We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #45 of 146 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I had read a lot of excellent reviews of this hotel in guidebooks and was very disappointed with our two night stay. Even the fabulous view from the terrace couldn't compensate for bad service, lack of management and general feeling of neglect.
My room had been recently repainted (but bathroom not quite finished, tap dripped all night), but was cold and lacking in charm. Spartan decoration, bed linen etc. Service was really bad at breakfast tho did improve the next day when I complained. Lack of adequate lighting on the steep stairs makes it quite dangerous at night. Management seemed curiously absent and quite unconcerned when I pointed out that petty cutbacks (no bottle of water in room, no individual bars of soap, etc) gave a negative impression. I would not recommend nor go back to this place. Jagat Niwas next door looked much more inviting...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    105
    43
    22
    8
See reviews for
48
148
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent 2 nights starting from the new year eve, price for that couple of nights are a little high.

This hotel is in a perfect location with many nice small shops, and is only abt 10 mins walk to the city palace, so is very convenient. It is also right by the lake, so it is quiet enough for a good sleep. We got a huge lake facing room which is nice and bright, and it comes with a sitting again which again is quite big. If not worried abt the room, then the roof top restaurant also has great lake view, and is a great place to watch the sun set, but we did not try the food.

its next door neighbour Jagat Niwas Palace looks smarter with really nice courtyard and restaurant, but it seems that most of their rooms are with courtyard view instead of lake view.

they have the hottest water for shower during our 12 days in India. Recommned it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

In comparison to similarly priced and located hotels this one was disappointing. Great views & terrific location but poor food and a customer-is-wrong denial of small concerns (just leave the water running and it will warm up) instead of an apology or explanation (broken system, no power, whatever) which would have been fine

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights over Christmas 2011. In our four weeks in India, this was by far, the best hotel we stayed in. A family run hotel and the father and son team could not have been more welcoming and indeed helpful. Sit out on the terrace, take in the view while sipping a cool beer or indeed nibbling on a wonderful veg. thali and you will wish that you had booked a longer stay. Cannot recommend this place enough as it made such a wonderful change from the hands-out, expensive and chaotic service, we experienced at other hotels in India.

Room Tip: When booking, request a room with a "lakeside view" on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialGuestAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The rooms at this haveli are very nice indeed. My only complaint was the noise. I had a lakeside room, and the noise that comes up from the courtyard from the management and other guests can be a trifle hard to take. A great location though and good value.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobodeluxe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 km away
Raj Niwas Hotel
Raj Niwas Hotel
#48 of 146 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 km away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#54 of 146 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#30 of 146 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#4 of 146 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.2 km away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#14 of 146 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#10 of 146 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Property: Kankarwa Haveli
Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): RM228 - RM14,882
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kankarwa Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing