We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Anahata Villas & Spa Resort(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bon Nyuh Bungalows(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aji Lodge(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
US$13
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$74
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vision Villa Resort(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa L'Orange Bali(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
US$46
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ari House(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
US$13
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
Artini 3 Cottages(Gianyar)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$53
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
355
210
49
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
210
49
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant ridefeed the animalstsavo restaurantunique experiencewater parkswim up barbali agung showmarine parkbbq dinneranimal encountersfire showfamily roomuma restaurantfree photowhite tigerwatching the animalsstayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

It's a great place to visit. The Twiga suite has a nice view and one can see Zebras, Ostriches and Elephants up close to the room. Direct booking with the resort (for a package) is recommended as it includes safari journey, Bali Agung Show amongst others. Had a 2 days package and totally enjoyed staying at this place.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SS2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliSafariBSMP, Manager at Mara River Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from Mara River Safari Lodge, Bali...!

Thank you very much for choosing Mara River Safari Lodge as your holiday destination while in Bali.

Good to acknowledge that you had a great experience with us. It is true we have some of the room categories to be chosen and each room category has their uniqueness, indeed Twiga has nice view to our panorama of animals, and I recommend also our family suites Kifaru and Tembo suitable for family travelers. Yes, currently we have interesting packages in our website.

We thank you for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next holiday in Bali...!

​Best Roarrr!!

Chandra Baratha
Hotel Manager
Mara River Safari Lodge, Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Mara River safari lodge on their 3 day package. It was fun few days overall rating is average to good. The lodge is right in the safari park so very convenient.

The room had a balcony looking into area where zebras, wildebeest and ostriches roamed. You were given small basket of carrots to throw to them. That was pretty cool.

The room itself was small, bit tired and our bathroom had a very unpleasant smell. We told the cleaners and front desk but the smell was still there after they cleaned. Overall gave me the feeling the place wasn't very clean.

We ate at the Tsavo lion restaurant which you can see the lions on one side and meerkat on the other. Food was average but definitely go for the experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank AussieTurtle_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This is a very unique place and well worth the visit. Its not uber luxury but you're not really here for that. The service is quite good. Rooms reasonably clean too.

Price wise is not too crazy and sitting having a beer whilst watching a load of animals grazing is something I will always remember. Having dinner next to a load of lions is clearly once in a lifetime territory...thats was truly spectacular.

Feeding elephants and sitting with orangutans and being 2 feet from a tiger cub isn't something you find everywhere.

The whole place can be done in a day so 1 night we found to be the right amouny.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This is the second time we have stayed here, the first being 6 years ago, unfortunately it has run down since last time with the spa section now not in operation. If you do want to have a massage etc. you can go into the actual safari park and have one there which is not as convenient as by the pool and you are limited to open times of the park. Other than that it was still a great experience. For the money though we recommend only staying the one night as you get the package which includes entry to the safari park, a photo with an animal, the Bali Agung show and one safari trip throughout the park. This is good value but as soon as you stay an extra night it is far too expensive for what it is at around $300 AUS per night for the cheapest room. We learnt this front our last stay so only booked the one night this time. The hotel are very accommodating to get the most for your money and let you arrive early and leave your bags in storage until your room is ready. This way you can go into the park or pool area and start to look around. We took the time to have an elephant ride, it is quite expensive at about $93 AUS for half an hour but worth it as you wander through parts of the safari park and hotel area. You still have time then to go to the fun zone (which unfortunately is under renovation so only a couple of rides in operation). You get one free ride and have to pay for any others (around $5.00 AUS each). The water park is included and is great for young children. If you time it right you can even take in the Agung show at 2.30 leaving you more time to explore the park the next day. There is an option to do a night safari that evening at a cost of about $65.00 AUS each where you get to the see the animals moving around a bit more and can watch the feeding of the lions, a bbq dinner is included back at the hotel along with a native fire show. We really enjoyed this. In the evenings they bring an animal of some sort from the park into the restaurant for a photo opportunity and at breakfast you eat the buffet breakfast with egg station while watch the lions through glass walls and they brought an elephant up in front of the lobby of the hotel. They provide you with a bucket of vegetables to feed the animals like the zebras from your room. A great experience and value for just a short one night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the animals.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

It was outrageously overpriced. We were quoted one price when we booked in Australia and then charged an extra $250 (Australian dollars)when we checked in. I had to barter with reception to drop the price. When we finally came to a mutually agreeable rate, they then proceeded to advise that the extras which I though were inclusions were not ie the water park.
The rooms were very basic, the mini bar overpriced including soft drink. There were no towels at the pool and the pool bar was empty. The staff were not very friendly and were pushing you to buy their pictures and merch. The park is tired and we didn't see half the animals that we thought we would see.
When it came time to check out and we needed a driver to drive us back to Kuta, assuming that reception would look after us and arrange a reasonable price for the fare back, they ripped us off.
If you try to order an uber, don't bother as the place is heavily guarded by security guards and will not let the uber drivers through. The only positive about Mara River Safari Park is while having dinner there is a glass window and while having dinner the tigers are right there in front of you. The same goes for when you're having breakfast. The buffet breakfast is big but nothing special. If you decide to go and stay up at Mara be prepared to have cash ready to give away.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews