We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as luxurious as it thinks it is”
Review of Rajrani Residency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rajrani Residency
Ranked #120 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not as luxurious as it thinks it is”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of the Taj Mahal. It's on a busy road, but the hotel design perpendicular to the road means you don't hear too much road noise. We were given the choice between two rooms but chose the one without an outside window in order to have less noise anyway. However all rooms have a bizarre indoor window which gives onto the corridor (there are curtains). The main clientele of this hotel seems to be groups of Indian teenagers or Indian businessmen (in both cases they were noisy) - we saw virtually no other foreign tourists during the three nights we spent there.
Wifi was good in the room and there was a selection of TV channels in English. Staff and front desk were friendly and helpful, however generally gave the impression of being rather untrained, especially when it came to housekeeping (see below).
As seems to be usual in this type of hotel our "double bed" was two singles pushed together with separate bedding.
My main complaint here was the standard of cleanliness. The room itself was basically clean, but we did have to clean one of our bedside tables when we moved into the room, and I really don't think the bathroom is cleaned between each guest, let alone every day. I don't think the bathroom mirror has ever been cleaned since the hotel opened.
The hotel has a sign outside saying it's "three star luxury", and behind the front desk is a sign saying "luxury tax applied" however I think luxury is not a concept with which they're very familiar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    2
    4
    15
See reviews for
11
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I’ll never recommend this hotel, Delhi paharganj hotels worth 300 per night serve better then this hotel. Apart from that Worst service for cleartrip booking guests. Sometimes hotel staff even ask for more money than clear trip.
We had booking for the 3 rooms, we reached at 8pm and till 10 pm we had to fight with the hotel staff to clean the room. Room was terribly dirty, dirty beddings, dirty towels and even bathroom was also not cleaned.
After fighting for the 2 hours hotel staff cleaned the room and bring beddings 4 times all those were wet, and dirty. When we were completely frustrated and we were ready to go in better hotel then somehow they came with little better bedding.
Hotel staff was not cooperative, they tried to cheat in every small small things. Initially nothing will be provided complimentary, then later when guest has to check the written text in hotel brochure and ask them about complementary stuff then only hotel staff will provide.

Room Tip: I’ll not recommend this hotel for family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We arrived at Rajrani late at night and were greated by an incessant and loud chanting from a Hindu Temple next door. This chanting continued on through the middle of the night as well as during the morning. Needless to say we couldn't sleep! The hotel was also overpriced and we chose to stay only one night instead of two due to our awful experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npolachek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel was amazing, service was outstanding and attention to detail was spot on.The property is beautiful and the rooms are large and comfortable. The property is TOTALLY KID FRIENDLY - not an once of stuffiness, and so pleasant for the adults too. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My friends and I arrived in Agra the 6th of July after an exhaustive trip from Delhi. We booked, and prepaid, two rooms in Hotel Rajrani Residency and arrived in the hotel around 5 pm through Cleartrip. Upon arrival the lady at the reception told us there was a wedding going on and the complete hotel was booked. We showed them our Cleartrip-bookings and mentioned we had already paid. This did not make a difference to her. We were a bit agitated, but when a hotel is fully booked it is fully booked... So we just asked for the money back.

And that's when the problems started - the lady at the reception could not give us our money back, so we asked for the Manager. He was not in, but arrived after 20-30 minutes. He informed us that he could not give us our money back, as they did not receive any money from Cleartrip (?). We informed him that the full amount has been credited from our accounts, but he told something fuzzy about a different company where the money went to... In the meantime we contacted Cleartrip and explained the situation, the person on the phone would investigate and called us back. He did not...

Anyway, as a solution the hotel manager offered to escort us to another hotel and pay for it. At Hotel Rajrani Residency we booked two Taj Facing Rooms. We made three different trips to three different hotels which were all crap and not even close to the rooms we booked at Hotel Rajrani Residency. It was already 8 pm and we were done with it, contacting Cleartrip again did not make a difference and the hotel manager was definitely not willing to refund anything. As time passed, we decided to look for our own hotel and take the loss. We left Hotel Rajrani Residency and booked two rooms at Hotel Amar, at our own cost.

While we were doing the hotel-tour two other couples showed up with a booking, one of the couples did not paid in advance and the other booked directly through the hotel and was refunded.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mufan003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,898 reviews
1.1 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.8 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.7 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#30 of 145 in Agra
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajrani Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajrani Residency

Property: Rajrani Residency
Address: Mehra Plaza | Near Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price range (per night): RM170 - RM303
Hotel Class:3 star — Rajrani Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj-facing rooms and Taj-facing dining on our roof-top restaurant will make your stay memorable. Our comfortably furnished rooms include free breakfast, free wi-fi internet and Flat-panel LCD TVs with 100+ channels for your entertainment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing