We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION! Decent Small resort like .. Will stay again !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa
Ranked #216 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Just spent 4 nights (Jan 7-11) in 2 superior rooms ($60/booking.com). LOCATION is a plus, very attentive staff, clean large rooms with balcony and small resort like setting. Access to beach by a 4 step ladder, however don't bother as the beach area is not that clean. BREAKFAST: Indonasian, breads, juices(canned), Omelette,cut fruits.NOT 4/5 star, just enough. ROOMS:Large,Balanese setup,decent. worn out feeling, however comfortable. 2 water bottles/day. TV: Very basic, old fashion with CNN, HBO and few other programs. POOL(two): Great, nice setting.. less crowded, decent food service. EASY CAB and rental car service., Hotel can arrange.. haggle the price !! TIP: Easy to hire a car on per day basis. We paid 35USD/day. Thanks to earlier post !! CAUTION: when you pay for exit fee at the airport, be careful. It is Indonasian 150,000 rupaiah, which is roughly 16~USD. Better have the exchanged currency, otherwise they will take USD 20 ! RESTAURANTS: Plenty..
Poppies is fantastic )1 KM.. very moderate prices..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbaddam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 152 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Horribly dated hotel in desperate need of a refit
A maze of spiral staircases and ramps lead to the rooms
good luck if you are on the fourth floor as there is no lift.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here in a "Deluxe Room" for 2 nights.
This is perhaps one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. It was very old, not very clean, the light fixtures and shower were broken, etc.
The reason why I made this reservation was 4 days prior I visited the hotel and asked to be shown a deluxe room. They showed me a new-looking clean room with none of the above problems, so I made the booking. 4 days later when I checked in, they gave us the old broken down room we were forced to stay in. Luckily it was only for 2 nights.
We complained right after we checked in about the quality of the room and were told to talk to the hotel staff the following morning about getting another room. We did, and they said the hotel was full. They said they would fix the problems but of course they didn't.
When we checked out I showed photos of all the room problems to the staff, explaining that there was no possible way this pit could be described as a "Deluxe Room". But the clerk wouldn't even consider what I was saying and was quite rude. This was the only time during my 10-day stay in Bali that I felt hotel staff were being rude and uncooperative.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms, which do exist, but since you can't trust the hotel staff to give you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had a great stay at the Melasti and would definitely come back again. The staff were always friendly and helpful and remembered our names everytime we saw them.

The location of the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk (depending how lost you get) from Pantai Kuta and the main night clubs and bars on Jalan Legain. We never had the need to take a cab the whole time we were there. There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel, as well as shops and the Discovery Mall which is only a minute down the road. The hotel backs onto the beach however there is no 'direct access' so you will need to climb down a ladder behind the pool area to access the beach more quickly!The hotel is fairly quiet and we couldn't hear much of the surrounding noise when we went to bed which we really appreciated.

The rooms were very large and the beds were comfortable. The majority of the rooms have a big balcony to sit on and a lot of these overlook the pool. The rooms were cleaned daily and were tidy however the bathrooms are a bit old and could do with an upgrade. There are no safes in the room but the front desk does have safety deposit boxes which are free to hire.

The pool is a basic but it is clean and nice enough to cool off in and drinks can be ordered to the pool.

The Melasti is by no means a 'resort' but it is a nice place to relax for a few days and a good place to base yourself for exploring the surrounding area without having to stay right in the thick of Kuta. The Melasti provides everything that you need for a nice stay - good price, location, cleanliness and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first and choose one near the back pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sezbo_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The best thing about the Melasti is it's locality. Right on the beach and only a short walk to the beach restaurants out the back, and markets directly out the front. 5-10 minute walk to Legian markets. Some parts need maintanence but hey, my air con played up and within 2 mins i had 3 guys there to fix it and never had another issue. 2 pools is handy during the busy times. did not have any problems with bringing in drinks for our mini bar from the mini mart, never checked my bags. Room was cleamed everyday witout a request. Very friendly staff!!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor by the 1st pool is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.3 km away
Home@36
Home@36
#74 of 252 in Kuta
525 reviews
0.1 km away
Kuta Station Hotel
Kuta Station Hotel
#102 of 252 in Kuta
529 reviews
0.5 km away
Bali Summer Hotel
Bali Summer Hotel
#209 of 252 in Kuta
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#118 of 252 in Kuta
451 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali
1.6 km away
Hotel Lusa
Hotel Lusa
#204 of 252 in Kuta
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa

Address: Jl. Kartika | kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#108 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: RM90 - RM290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you so much for selecting Melasti Kuta Bungalows as your home away from home. Build and founded among set of tropical garden and exotic plants, Melasti Kuta bungalows & Spa, Provide you a sense of calm holiday and peace of mind. Just 5 minutes drive from airport on the Kuta Beach, close to the biggest shopping area on Kuta, Waterboom Park and Yes! Kuta night life. When Balinese hospitality meets western comfortability, you can have the word "Melasti" in mind meeting all of your expectation available in various rooms categories : Suite Room, Deluxe Room, Superior Room, and Standard Room for those who wish to have the whole comfortability at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Zenrooms, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melasti Beach Bungalows And Spa
Melasti Beach Bungalows Hotel Kuta
Melasti Beach Hotel
Melasti Kuta Bungalows And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing