We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique couples retreat”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #144 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Small resort, individual rooms private and secluded, in rainforest setting. personally cooked breakfasts. small but clean pool, service really good and hourly free shuttle service into ubud, lots of steps to climb to rooms, but worth the climb. tv could do with updates still using set top box systems found this frustrating.

Room Tip: Highest room for views
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sarna Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2015

Stayed for 3 days at this resort. Drive down from the airport was about 2 hours, used the airport taxi service to get there. First impression of this place was the overall quietness of it all. Not allot of traffic. It is situated on top of a hill and surrounding rice terraces. The grounds of the resort is large with a well kept garden. The trees are all mature and gives lots of seclusion from the sun, good for reading a book or just relax.
Stayed in the Krishna suite with a large balcony overlooking the valley below with a view of the pool. Krishna room is on the upper floor, in the early hours of the morning
I would recommend a early start to see the beauty of the area just before the sun comes up. It is a sight to see, so serene and tranquil.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Room is not modern, very rustic with a large bay window. King size canopy, sitting area,walk in closet with tons of space and a large shower stall. Water pressure is a bit slow. Wifi is included.
There is a welcome drink on arrival. Room service is available up to a certain time
as there is no option for meals at the resort except breakfast. All our other meals came from the restaurant down the hill, the resort will take care of the orders and deliver it to your room. Very traditional Indonesian dishes and well as some western options. Breakfast is good,served with coffee, tea,milk, yogurt, eggs, toast,oatmeal and fresh fruit.
There is a shuttle service to Ubud, it runs until 10pm, Driver name is Madi. Very friendly and knows the area, even recommended places of interest to us.

Met the owner of the resort, super friendly and kind.
Went into Ubud a couple times, great nightlife, The resort is quiet at night, if you are looking to have activities at night I suggest you go into ubud where is so much to do and see. The cuisine is amazing, spas in ubud is great and the prices are very good.
I would recommend this hotel for couples and older kids, as there is lots of stairs not ideal for younger children and seniors with walking issues.
I will certainly go back to this hotel again. Overall stay was great and the grounds of the property is truly a retreat in the jungle.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

It is such a peaceful place.
I the middle of the beautiful jungle of Ubud.
I arrived there and was so touched by the serenety that I directly felt asleep after meditation at the nice small pool.
The recommendation is for couples who definitely want to relax.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank olafhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Overall, a great property. I would stay here again if they changed up the shuttle schedule since I was there.

Pros: Beautiful, beautiful rooms. It's a small property so it really lent it an intimate feel. Hotel shuttle can get you to the nearby coffee plantations and to Ubud itself. I thought I would be a little creeped out by all the Hindu statues but I actually found them kind of charming. We stayed in the Brahmin suite and it had a gorgeous view and a humongous balcony, where we took our room service meal the first night there. The staff is super friendly and speak English really well.

Cons: Hotel shuttle had limited pickup times from Ubud, which was somewhat inconvenient because the Ubud taxis are pretty sketchy (most of them are just private cars) and a lot of them would claim that they didn't know where this hotel was. Even though we were in the jungle, I could still hear a motorcycle or scooter that passes by on the main road, which kind of ruins the peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WickerParkGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

The hotel is around 1.5 hours to 2 hours away from Bali airport depending on traffic. And around 15-20 minutes from Downtown Ubud.

The hotel is located on a hill, next to many rice terrace and you are surrounded with trees from each angel, the hotel is made up from 8 rooms, each with its on style.

There is a very nice swimming pool.

We stayed in Shiva room, there was a slight problem with the hot water for one day. Shiva have a nice balcony as well.

The hotel staff is very friendly, the rooms are not modern, so if you are looking for modern rooms, maybe all of Ubud area is not a place for you to stay. However the rooms are very clean, spacious, and have a very nice Indonesian/Indian style to it.

Since it is a botique hotel, do not expect a very great room service after 10PM, I tried to call many times room service, and even went outside to look for anyone from the staff, however there was none !!!! The reception door was closed as well as the kitchen area. I think the hotel should focus and be prepared for night time room service.

The breakfast is nice, however it is menu based, and the menu never change, so expect to be eat eggs (sunny side up, omelete, scrambeled) with two pieces of sausages, and a selection of pancakes. Do not expect a variety or open buffet.

The hotel was great, and I would return back and recommend it to others as well.

P.S. most of Ubud shuts down after 6pm, So do not expect to find any attractions or night life in Ubud in general, and especially around the hotel, there is nothing to do within a walking distance, except farm lands.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own style, we stayed at Shiva
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ibrahim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
5.8 km away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
10.8 km away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#75 of 199 in Ubud
319 reviews
10.1 km away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#48 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
2.4 km away
Abirama Ubud Villa
Abirama Ubud Villa
#142 of 199 in Ubud
21 reviews
9.2 km away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#126 of 199 in Ubud
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#83 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#111 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: RM210 - RM776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing