We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place except for the approach road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good place except for the approach road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

It is smaller than GRT Chennai but the facilities are as good. At the time of our visit, the access road to the hotel was badly dug up. The road itself is not built up. Parking space is limited. Also there is no facility/dormitory for the driver to stay. That caused problem as we had a car hired for 7 days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickyban07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    252
    76
    15
    10
See reviews for
176
134
40
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nortumberland England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Lovely pool nice staff and good food but the bathrooms could do with an upgrade

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner, London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Check in was ok. Despite my request of 2 rooms next to each other, we were initially given rooms on separate floors but then changed to rooms on one floor but not next to each other. The rooms were well equipped with all the amenities and flat screen tv. However bathrooms needed to be updated.

The service in the restaurant was appalling. When we placed an order for burgers and sandwiches for lunch it took them nearly half an hour to get the order ready. The worst service we have seen from all hotels that we stayed in south India over the 2 week period. It seemed no one was in charge and everyone was doing there own thing. All the attention was being diverted to a big French group who was staying at the same hotel. Service was slightly better in the evening but the following morning it was terrible once again. Breakfast time started from 7am but when we went in at 7nothing was ready and were told it would be ready after 7.15. It took them nearly 15 to 20 mins to get everything ready before we could have our breakfast. We ordered Indian masala tea and were served coffee instead and the waitress insisted that it
was tea and not coffee.

There was a pool which we didn't use but looked clean. Bar seemed ok too. However the beer was the most expensive from all the hotels in our south India trip and we had stayed in some 5 star hotels too. They need to review their prices.

The location of this hotel is terrible. The road outside is full of pot holes and water so unsuitable for walking. The only way you can travel is by car.

On the whole it was an adequate stay for 1 night but wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here unless there was no option. The only reason Im giving this hotel 3 stars is due to the room comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior rooms which have better bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rishigudka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team here at the GRT Regency, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,
K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mob:9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was looking for a decent hotel in Madurai for one day visit with family. I came across GRT Regency and immediately decided to go with it. I stayed in GRT Pondicherry was was quite happy with the overall experience.

Reservation / front office staff are very prompt and helpful.

Check-in was smooth and enjoyed the Buffet breakfast thoroughly.

I stayed in a standard room and it very neat and clean with all the amenities. Nothing to complain about.

Tried the buffet lunch and it was good. For dinner I had ala carte and food and service was amazing. The staff are well trained and really take of the guests.

If you are in Madurai on business or pleasure trip or visiting the Meenakshi temple this is the place to stay. Not very far from the Station or the temple.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sridhar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We found GRT Regency an excellent place to stay for our three days visit in Madurai. The city in itself is full on so it's nice to be able to escape it all: the heat, the crowds and all the rest of it, and rest up at this airy, comfortable with a touch of luxurious-hotel.

We stayed in a deluxe room: it was spacious, the beds were very comfortable and the shower divine. And of course it was very clean.

The staff is very courteous and helpful.

And we loved the sumptuous breakfast and lunch buffe... so much so I think we gained a little weight during our stay :) Our kids (6 and 4) were particularly fond of the many desserts!

The main attraction in Madurai, the Sree Meenakshi temple, is just a short rikshaw ride away, about 10 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LetThemEatLotsOfCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.6 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
1.7 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.2 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
8.8 km away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Address: 38, Madakulam Road | NH7, Palanganatham Signal Junction,, Madurai 625003, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madurai
#4 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price range (per night): RM322 - RM471
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels is an elegant three star business class hotel with all the facilities for the discerning business traveler as well as the tourists located just a short drive from the exquisitely detailed Madurai Meenakshi Temple, Thirumalai Naickar Mahal and 15 minutes drive away from the airport. Its food and beverage outlets rate amongst the best in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing