We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but isolated”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #147 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed at Villa Sarna for 5 nights and generally enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and genuinely want you to have a great stay. The room we stayed in (Saraswati) was large and comfortable and has what you would expect. The real downside to the hotal is its location (8km north of Ubud). The entrance to the hotel is down and then back up a very steep valley, so it is unlikely you would walk it, and even if you did, there is very little there as this is very much a non-tourist area. There is a shuttle into Ubud every two hours, but with normal traffic on the road takes a good 20 minutes each way.

So overall, a very good hotel, but beware of the location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2010

Thank you for the review. As we have said previously, we are approximately a fifteen-twenty minute drive from the Ubud city center, depending on traffic. For this reason and for the convenience of our guests, we offer free shuttle service all-day to and from the Ubud city center. I have been told by guests that they view our location as a big positive and an actual determining factor in choosing Villa Sarna, as it is extremely private and serene; away from the hustle and bustle and commerciality of Ubud. Yet, it is still relatively close for those who want to go to the Ubud center. The surrounding area has been untouched and retains the same charm and feel, as it did in the early 1900's when our grandfather first decided to settle in Bali. I have personally been told by the local Ubud residents, including the wife of famed Bali painter Antonio Blanco, how much they loved the location of our villa. They said that in and around Ubud city center, it has become too commercialized and it is very difficult to experience the authentic sounds of nature and match the ambiance and serenity of yesteryear. That is what initially made us fall in love with the property and consequently why most of our guests love it as well. We hope TripAdvisor readers will appreciate sheer beauty and come stay with us on the lovely island that is Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sarna Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 253 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Indonesia. It would be a crime not to aknowledge our spectacular stay at the Villa Sarna so here is our review:

It is rare to find such a great combination of genuine hospitality in a beautiful and rustic setting. My wife and I would know as we travel worldwide quite often. Villa Sarna pulls it off.

We were truly amazed by the hospitality, generosity, knowledge, and friendliness of the Villa Sarna staff. Time and time again the Villa Sarna employees went out of their way to help us with transportation, tours, and purchasing plane tickets with very little notice. The food was also excellent and great value. We also thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and decorations.

To us it does not get any better. Perhaps our fondest memory of our first trip to Indonesia will be out time at the Villa Sarna. We look forward to staying at the Villa Sarna in the future!

-David

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvesterdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed 4 nights in the Saraswati Room. The room was huge (65 sqm or 700sq.ft) with a large marble bathroom and walk in robe. There were floor to ceiling windows on one side of the king size bed overlooking a water feature and a beautiful garden and also along the front of the room overlooking the valley below. Welcome drinks, cold face towels and fresh fruit were waiting for us in our room. The room and bathroom was very clean. Free Wi Fi was available in our room and was reliable.
There are only 7 rooms in the resort and they all differ in size and set up. The site is quite steep and we had about 30 stairs to climb over 3 levels to get to our room. If you have difficulty with stairs you may find this a bit challenging.

Breakfast was included and made fresh for you when you ordered from their small menu but plentiful. This was served on the veranda overlooking the valley.
The service was impeccable and they were doing everything to please their guests.
There is no restaurant on site for lunch or dinner but they have an agreement with a restaurant just down the road where they will pick you up and return you after your meal or you can order food at the Villa and they will deliver. One night we went to the restaurant and the food was really good. They do operate a small bar in the communal lounge.
The resort is about 20mins north of Ubud, in the village of Tegalalang, on the side of a mountain with nothing but gardens or bush around it but they offer a free shuttle car into central Ubud every 2 hours.
The pool was quite cold but we understand that they will be heating that in the near future.
We loved our stay here and were very sorry to leave. It is truly a very peaceful and relaxing small boutique resort, definitely not party central, but just what we needed to unwind and relax. There were no children staying there during our stay.
The staff work very hard to maintain the resort and their service is exceptional from the first email I sent them through to our check-out.
Thank you Villa Sarna for an amazing stay.
Kind regards
Pam & Steve, Western Australia

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I just wanted to let all past and future guests know that our pool has in fact been retrofitted with an advanced heating system as of mid-July. We apologize for the delay in installation as our previous management response had indicated. The reason for this delay was because we had to import the new heating system from Australia and it took a little longer than we anticipated to arrive in Bali. But, we installed it as soon as it arrived, and the pool is now heated beautifully. Thank you for your patience and we look forward to serving all guests in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

A great little hotel a short drive away from Ubud. We stayed 4 nights from July 8th-12th. Its a great little place set amongst the hills and rice terraces. The hotel attention to detail is very apparent, and an all round eagerness to please the guests. Regular free shuttles to and from Ubud mean that you can get in and out fo town easily and at no cost. We used the hotel to transfer us from the airport to the hotel and given the distance we were happy with the US$15 per person it cost. We even hired one driver for a 6 hour private tour, which they charge $8 an hour for, and to my mind thats pretty good. The rooms are very nice, free wi-fi, Tv with plenty os sattelite channels too, coffee and tea making failities and free water every day, and some welcome fruit on our day of arrival. Breakfast was okay. One reviewer complained about the pool temerature and the owner responed by saying they were going to put a heater in the pool, but that had not happened by the time we arrived. The pool is small, but set amongst the small but very traditional Balinese gardens. There are a lot of steps here, so if these are a problem you might want to consider another hotel, but if you want to get away from it, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I just wanted to let all past and future guests know that our pool has in fact been retrofitted with an advanced heating system as of mid-July. We apologize for the delay in installation as our previous management response had indicated. The reason for this delay was because we had to import the new heating system from Australia and it took a little longer than we anticipated to arrive in Bali. But, we installed it as soon as it arrived, and the pool is now heated beautifully. Thank you for your patience and we look forward to serving all guests in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Villa Sarna is nestled among beautiful gardens ten kilometres from Ubud. The villas have gorgeous views out over the palm trees to the hillside beyond. The rooms were large, well appointed, clean & comfortable. Beds & linens were high quality. Delicious breakfasts were served on the balcony. The pool terrace was a great place to relax. Service was excellent with staff there to make your stay very special. Regular shuttle vehicles take guests in to town. A very good restaurant across the valley will deliver lunch & dinner. A birthday cake, complete with candles, was presented to me by smiling staff. The owner took very special care to make our stay most enjoyable. Villa Sarna is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyKazdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
5.8 km away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
10.8 km away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#71 of 199 in Ubud
321 reviews
10.1 km away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#48 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
2.4 km away
Abirama Ubud Villa
Abirama Ubud Villa
#142 of 199 in Ubud
21 reviews
9.2 km away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#122 of 199 in Ubud
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#83 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#112 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: RM210 - RM780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing