrooms, great view and comfy lay out plus the free wi-fi and of course the family run restaurant on the very top (literally a bird's eye view of the town with the great panoramic view of the lake and the hills)...this inexpensive family run hotel made our Udaipur leg far more special. The only negative (if you're out of shape) is the flight of stairs your have to cover everyday to get to the rooms and the resto, though this turned out to be a great work out..we were so elated that we even shared the info to some travelers we met in the streets of Udaipur (short of hawking it to them..)..and their comments.."how did you find this place?"...Kesar Palace keep it up...Jojo, Candy and Rose

Room Tip: go to the higher floors..fantastic views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyLoretoEmnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Kesar Palace is a top notch choice for budget or mid range travelers. Wonderful value for your money. Rooms are VERY clean, hot water on demand, wifi available in rooms for a small fee. The owner is a very friendly gentleman, who is very helpful and kind. The Hotel is a very short walk from the city palace, and set back from the street so as to avoid the noise of the busy street. There are wonderful views from the roof top, and a very comfortable restaurant to relax and enjoy a morning coffee. The Service is Great, the Rooms are Great and it is one of the best deals in Udaipur. I highly recommend Kesar Palace to anyone on a budget who wants to stay in a clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kópavogur, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for three weeks and it has been perfect. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and nice. There is hot shower so will not be disappointed. I recommend for anyone to come and stay at this great place in Udaipur.

Room Tip: I have stayed in two of their rooms and they where both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafdís S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

It's difficult to write an impersonal review about the property when the owner is ur friend..but)
I fell in love with India in 2009 and it happened in Udaipur. I've travelled so much in India after..and was very excited to come back in Udaipur again in the begining of 2012. I was twice excited to see that my friend Sajid had opened a great-great plase =)
It has the tasteful beauty and of course it's clean. The restaurant will provide u tasty food + increadible view of the lake & the city.
But the most important thing is the people who run this place. I travelled too much in India guys.. so believe me - when i m telling u that u can trust the person i m 100% right!)) So these people u can trust!
Stay in Kesar & enjoy ;)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tentabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Greco House
Greco House
#8 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 km away
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
#1 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
4.4 km away
Jagat Villa Guesthouse
Jagat Villa Guesthouse
#39 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mewargarh Palace
Mewargarh Palace
#2 of 255 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.1 km away
Udai Haveli Guest House
Udai Haveli Guest House
#9 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 km away
Heritage Haveli
Heritage Haveli
#16 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kesar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesar Palace

Property: Kesar Palace
Address: 17 Kesar Palace Panduwari, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price range (per night): RM52 - RM95
Hotel Class:2 star — Kesar Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kesar Palace is a small, a fairly new and charming hotel situated in the beautiful old city center of Udaipur. The latest standards happily blending with old-world charm give the rooms a warm and homely atmosphere. The friendly owner, his family and their staff will do everything to make your stay as pleasant and carefree as possible.All rooms have attached bathrooms. Each of the individual guestrooms has its own character and style, with tasteful furniture and decor. Most rooms has a delightful view that can be enjoyed from the comfort of the jharokha (window seat). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kesar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing