We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can”
Review of Ilbert Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilbert Manor
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2017

I stayed in Ilbert Manor, Mussoorie with my family and friends for 3 nights/4 days during May 2017. I'll try to write a fair and honest review based on my experience in this hotel.

A quick summary:
* Location: 3/5
* View/surroundings: 3/5
* Rooms: 2/5
* Internet connectivity: 1/5
* Food: 3.5/5
* Service: 1/5
* Overall: 2/5 (avoid if you can)

Detailed review:
The hotel is located at about 1+ kilometer away from Gandhi Chowk (Mall Road) in Mussoorie, which is a plus point. Moreover, the hotel does provide a shuttle service for pick and drop (which is a small car that can seat 3 adults and a child in addition to a driver). So the size of the "shuttle" makes it unviable to utilize it if you are in a larger group.

The view/surroundings are also decent but not great. A major eyesore is the Mussoorie Municipal Corporation's massive garbage dump which is clearly visible (and sometimes smellable) from the balconies.

Rooms are where this hotel loses its credibility completely. The level of cleanliness fails to cut the mark, mainly due to the wooden ceiling that continuously sheds small chips of wood and ash, that fall all over the floor and bed while you are awake or asleep. I checked this with other guests across multiple rooms and confirmed they too had this issue. Table fans that are wall mounted are your only help if you feel hot during your stay (which does happen when you land there in peak summers). Faucets in bathrooms are of decent quality but during my first night there a leaky faucet caused the entire toilet to be covered with water.

Don't depend on the internet connectivity here, since it is quite shaky and slow. Web pages sometimes take minutes to load, depending on the number of guests staying.

Food is decent. The restaurant offers buffet breakfast and dinner and in-room service. The food tasted well, didn't cause any health issues and had decent variety of north & south Indian and a couple of oriental dishes as well.

Service is again where the restaurant falters big time. The staff members are locals who are not trained for the hospitality industry. For instance, when the Internet connectivity was broken, I was forced to call the reception 4 times for them to even acknowledge the issue. And they never called me back even once, not even after they resolved the issue.

Overall, I am going for a rating of 2 out of 5 for this place. I am hoping that my review is sufficiently detailed for the hotel management to learn from and to improve.

Room Tip: Make sure the table fan in your room is in working condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, Owner at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.
We try to do as much humanely possible for all our guests and apologise for any inconvinience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We just have completed our family vacation at Mussoorie (6th and 7 th May 2017)...
The hotel is outskirt of Mall road...very peaceful....
Hotel provided a car fascility to drop out..and in of the hotel...
The manager.. Mr.Pyar Singh...was really approachable...i liked his warm hospitality...
Food was excellent...
Overall experince...was very good... Excellent place to stay in Mussoorie..
Mr.Sananjay Biswas ( Mumbai)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank sananjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

I went to this property keeping in the mind that it is a heritage hotel . But everything from the beginning to the end was pathetic . So following i am writing few points that will help you not to select this hotel ever

NOT VALUE FOR MONEY AT ALL ...

1) It is impossible to take your car inside the hotel unless it is a small car . (When i was getting my booking done with the hotel , the person at the reception told me that honda can come easily .. A BIG LIE )
2) The hotel is bang opposite to the garbage dumping ground . so actually view from rooms 201 and 202 is stinking garbage .(see the attached picture)
3)The room 201 and 202 is really small and suffocating. And they handed over the rooms to us without getting the basic cleaning done . The kettle was dirty and room had dirt on the floor as well as in drawers .
4) Food : The food was okay until i spot a hair in it . it spoiled my whole meal and forced me to check out from the hotel immediately . (picture attached)


PS: The guy at the reception ( forgot to ask his name) was a pain . He was having guts to ask me 100% amount for the cancellation for a day . As i had planned two night stay , but after the pathetic experience i was forced to check out . And later on he is saying i am sorry and please don’t write online review as my hotel reputation will fall down . I am sure with this amount of money that you are paying you have far better hotels in mussoorie .

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 570sanchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, Owner at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.
We try to do as much humanely possible for all our guests and apologise for any inconvinience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

One of the cosiest boutique hotels I've ever been too. The rooms are full of character , the staff is very helpful. The food is amazing. The hotel takes you back in time. Had a wonderful wholesome experience. Will visit again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kavya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

The fact that I solely created an account to review this establishment speaks volumes about how brilliant this place is. The rooms are in an excellent condition, the staff is well trained and exceedingly hospitable; the location is brilliant, one can see Himalayas from the hotel, and it is right off Mall Road.
I strongly recommend this place to anybody planning a trip to Mussoorie, and I also insist the reader to book this hotel if he//she is planning to without any second thoughts.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shashwat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilbert M, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 km away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 76 in Mussoorie
716 reviews
2.8 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 76 in Mussoorie
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#10 of 76 in Mussoorie
828 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.1 km away
Sterling Mussoorie
Sterling Mussoorie
#5 of 76 in Mussoorie
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilbert Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilbert Manor

Address: Library End Duggal Villa Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: RM453 - RM939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilbert Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilbert Manor is a 180 year old unique heritage boutique hotel nestled amidst oak trees and semi wild forest. The Manor has been painstakingly restored over a period of seven years and offers 14 well appointed and elegant rooms. Each guest room has been named to reflect the original history capturing the nostalgia of the pioneers who discovered the magical hills of Mussoorie. Rudyard Kipling, General Frederick Young and Jim Corbett are a few such names. The Ilbert Manor team focuses to offer personalized services to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ilbert Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing