We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$1,103
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
US$545
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$431
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$633
US$522
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$629/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$851
US$656
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$810
US$714
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
255
81
17
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
81
17
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom servicefree shuttleminute driverice fieldsdrivervalleyvillajunglenaturehillsideasiamotorbike
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Indonesia. It would be a crime not to aknowledge our spectacular stay at the Villa Sarna so here is our review:

It is rare to find such a great combination of genuine hospitality in a beautiful and rustic setting. My wife and I would know as we travel worldwide quite often. Villa Sarna pulls it off.

We were truly amazed by the hospitality, generosity, knowledge, and friendliness of the Villa Sarna staff. Time and time again the Villa Sarna employees went out of their way to help us with transportation, tours, and purchasing plane tickets with very little notice. The food was also excellent and great value. We also thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and decorations.

To us it does not get any better. Perhaps our fondest memory of our first trip to Indonesia will be out time at the Villa Sarna. We look forward to staying at the Villa Sarna in the future!

-David

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvesterdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed 4 nights in the Saraswati Room. The room was huge (65 sqm or 700sq.ft) with a large marble bathroom and walk in robe. There were floor to ceiling windows on one side of the king size bed overlooking a water feature and a beautiful garden and also along the front of the room overlooking the valley below. Welcome drinks, cold face towels and fresh fruit were waiting for us in our room. The room and bathroom was very clean. Free Wi Fi was available in our room and was reliable.
There are only 7 rooms in the resort and they all differ in size and set up. The site is quite steep and we had about 30 stairs to climb over 3 levels to get to our room. If you have difficulty with stairs you may find this a bit challenging.

Breakfast was included and made fresh for you when you ordered from their small menu but plentiful. This was served on the veranda overlooking the valley.
The service was impeccable and they were doing everything to please their guests.
There is no restaurant on site for lunch or dinner but they have an agreement with a restaurant just down the road where they will pick you up and return you after your meal or you can order food at the Villa and they will deliver. One night we went to the restaurant and the food was really good. They do operate a small bar in the communal lounge.
The resort is about 20mins north of Ubud, in the village of Tegalalang, on the side of a mountain with nothing but gardens or bush around it but they offer a free shuttle car into central Ubud every 2 hours.
The pool was quite cold but we understand that they will be heating that in the near future.
We loved our stay here and were very sorry to leave. It is truly a very peaceful and relaxing small boutique resort, definitely not party central, but just what we needed to unwind and relax. There were no children staying there during our stay.
The staff work very hard to maintain the resort and their service is exceptional from the first email I sent them through to our check-out.
Thank you Villa Sarna for an amazing stay.
Kind regards
Pam & Steve, Western Australia

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I just wanted to let all past and future guests know that our pool has in fact been retrofitted with an advanced heating system as of mid-July. We apologize for the delay in installation as our previous management response had indicated. The reason for this delay was because we had to import the new heating system from Australia and it took a little longer than we anticipated to arrive in Bali. But, we installed it as soon as it arrived, and the pool is now heated beautifully. Thank you for your patience and we look forward to serving all guests in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

A great little hotel a short drive away from Ubud. We stayed 4 nights from July 8th-12th. Its a great little place set amongst the hills and rice terraces. The hotel attention to detail is very apparent, and an all round eagerness to please the guests. Regular free shuttles to and from Ubud mean that you can get in and out fo town easily and at no cost. We used the hotel to transfer us from the airport to the hotel and given the distance we were happy with the US$15 per person it cost. We even hired one driver for a 6 hour private tour, which they charge $8 an hour for, and to my mind thats pretty good. The rooms are very nice, free wi-fi, Tv with plenty os sattelite channels too, coffee and tea making failities and free water every day, and some welcome fruit on our day of arrival. Breakfast was okay. One reviewer complained about the pool temerature and the owner responed by saying they were going to put a heater in the pool, but that had not happened by the time we arrived. The pool is small, but set amongst the small but very traditional Balinese gardens. There are a lot of steps here, so if these are a problem you might want to consider another hotel, but if you want to get away from it, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I just wanted to let all past and future guests know that our pool has in fact been retrofitted with an advanced heating system as of mid-July. We apologize for the delay in installation as our previous management response had indicated. The reason for this delay was because we had to import the new heating system from Australia and it took a little longer than we anticipated to arrive in Bali. But, we installed it as soon as it arrived, and the pool is now heated beautifully. Thank you for your patience and we look forward to serving all guests in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Villa Sarna is nestled among beautiful gardens ten kilometres from Ubud. The villas have gorgeous views out over the palm trees to the hillside beyond. The rooms were large, well appointed, clean & comfortable. Beds & linens were high quality. Delicious breakfasts were served on the balcony. The pool terrace was a great place to relax. Service was excellent with staff there to make your stay very special. Regular shuttle vehicles take guests in to town. A very good restaurant across the valley will deliver lunch & dinner. A birthday cake, complete with candles, was presented to me by smiling staff. The owner took very special care to make our stay most enjoyable. Villa Sarna is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyKazdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Four our first family holiday in ten years, my parents, my sister and I chose 3 nights at Villa Sarna. It is as beautiful as it looks on the website, and the staff are as attentive and helpful as the reviews would suggest.

The Villa is a 15-20 minute ride from Ubud centre/Monkey Forest Rd, but there are shuttles every 2 hours going there and back. We actually really enjoyed having a leisurely breakfast in the breathtaking surrounds of the villa, taking the early shuttle, spending a wearying few hours trekking around Ubud, and coming back to our little Oasis in the evening.

The restaurant for lunch/dinner is sensational - and also offers a stunning view looking over the rice paddies.

We were thrilled with our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews