We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tourists Rest House
Ranked #23 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Tourist Rest House provides good basic budget accommodation. Rooms and facilities are a little rustic but functional and clean. Hot water, clean sheets, towels and Wifi. Helpful staff. Reasonable food. Watch for monkeys!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double room on the upper level. The room was OK - had a musty smell but the bed and pillows were quite comfy. The bathroom was pretty dank and the hot water was very patchy. Most of the time we had only cold water and one morning no water at all. The restaurant is OK - tasty enough food and the setting in the courtyard is nice in theory but actually feels a little old and dusty. Location is OK - around 15 minutes in a rickshaw to the Taj Mahal. The room was very cheap, so good if you need a budget option but otherwise I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Agra is on it's best day a compete hole other than the obvious attractions, so this place was a God send. Tucked away in a fairly quiet location the guest house is very clean and tidy and has a lovely garden in the middle which serves vegetarian food and drinks.

Rooms were decent and we had no complaints about ours. No issues with hot water, as from experience we know to shower at night as most tanks are heated by solar power. Overall I was surprised by what we had got for our money if I'm honest.

Easy access to all major tourist attractions but my advice would be to walk about 1km away from the hotel to get a rickshaw. There seems to be a bit if a scam going down with whoever brings you to the hotel to check in hanging around for u to leave. As always quoting high prices and planning a few detours to the local 'marble' shop.

Overall extremely happy with the place and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank iankane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It's cheap and the folks running the place are very accommodating. Make sure you bring your own soap and towels. The one's supplied are both like a sanding block and sand paper respectively. My room was kind of poor in condition but clean. I spoke with some other guest and they had stayed in better rooms. I had arrived very late due to a train delay so i just wanted to crash for the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This place is fantastic value for money if you just want to be in Agra for a few days.

For the price the rooms are decent and the atmosphere in the guest house is friendly.

They have a nice courtyard eating area and staff are helpful.

I walked from here to Lal Qila (Red Fort) and The Taj Mahal so location is reasonably good.

Ravi

JetPrivilege membership: 139548592

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.6 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 143 in Agra
500 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#30 of 143 in Agra
155 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#20 of 143 in Agra
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#40 of 143 in Agra
418 reviews
5 km away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#58 of 143 in Agra
84 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#38 of 143 in Agra
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourists Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourists Rest House

Address: 4/62 Tourists Rest House Kutchery Road | Baluganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Agra
#8 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range: RM41 - RM61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourists Rest House 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located in the heart of the city, close to all the major attractions, bazaars and railway /bus station. All the rooms are clean and well equipped with attached bathroom and western style toilet, toiletries are also provided in every room. The rooms are facing a central, plant filled courtyard,giving a feel of relaxation and security. We have 24 hr front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tourists Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourists Rest House Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing