We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/04/21
Expedia.com
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/04/21
Trip.com
US$99
US$86
View deal
SAVE US$13
Free cancellation until 17/04/21
Hotels.comUS$98
Booking.comUS$99
eDreamsUS$99
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
501
277
53
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
501
277
53
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taj property hot water bottles heritage hotel old world charm f b magic show open fire the hotel staff welcome drink breakfast spread sitting room rooms are large modern amenities hill station every evening very pleasant stay courteous staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2021

During Covid times, I was very scared to plan for a vacation with a Sr. Citizen mother and 2 year old son. But, when I entered this property, I was confident that the staff is ensuring all possible hygiene, safety protocols and guidlines. The hotel staff went above and beyond to ensure that our stay is pleasant and safe. I'd like to name Sheetal, Zach, Kannan from front desk, they ensured that throughout my stay our all needs are well taken care off. Shafi and Aravind from the food and beverages department ensured the food is not spicy for my son and mom. Everything was delivered to our room so that we have minimum contacts with anyone.

When we entered the tyres of car were sanitized at the gate. The hotel team has placed a footwear disinfection and all world class disinfection sprays to protect the guests. Our room was very well sanitized and there was a bottle of hand sanitizer.

All and all a great experience during new normal and I'd highly recommend to visit this property.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AjayS2977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Murugan, Guest Services / Front Office at Gateway Coonoor - IHCL SeleQtions, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Dear Mr. Ajay ,

Greetings from Gateway Coonoor IHCL SeleQtions.

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am delighted to know that you & your family had enjoyed your stay & services. Anand , Kannan, shafi, zach, sheetal & Team Gateway was quite excited to receive your kind word of appreciation.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet them through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same. We look forward to your continued patronage of Gateway Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
Balamurugan F
Front Office / Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel.
Good location, close to the main square in the heart of coonoor. Just a few minutes walk away from Moddys confectionery which is a must try in Ooty or Coonoor
Friendly and courteous staff
Beautiful gardens to relax in or play a game of badminton/cricket. The place has a lovely family atmosphere. They also organise a bon fire in the laws every evening during winter.
Since it’s a heritage property, no room is the same in terms of layout. This makes the property more charming. Although our room was slightly smaller than expected, it was cozy and it had good enough storage for a comfortable stay.
Good breakfast spread.
Just come prepared with some local taxi options as hotel rates can be expensive.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karishma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Murugan, Guest Services / Front Office at Gateway Coonoor - IHCL SeleQtions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear Ms. Karishma,

Greetings from Gateway Coonoor IHCL SeleQtions.

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am delighted to know that you &your family had enjoyed your stay & services. Team Gateway was quite excited to receive your kind word of appreciation.

Madam, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet them through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

We look forward to your continued patronage of Gateway Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
Balamurugan
Front Office / Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021

Stayed couple of nights with my one year old. Excellent staffs front desk, resturant, housekeeping all are very polite and friendly, they made the place safe and secure during the COVID season.

Vintage stay with excellent staff, definitely they make your stay memorable.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vignesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Murugan, Guest Services / Front Office at Gateway Coonoor - IHCL SeleQtions, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

Dear Mr. Vignesh,

Greetings from Gateway Coonoor IHCL SeleQtions.

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am delighted to know that you &your family had enjoyed your stay & services. Team Gateway was quite excited to receive your kind word of appreciation.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet them through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

We look forward to your continued patronage of Gateway Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
Balamurugan
Front Office / Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

Gateway Coonoor IHCL is the best complete hotel in Coonoor. Its a Pet friendly place, Beautiful view, Full service restaurant, Bar and lots of activities (Sports, Magic show, cycling etc) to enjoy time with your family. Their staff is the best and take care of your needs. And they pamper your pet by giving them separate beds, toys, etc. they take care of your pets while you do your meals. Special thanks to their staff for executing this (Names: Zachary, Rahul, Satish etc). and house keeping to put creativity in decorating the room always.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stucoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Murugan, Guest Services / Front Office at Gateway Coonoor - IHCL SeleQtions, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear Sir ,
Greetings from Gateway Coonoor IHCL SeleQtions.

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am delighted to know that you & your family had enjoyed your stay & services. Zachary, Rahul, Satish & Team Gateway was quite excited to receive your kind word of appreciation.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet them through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

We look forward to your continued patronage of Gateway Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
Balamurugan
Front Office / Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

I had wonderful and excellent time at the hotel and service was very very good and the F&B TEAM AND mr Bala have done a good job and took very good care of me during my stay and over all the food was too good

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank varunnandiga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Murugan, Guest Services / Front Office at Gateway Coonoor - IHCL SeleQtions, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2021

Dear Mr. Varun ,

Greetings from Gateway Coonoor IHCL SeleQtions.

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am delighted to know that you & your family had enjoyed your stay & services. Team Gateway was quite excited to receive your kind word of appreciation.
Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet them through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same. We look forward to your continued patronage of Gateway Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
Balamurugan
Front Office / Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews