We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$243
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jharipani Castle(Mussoorie)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Lodge(Mussoorie)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Deep(Mussoorie)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$87
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Villa Bethany(Mussoorie)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
169
59
27
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
59
27
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage propertyimperial roomshuttle servicethe room was nicebritish eracorner roomfirst floorthe entire propertyhighly recommend this propertyhotel managementhill stationon demandpool tableexcellent experiencehotel is locatedbreakfast and dinnerfamily trip
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

my wife and myself were exhausted after closing financial year 2012. We wanted to take a short break and not to far from new Delhi where we live. We decided to book our self at the ilbert manor Mussoorie as we had heard that its a cosy little place appropriate for a couples. After booking in advance we drove early morning reaching the hotel in the afternoon. The hotel driver picked us up from the mall and we went down the mall for about 100 meters in the car. We were so happy when we reached the hotel. It was an actual jewel in Mussoorie hills. We could not have imagined such a cute set up in the hills. We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days. We ate in their restaurant and even ordered room service. The food was very good.
We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and spent quality time in a quality hotel. We have already asked them to book us for August weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paritoshdhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlbertManor, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We (My Husband, 2 yr old son & me) travelled to Mussorie in April 2012 and had a lovely stay in the hotel. The hotel is very well maintained, spotlessly clean, all woodly look, each room is different and has a different feel. Our room had the best view from the hotel and had a bathroom which was almost the size of the room...!! :) Staff is helpful & food is tasty but very expensive. There is also a Library, Play room, etc in the hotel.
Flipside : It is located at very down hill from the mall, so with the child it was difficult for us to do the upclimb. Though they have drop facility from hotel to mall from (10 am to 6 pm), but if it is being used by some other guest then you have to either wait or do the climb.

Hope this review helps!! Enjoy your trip! :)

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the best view :)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anuja_Kothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlbertManor, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husbandin April 2012. this hotel was not our first choice but as most of the nice places were booked owing to the long weekend, we decided to take it up. The hotel is nice with most of the necessary amenties, but nothing more. Another good thing about the hotel is the food that is served, it is tasty n home like. Though the choices on the menu are really really limited. Now coming to the not-so-good part of the hotel, firstly the staff: they have really no idea about the near by places etc. On enquiring about Chamba (approx. 50 kms. from Mussorie) the staff was absolutely clueless. Though they try n solve your problems but they simply do not seem to know. Next is the location, it is neither centrally located nor are the views from the hotel that appealing also the hotel is off the mall road n if you rae travelling with children or find it difficult to walk up the steep roads of a hill station one needs drop service they have till the mall road..which is again only till 6pm.
Some annoying features of the room were the small size of the double bed (irritating as both me and my husband are tall), small size of the coffee table (everytime to order from room service you have to think where will you keep the food)
Rest the hotel is fine, the staff needs to more prompt . Not really worth the money. We have been to better heritage properties!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manika_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlbertManor, Owner at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Dr. Sharma,

It was a pleasure talking to you today afternoon. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Ilbert Manor for your stay. Like I expressed over our telephonic conversation that we at Ilbert Manor appreciate contructive criticism. We are glad to know that you like our food and efforts make by our team to make your stay pleasant.
Thank you for clearing out the misunderstanding of the bed sizes. All the beds at the hotel are King size beds and not queen size.
We have taken your valuable feedback and have introduced folding tables in Imperial rooms for room service. However, all our Colonial suites already have dining tables as a feature.
Again, thank you for understanding and appreciating our hotel policies and unique location with a 180 degree view of the snow capped Himalayan Hills. We believe that its only with guest feedback that we can improve our product and make it more worthwhile experience for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Ilbert Manor. We would love to host you again in the future.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Me and my husband with some friends have been planning a trip to Uttarakhand hills or Himachal hills for a very long time. Finally we decided to visit Mussoorie in Uttarakhand in the 1st week of March, 2012. We are from Bangalore and its always so pleasant here. We are fortunate to have such climate but all of us wanted to get a winter feel before summers started. Our friends, friend had stayed at a boutique hotel in Mussoorie called Ilbert Manor. They spoke very highly of the hotel management and owners. We trusted our friends word and booked 5 rooms at the Ilbert Manor. The booking procedure was easy and efficient. After seeing their website and talking to the manager operation Mr. Laurent, we knew what to expect from our holiday.
We flew till New Delhi and then took the shatabdi from New Delhi to Dehradun. On reaching Mussoorie we thought that it was just like any other hill station in India. Slightly lesser construction than Simla. The hotel car picked us up from a barrier and since then we all were in a different world. From the reception to the room and recreational areas our jaws dropped!
We couldn’t believe the simplicity, culture, management and design of the hotel. It was like an English era property with feel of warmth and home. We were given all our rooms on the 1st floor. The floor and ceiling both were of wood and Mr. Laurent told us that the owners restored the building with great efforts. The outcome of the renovation looks like a mini version of a palace from Victorian times. The bed and mattress with the duvet were very comfortable. We would sleep late every night after a good time together and would wake up in the afternoon. The beds were soooo soft and comfortable. The room and bathroom both had all modern facilities. We were happy to see shaving mirrors in the bathrooms. They even had hair dryers in all bathrooms. We got all facilities of a excellent city hotel, and the price we paid was way lesser than city prices. All of us were happy about the fact that our hard earned money was invested in a great holiday and awesome memories.
We liked spending time chilling in the private library with sooo many books! Boys were always in the games room playing pool. WE would all unite in the lobby and movie room.
The hotel guided us with local site seeing and things to do in Mussoorie. We went to kempty falls. It was a good experience as there wernt many many people. If we had come in summers then everyone said thatwe would have hated it. We even drove till river Yamuna. The old Mussoorie are called landour is also a must see. The road upto landour is quite a challenge and at one point we thought that we were wasting our time, but, if you are in Mussoorie its not a bad idea to visit landour once. The mall road is mall road…shops shops and shops! So many street vendors! Tibetan market! And what not…. Our girls bought a lot of stuff. They said that the quality wasn’t so bad for the price…
In all we had a great time at the hotel and recommend it to all a 100%. Its perfect for new couple and friends travelling together.
Thumbs up!
Great Job Ilbert Manor. We are waiting for more ventures and exotic locations from you now!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aartigauba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for the lovely feedback. It was our pleasure hosting such fun loving group of friends. Please come back soon and give us the pleasure to be your hosts again.

Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The travelling bug that has recently bit me motivated me to experience a cute little heritage hotel in Mussoorie. I called on the 24 hours helpline no. mentioned on their website. The manager (Mr. Laurent) received my called and was very pleasant to talk to. After talking to him I couldn’t wait to visit the manor and relax. My wife and few more couple friends decided to stay at Ilbert Manor for 3 nights 4 days. Our breakfast and dinner was inclusive in the package. We left from New Delhi early in the morning and were at Library Chowk barrier by the afternoon. The Hotels prompt shuttle service impressed us all at the barrier. We were amazed and shocked when we saw the passage to the road that lead to the hotel. The hotel driver seemed quite a pro. The confidence in him made us all comfortable and when we entered the hotel our jaws dropped at the reception. We knew we all were at the right place. We were shown around the hotel by Mr. Laurent. We found the cleanliness and the warm feel in the hotel very impresssive. It didn’t seem that we were in India. It seemed that we are travelling through time. The lobby was were we all were hanging out. They have a huge impressive antique painting hanging in the lobby. The manager told us that the painting has historical relevance to the Manor. Our favourite hangout was the games room. We would play pool their every night. The girls like the private library very much. It’s a cosy room at the end of the corridor where you can spend a lot of time. I finished reading a book I was carrying from home which I wasn’t getting around to reading here in New Delhi.
The rooms are the highlight of this private manor. Once you enter the room you don’t feel like coming out. We all felt like it was our 2nd honeymoon. The rooms are restored and are 180 years old. We were very impressed with the décor and the maintenance. I am planning to take some Victorian ideas from the hotel for my house. The detail work is very well done.
The local sightseeing in mussoorie was quite an experience. We wont recommend kempty falls. Camels back road, Tibetan temple and char dukan were our favourite. We spend 4 hours just eating at char dukan!
The hotel recommended these places and guided us with the timings. We are greatful to all of them for making out stay so comfortable and relaxing. The simplicity of the Ilbert Manor has won us all and I wish them all the best for future.
I hope who ever goes there has a great time like me and my friends did!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KapilKapoor1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlbertManor, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews