We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$223
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terrace At Kuta(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali Dynasty Resort Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
18 Suite Villa Loft(Kuta)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Inna Kuta(Kuta)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kana Kuta(Kuta)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,419)
Filter reviews
2,419 results
Traveller rating
1,488
677
166
41
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,488
677
166
41
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla cucinatepan noodleocean facingpool barpool staffshopping mallsecond homefamily suitekids poolbuffet breakfastkuta beachwaterbom parkfantastic hotelkids clubspecial thanksnusa duagreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,739 - 1,744 of 2,419 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Good hotel but definaltely needs renovating : certainly not 5 star in our eyes. We waited over 10 minutes at front reception for check in, no-one even acknowledged our presence. Arrived at our family room, which was nice and big (family of 5 with 3 teenagers) but the bath had a long hair in it and was generally dirty. It was cleaned stright away but overall the bathroom was in poor condition : mould in the grout etc. My daughter wanted a bath so we lifted the shower suction mat to find that the underside was full of mould and it was covering the fact that most of the enamel was missing from the bath.
For 5 consecuitve days at breakfast we arrived at our table to find at least 2 of the coffee cups were unusable (mainly dirt but on 2 occassions there were hairs in the cups).
We ordered drinks from the pool bar and my son's coke came with a bee (it was under the ice so could not have possibly flown into the glass while they delivered it).
We had a problem with our wifi and was told that if we upgraded ($5 per day) it would work better. Turned out it was a router problem, not the wifi, but at checkout the staff and managers refused to credit the $5 upgrade, although we hadn't used it and it was not the problem at all : the computer technician has said that he would correct the charge at the time.
Due to the bad weather durung our stay our use of the pool and facilities was limited however the pool area was nice and there seemed to be a lot of activities for the kids.
The staff were not as friendly as other hotels we have stayed in, far from it, and the majority of them did not understand english.
Generally it is an alright hotel but you can do far better for the price. Certainly needs and upgrade and is not 5 star.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnstonFamilyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My family (of 7)stayed at DKP for 10 days, over Christmas and New Year. It was our first time as a family to go to Bali. The aim of our holiday was to relax, unwind and spend quality time with the kids. We achieved this and more, with our complementary massages. We had 3 rooms on the 3rd floor, 2 were adjoining. The other right beside, which we specifically asked for. The rooms were spacious and clean, quiet and serviced every day. The cleaning staff even made little animals out of the towels for the kids. The hotel was apparently at capacity, but we never felt this was the case. Pool was not over crowded, service was fast, and no waiting for a table at the restaurants.
Breakfast was a huge buffet of everything one would want. We were always greeted with smiles and kindness. Lunch we ordered from the poolbar, we found that 5 meals was enough to feed 7 of us, large portions. Evening meal times were a treat, with different theme every night. Plus entertainment, bands, local dancers, illusionist, fire eaters/dancers. Christmas evening we had a choir from the local orphanage sing Christmas carols.
New Years Eve was 'Spectacular' to say the least. There was a Masquerade Ball in the Karisma Ballroom. What a sight to behold. 'Red Carpet' entrance, pre-dinner Cocktails, fire dance show,band,illusionist, Cabaret (Lady Ga Ga) then DJ. Plus a beautiful gift for each person. The food was amazing, every nationality catered for. Tupai bar then carried on the fun. Was a great spot to have a few more drinks and watch the fireworks.
DKP is in a great spot for shopping both on the street and it is just next door to Kartika Plaza Shopping Centre. The staff are second to none. They all made us feel very welcome and looked after us so well. Especially the bar staff they taught my kids Balinese at every opportunity. There is no doubt we will be back next year. Can not wait.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Con007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Had a lovely stay @ the Kartika..... friendly, helpful staff... clean room - including the bathroom...excellent location- will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stingergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We have been to Bali many times and stayed at Discovery Kartika Plaza 2 times. Overall the hotel is fine and value for money. Breakfast is super and restaurant prices are reasonable compared with other hotels in the same standard on Bali. The staff is smiling and helpful, maybe sometimes a little too fresh in behavior.
Expectation for Discovery shall go on a good 4-star package tour hotel. It is misleading to call the hotel 5-star.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

What a lovely place to finish off my month long holiday in Bali. I love hitting the jackpot with my last hotel. I stayed in six hotels over the month long holiday and found that only three were worth staying at again. Kartika is in a great location for that last minute shopping before you leave Bali and also far enough down the road to not be hearing all the noise from bars and fireworks. The rooms are big and clean and the staff are happy. The food options, especially theme nights were great and the service quick. Check in can take some time so it would be nice if they could speed that up. If you are used to catching taxis on your own from the street, then ask first at the transport desk because we found that the drivers they organize for you were just as cheap as the bluebird taxis to get to places like Sanur. Overall this place was a bit expensive, but it's nice to finish off a long hotel somewhere safe and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mbtravelPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews