We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not bad but Not 5 Star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Bali Indonesia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Bali Indonesia
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad but Not 5 Star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just returned from 10 days at the Melia Bali.
There's good and not so good to report.

The Good:
The staff - every one an absolute pleasure, always smiling and willing to assist or chat.
The food - good quality
The gardens and pool - very well kept and the gardens beautiful.
Public areas - very pleasant, clean and in most cases modern and comfortable.

The Not so Good:
The deluxe rooms - their website says "recently refurbished" - I think that's stretching the truth somewhat. The first room they gave us had a bath tub and plastic shower curtain with a shower head jammed against the ceiling - very poor. It also faced the back of the hotel with a fairly small balcony. We asked for a room change, which they did supply but we had to wait 3 days before we could get a room with a walk-in shower - which was a smoking room ( not what we wanted) but they did a deep clean at our request which removed the smell. It also faced the poolside of the gardens , had a double sized balcony and was way better.

Breakfast - food quality good, but it's such a big hotel, even when not full (as it was because we went out of season), the noise was like having breakfast at a staff canteen.

Beach Grill /Bar Cleanliness - there are signs everywhere telling you not to feed the squirrels which plague the area - but guests insisted on doing so which encouraged the beasts to run across the bar and the tables & chairs - occasionally leaving their droppings behind. Hardly hygenic and I saw no urgency to disinfect the counter tops, just a cursory wipe with a cloth when they got round to it. Not really acceptable.

Prices - By most standards, are over the top. By the time they add 10% service charge and 15% tax to every order, a large bottle of local beer costs you £7.50 GBP that's not even a pint. Wine is around £30 a bottle (£9.50 per glass before the tax and service) so unless your rich or tee-total, think twice.

In contrast, a 5 minute walk to Bali Collection can get you a meal for 2, 2 beers and 2 large glasses of wine for £25 total including tax & service, cold towels when you sit down and small things like toothpicks (which don't exist in the Melia). Add to that they drive you home for free, it's a much more palatable situation.

We were just disappointed I think, having stayed in real 5 star places in Thalaind and Malaysia, the Melia just has to think about some of the small things that make the difference. The property is 27 years old and they are working to upgrade many of the rooms, but I wouldn't say overall it is value for money - paying these prices I expect better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a walkin shower and facing the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANDJSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear JANDJSurreyUK,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you are not really satisfy staying with us on your holiday. However we have noted all the good and not so good points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.


Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,330
    1,418
    477
    182
    107
See reviews for
1,353
2,111
98
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Its a perfect place to spend your vacation with you family. Very nice family room, good sleep, friendly staff, good swimming pool and the private beach. Breakfast was ok but not the best, food from the menus was really good and tasty, but a bit overprice. I like the pedestrian path along the beach that connect to other hotels. In general, I had nothing to complain, all minor things could easily forgotten as soon as you see the view and lying on your bench at the pool or the the beach. The hawkers might be disturbing, but they're nice people anyway and you can talk and chat with them.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Warmest greetings from Melia Bali Indonesia!

Dear Frans G,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

We have noted all your points mentioned on your review for our reference and improvement. However, we would also forwarded your comments in regards to the hawkers on the beach to the authorities in Nusa Dua area.

We are happy to learn that you have a wonderful stay with us. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our stay at Melia Bali was amazing! From stepping out of the taxi to leaving after 2 weeks the service was a 100%. The staff at the hotel is so helpful and always smiling! The poolboys were very helpful serving both drinks and lunch at the pool! The fact that the hotel manager walked around and talked with the guests made us feel important. The greenarea of the hotel is amazing, at nighttime they light candels and the atmosphere is romantic and kozy.

My friend and I went a lot outside the area of Nusa Dua, being two young girls we were a bit carefull about taking cabs. Reading other evaluations I noticed that some have mentioned the fact that the hotel taxi is a bit more expensiver then the local. That is true, but we had no problem asking the hotel staff calling Blue Bird wich is the taxi company you should use exept the hotel taxi.

The location of the hotel is also very good, only a 5 minute walk from the Nusa Dua Mall with many resturants, shops and markeds. If you find the prices at the hotel a bit stiff both at the minimarked and the resturants you should check this out. Traveling into Kuta takes about 20 - 25 minutes depending on the trafick. Althoug it take some time it is not expensive at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathilde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Warmest greetings from Melia Bali Indonesia!

Dear Mathilde B,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Long way from Norway, glad to know that you and your girlfriend are completely satisfied and enjoyed your vacation. The hotel taxi is a bit more expensive since this taxi only use by the hotel guests, not for public. Sometimes the guest forgotten their belonging in the car, after dropping the guests, the driver have to go back to the hotel and not allowed to take other passengers on the street. This way, we could maintain the safety and security of our in-house guests.

We are happy to learn that you have a wonderful stay with us. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We spent last week at the Melia Bali with my wife and friends. This hotel is not bad but very average and definitely not 5-star. I would say 3,5- star the most.
The hotel has beautiful garden, very nice and clean beach, nice swimming pool. Too many restaurants with again very average quality, especially the buffet dinners.
Talking about rooms, we had a superior room - was very humid and one night I ran into a "nice big" cockroach in our bathroom...

Room Tip: Dont stay in a superior room if you go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear SmileJZ,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you are not really satisfy staying with us on your holiday. However we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.


Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langwarrin, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Melia Bali for 5 days in Jan 2011. First up, we didn't get the room type that we had booked as they were all full. Then upon arrival we were put into a room with no power, the power had been out for 2 hours in that block but they still put us in there. So they moved us, to a room with twin beds and their way to fix it was to push them together. Then the in room safe didn't work.

So not a good start. I will admit the pool and the grounds are fantastic, but that is as far as I will go. The breakfast was very below par, the consistency of the quality changing daily. The rooms were dated and the balcony's had mould and old peeling paint on them. The aircon in the rooms was weak too, didn't cool the room enough. This hotel needs a complete refurbish.

This was a return visit to this hotel as we had stayed here in 87, won't be back again though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear Neil S,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you are not really satisfy with your recent holiday. Some people believe that first impression will last longer, but many other people also believe of a "second chance".

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.


Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
1.0 km away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#15 of 52 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
0.9 km away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.3 km away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#19 of 52 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
1.1 km away
Courtyard Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bali Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali Indonesia

Property: Melia Bali Indonesia
Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price range (per night): RM540 - RM1,813
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bali Indonesia 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Melia Bali Indonesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Indonesia Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing