We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Serene”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #147 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 10 June 2010

It is definitely advisable to engage the villa transfer service as the villa is off the main road into the verdent lush greenery of the area. The transfer costs USD15/pax from the airport.
The driver who drove us to the villa was very accomodating as he stopped at a nice cafe in Jalan Raya Ubud for our dinner, before proceeding to the villa. We were greeted by the night duty staff and two big huskies.
This property is not for you, if you are afraid of dogs and particular about their presence around the villa ground. The dogs are tame and will listen to orders in English. Do expect the dogs to swim with you in the pool too or lazing at the breakfast area.
The breakfast is served as a set meal. You could choose 1of the options from the menu.
You can get tour services from the villa and the overall service of the villa was very good. There are rooms for improvements and it is well worth the stay. Rooms are immaculate and beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadallaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Thank you very much for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. After reading your review, I was very surprised and upset to learn of these other dogs on our property. I learned that these other dogs were owned by our head contractor and/or his employees, and they mistakenly brought them into Villa Sarna when they came to do any work and inspections. The very fact that these other dogs were even on the property in the first place and swimming in the pool was absolutely not supposed to be allowed or happen. There is only supposed to be one dog on the property and his name is "Whiskey," our resident Golden Retriever. He is as gentle and affectionate as a dog can possibly be. As Tripadvisor members can read in several of the reviews, "Whiskey" is truly a star and a wonderful aspect of Villa Sarna, and his docile and loving nature has truly won over the guests and created a very homely atmosphere for them.

I assure all Tripadvisor guests that this matter has been taken care of and everybody has been strongly instructed that no other dogs are to be allowed into Villa Sarna. Our famous Golden Retreiver, "Whiskey", is and will always be the only dog on the premises for the guests' enjoyment. If for any reason guests are uncomfortable with the notion of "Whiskey" on the property in general, please let us know and we will make arrangements with no problem. At Villa Sarna, we want all guests to feel comfortable at all times and have a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sarna Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 265 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

If you'd like to escape the tourist crowd in Bali, this lovely boutique hotel just outside of Ubud is for you. Beautifully appointed rooms nestled in lush terraced gardens overlooking the rice paddies, very attentive service, cooked breakfast included in room rate. We reserved a driver (hotel employee) who provided airport transportation and took us wherever we wanted to go for a very reasonable price (you don't want to drive in Bali!). Comfortable common area (with free internet access) and a refreshing swimming pool also available. Had we not been tourists, we would have been content to never leave the resort!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarveyD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This was our 4th time to Bali and we decided to stay in Ubud this time. I found Villa Sarna on Tripadvisor and have to say it was a nice surprise. The location is off the beaten path and very relaxing. The hotel is well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We were traveling with friends and this was their first visit to Bali. They were very impressed and loved the hotel as well. If your looking for a great get-away with a peaceful setting this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txco48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

The staff of Villa Sarna are very friendly, courteous and helpful. When we arrived at the hotel, we did not have enough cash to pay the taxi driver. The hotel manager advance the money for us. The place is very well maintained and relaxing. It is about 20 minutes from Ubud but the driver would drive us to Ubud and would bring us back to the hotel.
We had a wonderful visit of real life of Bali's people thanks to Made Klim, the driver. He drove us to the rice field, Holly Temple that happens to be once a month on a Saturday. He arranged for us to be invited to a wedding. We visited a Volacno and many more... We enjoyed our staying in Villa Sarna and we would not hesitate to recommend it strongly to anyone who likes the calm and relaxation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janaz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Villa Sarna was our first stop in Bali and it was the best welcome to this island we could wish for. Very friendly and helpful staff, creating a "feel like home" ambiance. The garden and houses fit perfectly in the surroundings, a little paradise just outside Ubud where we felt very welcome. If you'd like to visit Ubud and be sure that you stay in a hotel with an intimate ambiance, where you feel at home and where you are treated in the best wa y possible, be sure to visit this place!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmvermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
5.8 km away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
10.8 km away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#73 of 199 in Ubud
321 reviews
10.1 km away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
2.4 km away
Abirama Ubud Villa
Abirama Ubud Villa
#141 of 199 in Ubud
22 reviews
9.2 km away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#120 of 199 in Ubud
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#83 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#112 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: RM210 - RM781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing