We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service compliments the good property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2017

One thing that strikes me the most of this place is the service. The property is good no doubt but its their service that makes is extra special. Its very close to sims park and also with 2 kms from the main market which has all the restaurants. Food is average due to which we had just once during our stay of 2 days. The suites/ rooms which are not part of the main mansion have an extra room with bed and study so can easily accommodate an extra person say if one has a driver along.

Room Tip: yes rooms(suites) which are not part of the main mansion are secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank viv_macho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your experience at the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at the 19th century property.

We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the services provided as our team goes the extra mile to make each guest's stay memorable.

Our staff – most of whom got into hospitality without any formal hotel education are greatly pleased with your positive comments.

It is great to know that you were able to explore the nearby vicinity using the Wallwood Garden as your base.

We have shared your observation with the Chef who shall do the needful to enhance the dining experience.

We thank you for your visit and hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you'll certainly find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

I had a very decent stay in this property. It is an old colonial bungalow converted to hotel. The bed linen was so soft and delicious (intentionally using the word), I almost wanted to ask the folks where they got it from. The room had that old-world charm, and you feel that your price charming might just walk in any moment. They make the food as you order it, so freshly-made. The decor was most charming. I loved the riot of colors, very tastefully put up. And fresh flowers from the garden in silver cylindrical flower-vases . . . bright yellows and pinks! You can walk to Sam's Park (botanical garden) or just walk to the tea gardens. I trespassed into one such garden (I hope the owners won't sue me now); in my defense there was no lock at the gate ;) Just lovely taking in all the sights.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParomitaGoswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your experience at the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

It is rewarding to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the old-world charm of the 19th century Scottish-style property. It is truly satisfying to receive a compliment from the heart !

We are glad to receive your kind words about the food, the décor and the furniture. We have conveyed your gracious words to the Chef.

It is great to know that you were able to explore the beauty of the Sim's Park.
We thank you for your visit and hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you'll certainly find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

we stayed three days in Silver Oak. The rooms are neat and spacious. Room service is excellent. Food is really awesome. Complementary heater in the room, geyser is fixed in each and every room which made more convenient

The manager Geetha Madam is really co operative.

we felt that we were stying in our house not a hotel. Total credit goes to all staff members exspecially Geeta madam

Room Tip: All rooms are fine except the one near to the kitchen area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sagay38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor !

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at the 17th century Scottish bungalow and enjoyed the facilities offered.

The Chef is delighted to know that you relished his preparations.

Your appreciation about the hospitality extended has been duly conveyed to the Geetha Suresh and other service team members. You will be happy to know that these are all local persons who also share the pride of the restored property.

We are grateful for your encouragement and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable stays !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Wallwood Gardens is a wonderfully, relaxing, experiential stay. It is quintessential Neemrana style of old world charm with wooden floors, four poster beds, in large, high ceiling rooms. It has this large formal dining room with a long table if you feel like eating​ in style. And it has a cozy sun room with large windows overlooking the rolling, green mountains, where you can just lazily hang around, snoozing, playing board games or grabbing a bite. And it also has several outdoor sit-outs to simply soak in the clean, crisp, cool Coonoor air. That it is bang on the Kotagiri road, is hardly felt because of the tall, green hedges punctuated by colourful, flowering shrubs, that block out the traffic and accompanying noise. Whichever place it is, the super-excellent hospitable team comprising of Geeta (the Manager), Vijay, Lawrence is unobtrusively around to anticipate your every need and make you feel completely pampered. And they are the ones you see. Behind the scenes are several more, who quietly clean the rooms, cook the meals, rustle up snacks for sudden food cravings, and keep the endless coffee and tea coming.
Their menu doesn't have the usual, long restaurant like options. But every single dish we had, ranging from the grilled fish, mutton and potato curry, cream of mushroom and chicken soup, flavoured rices, dosas, chutney, were tasty and well made. After you arrive at the table, be prepared for the food to be slow in coming. But that's because it is being made fresh with it's unique spices, and not with the same gravy base being used for every 3rd dish.
You are expected to place the food order by 10-11 am for lunch and 4-5 pm for dinner, but last minute requests are never turned down and arrive a lil slow but tasty as they ought to be.
Our latest experience on this Neemrana property has added to our bunch of beautiful memories that we have from our stay at the Verandah in the Forest several times, as well as as at the Glasshouse on the Ganges, Bungalow on the Beach.
Here's to creating more memories.
PS: The Eucalyptus room is small and cozy with a fabulous view of the rolling hills, as is the Camphor room. The rest overlook the gardens and lil bit of the hills.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

It is guests like you that continue to reinforce the Neemrana philosophy of infusing life into a dilapidated ruin.

Your appreciation about the service and the cuisine has been conveyed to Geetha, the Chef, and the entire team.

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana brand and look forward to welcoming you at our 23 properties across India !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Best thing :

Rooms are clean.
Place is peaceful , surrounded with hills and tree plantations.
Have preserved antique furnitures and paintings , so that is worth viewing.
Good service by the hotel staff.
Heart of Coonoor. Easily locatable.
Nice breakfast. Jams are worth having.

Things not sure of :
1. Lunch and dinner. Both the days we had it out in the city.
2. Smoking zone.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulsihemrajani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and peaceful stay at the property.

We are glad to receive your kind appreciation about the cleanliness of the rooms, the ambience, the décor and thoroughly enjoyed the views from the property. Old-world rooms make Wallwood Garden a unique property.

Please note that at Wallwood Garden broadly, we serve Tamil cuisine with some Anglo-Indian dishes at random, to suit a range of tastes and palates. Italian and other Continental dishes are often added to enrich the range of the spread.

We are happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. We have shared your kind words with the Chef.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 23 unique destinations across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
3 km away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
840 reviews
1.8 km away
Teanest
Teanest
#2 of 12 in Coonoor
456 reviews
1.4 km away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
2.6 km away
Sree Harshav Cottages, Drumella
10.3 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden

Address: 58 Kotagiri Road | The Nilgiris, Tamil nadu, Coonoor 643101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range: RM261 - RM470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two hours from Coimbatore, in the heart of upper Coonoor, lies Wallwood Garden. Earlier known as Blair Atholl – it was built over a hundred years ago by a Scottish Major General, hailing from the village Blair Athol in Scotland. The Duke of Atholl still lives in Scotland in his own castle. Wallwood was later sold to a British couple after the First World War, who ran it as a boarding house for many years. It was purchased by Liptons before the Second World War and the house has remained in the hands of tea companies – currently with Matheson Bosanquet. The Mansion has retained the atmosphere of the past when tea estates had their own lifestyle ! It has its own prize-winning garden of the Nilgiris overlooking a unique pomological garden. It is located two minutes from Sim’s Park, one of India’s most luxuriant Botanical Gardens, laid out in 1874 with over 1200 species of plants and many old rare trees like the Rudraksh, Paperwood, Elephant Leg, Strawberry Tree etc. Savour the wildlife sanctuaries of Ooty, Pykara, Kotagiri & Bandipur, driving through the lush tea plantations of the Nilgiris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallwood Garden Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing