We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and chill!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ganpati Guest House
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly and chill!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Nice, relaxing place among the hustle and bustle of Varanasi! Located just overlooking the holy Ganges, it is a nice place to explore the city. Rooms are basic, but with everything you need in Varanasi! If you have a chance to get a room on the river side and with balcony - top pick and top view!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and thus with brilliant view over Ganges, are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    751
    138
    40
    42
See reviews for
202
774
328
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Firstly, an important thing to note is that a taxi or rickshaw cannot access this area. Call the guest house when you arrive & they can send some one to come meet you on the main street & walk with you to the guest house through the maze of alley ways!

Location is right on the ganga with excellent views from some rooms & the roof top restaurant. Food is average but pleasant service & good atmosphere.

Staff are very helpful & courtyard with free wifi is lovely & relaxing.

I stayed in a room with private bathroom. Hit water & shower pressure were excellent. Bedding was clean. Nice view also! Room is a little dark, as there are no windows, but leaving the door open is enough.

Decor is very colorful with nice character.

Paid 1000INR for the room I was in. There are cheaper options.

Book in advance as its very popular!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Ganpati guest house was definately the most unique place I stayed at in India.....and I mean that in the most wonderful way.My train was 3 hours late and they were still there to pick me up.
There is an interesting network of alleys that lead up to the guest house.The staff are friendly and very helpful.
Helped me with train and air tickets very easily.The views of the Ganges cannot be beat.I did look at 2 other places in the same area while there and they were a far cry from the friendly an CLEAN atmosphere at Ganpati.
It has a warm welcome friendly vibe,and you cant beat the price:)

Room Tip: be sure to ask for room with bathroom if it is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campbellriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

That is definitely the best place to stay while visiting Varanasi. Although we had only one night to spend there, the stuff at the guest house treated us like old friends and were so helpful with everything. Ghats and riverside is just right there, so are the markets and narrow streets. We loved room decorations and balcony with a perfect view to Ganga river.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I'm really greatful I was recommended to that place! I had really great experience just one day ago there, with management helping me with my stay and travel arrangements, though they were fully booked out and did not have a single room left. The location is just perfect and the place is really clean and with all the little details, that make you feel at home.
If you go to Varanasi and look for a great place to stay and a perfect service, just do stay there, but book in advance :-)
Guys, thank you sooo much for everything!! Greetings from Delhi!
Katia

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmxks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.5 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
4.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.6 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganpati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Property: Ganpati Guest House
Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price range (per night): RM92 - RM268
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganpati Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing