We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the world experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Hotel took us to the another level of hospitality. Food was absolutely amazing and I do not have any doubt claiming that I have had some of the best curries at the hotel in my lifetime. Rooms were huge and well done.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharmanitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Thank you for having stayed with us.

We are happy to know that you liked our food preparation so much. I would also like to thank you for appreciating our rooms.

Your TripAdvisor review is being shared with the team Udaivilas and they are pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Udaivilās.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,597 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

We spent 3 nights at Udaivilas at the end of a whistle stop tour of Rajastan. Although I preferred the monuments, vibrancy and colour of Jaipur, the relative elegance and scenic beauty of Udaipur made it a wonderfully relaxing way to conclude our trip.

We booked rooms with semi-private pools, which are absolutely worth the extra cost, even if the pool is bit chilly for my taste. These rooms are the same size and layout as the equivalent without pool access, but I found the ease of getting straight into the pool particularly convenient, especially with 4 young children in tow.

Although young families are obviously not the target audience of a hotel like this, we were made feel extremely welcome at all times. Nothing was too much trouble; elephant rides, camel rides, horse rides, boat trips, treasure hunts....you name it, the wonderful concierge could arrange it. When we asked the children what the highlight of their trip to India was, we were expecting to hear the answer 'Taj Mahal' or even 'the elephant ride to the Amber Fort', but instead got the marginally concerning answer 'steering the golf buggy from the jetty at Udaivilas'.

The food was very good, although not the best of all of the Oberoi resorts in which we stayed. The children's menu was a little lacking in variety. Similarly, some of the children's amenities listed in the guest services booklet (baby bath etc.) were not available when requested from housekeeping, however the concierge offered to get them from town (we didn't avail of this offer as the hotel clearly does not need them, but the suggestion was very sincere).

We only used the spa twice but had no complaints. It is beautifully situated overlooking the lake.

From the pick-up at the airport to the final drop-off the hotel's excellent staff and wonderful drivers ensure that you are in great hands.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

It was our pleasure to see such a detailed feedback following your recent visit to The Oberoi, Udaivilās. We are happy to learn that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

In order to assess the performance of each department it is essential to carefully analyze all of our guest feedbacks. Your feedback with reference to Children’s menu and amenities has been shared with the concerned departments for their attention.

The copy of your TripAdvisor review has been shared with the team ad they are pleased to know that their efforts were appreciated.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Udaivilās.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

It was with some trepidation that we had finally settled on Udaivilas for our annual anniversary trip vacation. With the wife being 7 months pregnent and thus any overseas vacations being ruled out, we looked forward to a vacation in one of India's top rated hotels.
Having done a reasonable amount of research (online including tripadvisor)on all the properties in Udaipur we settlled for Udaivilas just to be able to find out what all the hubaloo was about. And believe us it was just amazing. One word just completely sums up the entire experience "service". Having stayed at scores of Oberoi properties earlier expectations were already pretty high, but the Vilas just raised the bar completely. It wasnt just the competence with which all needs and wishes (pregnent women tend to be have some :-)) were taken care of but the warmth of the staff which completely lit up our experience.
The property is gorgeous has a fabulous layout with open courtslawns and spaces all flowing into each other with a grand scale, but which still never intimidates you (like at the Aman Delhi ).Great for walks. Being architect designers we travelled to all the properties - Lake Palace, Devgarh (award winning) and Leela for meals but absolutely ended up loving the feel of the Udaivilas.
The Food and beverage was competent (make sure you order room service at least once and stay in ) the breakfast super. One hitch was the oriental cooking was not up t the mark stick to European and Indian.
The Spa is amazing nice cute gym and very good treatments. Another grouse, as a design feature, the therapy areas all look out over the lake, great as a design concept but disturbing as too much light comes into the therapy rooms, pre-emptying any deep slumber no matter how good the therapy. On the flip side it is amazing to sit out and look over the pool and the lake post your massage ( the property has two pools with the spa pool beng the hands down winner) Try the spa during the evening by booking a late evening massage.

The rooms are great ( We followed our friend Larry's advise and requested the rooms onerlookng the lake opening onto a semi private pool ) completely worth the extra twenty thousand rupees we had to shell out for three days. A last grouse was that the WC had a very uncomfortable seat cover but I guess that could be subjective :-)))
Have made sure to include all the grouses so that this doesnt seem like an advetorial for the hotel , but we were actually hard pressed to find anything else to crib about despite our expectations.
To sum up the experience the same word SERVICE. Loved the staff and al the attention.
It is an expensive vacation but we ended up feeling that splurging 1000dollars a day
(which you will) was completely worth it.
Some last tips
Dont miss the sunset from the Sunset Terrace Restaurant at Fateh Prakash Palace- Magical and nice food. The Hotel gives you transfers in their own boats a very cute touch and lots of fun.
Completely give the Lake palace a miss for a meal expensive food (terrible) and too overhyped cover chrage of 2000 rupees for lunch if you pleae . Just go there for a drink instead the bartender mixes some great drinks and you'll still enjoy the place.
Ask the hotel concirege to arrange for tables they are very competent.

Room Tip: Lake facing room request for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SumeetNathDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Thank you so very much for writing such a detailed feedback following your visit to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the Team Udaivilas and they are pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

Your concern regarding the oriental cuisine has been discussed with the Executive Chef for improvement.

Thank you for having stayed with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Udaivilās.

Best regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed at the Oberoi Udaivillas twice so far. Its excellent when it comes to hospitality and service. The rooms are very good, our suite had a semi private pool which was good. The spa is very good here. The only down side I felt was there is only 1 restaurant here, the food is awesome but I would expect a property this big to have at least two different restaurants. Also, the breakfast buffet was not very good. I ordered from the menu last time, even that was kind of ok, not the best.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jitesh_Shetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Thank you for writing your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit at The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you for appreciating our hospitality and service. We are delighted to learn that you liked our room with semi private pool, Spa facility and the food.

With regards to the restaurants, I would like to mention that we have various dining outlets in the hotel. Two of our restaurants, Suryamahal and Udaimahal offer indoor dining while one offers alfresco dining. In addition to these, our bar and In-room dining facility is open for 24 hours. Apart from these we offer various exclusive dining options for couples, families and groups.

Thank you so very much for your kind feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Best regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

My family and I were amazingly impressed with the outstanding service we received from management and staff at the Oberoi, Udaivilas. Our experience began from the moment we were welcomed at the airport by the hotel chauffeur, to the boat ride across Lake Pichola taking in breathtaking views of Udaipur, to the welcome we received at the hotel lobby. The quality of the housekeeping was outstanding and the restaurant chefs were able to accommodate all our dietary needs.

May I say that as a frequest traveller the service my family and I received was most refreshing which we shall cherish for a long time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakhatMall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

It is our pleasure to learn from your TripAdvisor review that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you so very much for appreciating the service, the ambience, the view, the quality of housekeeping and our precious possession, our staff. Your TripAdvisor review has been shared with the team and they are very happy to know that you appreciated everything.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, again, to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you and best regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 167 in Udaipur
3,151 reviews
0.5 km away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.3 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 167 in Udaipur
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
2.5 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.2 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: RM3,018 - RM5,570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing