We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the soul of Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #460 of 666 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2012

10 minutes wending up and around a well-trodden, motor bike path into the paddy fields is Sawah Sunrise. We had a spacious fan-cooled room with a nice tiled ensuite and our own terrace into the garden. So nice to be in amongst it after the sanitary modern hotel on the coast. The breakfast was great, the environment serene and all in all a great find within easy wallking distance of Ubud back down the path or meander further up the rice paddy walk to check out a couple of art galleries, a couple of restaurants dotted along the way and the traditional farming lifestyle, We organised a day trip with their driver and transport to the airport at 5.15 when it was time to go home - all so easy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spend here 4 nights and it was wonderfull! The rooms are big, clean and cozy; the view on the rice fields is magnificent. It is located only 10 minutes walk from Ubud center and traffic. The staff is really frendly and efficient; they can also help to organize small tour, transfer to Denpasar airport or rent a motorbike. We are really missing the deliciuos breakfast, served next to the door, on terrace. There isn't internet but sometimes is even better, you are forced to relax.
Absolutelly recommanded!!!

p.s. I wouldn't suggest to go to the near SPA Cantika (too expensive and not so relaxing atmosphere) or to the near Organic Restaurant (the kitchen floor was so dirty and food was terrible)!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madteo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

If you don't want to stay in the bustle of Ubud but want to be able to walk there in a few minutes, this is the ideal place. The staff are friendly and helpful, the room lovely and the surroundings delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The location is unique. Rooms are clean. Breakfast is good. HOWEVER, we were upset at checkout when we were charged for a night that we didn't stay due to travel complications, the staff delivering our breakfast pointed out bat loop by our table but didn't offer to clean it, our bathroom had only a (dirty) garden tub with a handheld spout. The water fluctuated between cold and luke warm. This likely sounds silly, We were expecting to meet Mary, but she was not at the property (we were told she lives in Chicago) .

Room Tip: Ask for shower room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WifewithBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Sawah Sunrise (what a brilliant name) is just a short walk (maybe 10 minutes for an olf fella like me) from Jalan Raya/Campuan Ubud but light years away from the busy, noisy, crowded crazy atmosphere. Just follow the lane (too narrow for cars) that goes past Abangan and you will really appreciate the benefits of being in such a great relaxing location. There are only four rooms at Sawah Sunrise; 2 upstairs with ricefield views and 2 ground floor with garden and ricefield views. I personally prefer the ground floor rooms. All rooms are very well equipped; traditionally furnished; very comfortable bed; well tiled and well finished bathrooms. The gardens are quite beautiful and have been very well designed and developed since I first saw the place 3 years ago. Choice of breakfast each day and all of the choices are excellent, but you have to try Nyoman's pancakes which are the best I have ever had (and I have have more than I care to remember). In fact all the staff are wonderful. Suma will organise trips and drive you at a very good price, we found him cheaper than the street price. I particularly enjoyed talking to Komang about Balinese culture and history; he is normally quite shy but get him talking and he is a wealth of knowledge. Owners are Wayan and Mary; two lovely people who I now regard as friends. The house is in the ricefields and that is much of the fascination of the place; but you cannot have ricefields without ducks, frogs and chickens and to some people (like me) the noise they make is part of the attraction. However I have read a couple of complaints about the noise - so my advice is this; if you don't like the ducks stay away from the sawah (but you'd have to be crazy!). It is a wonderful place to relax; take a walk through the sawah; a short walk to Ubud restaurants in one direction or to Sari Organic in the other. I highly recommend Sawah Sunrise, but I suggest you book well in advance because they are very popular and well patronised. It is a quality place, run by quality people, in a great location and at a very competitive price

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.4 km away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
3.1 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
7.4 km away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
3.4 km away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast

Address: Jalan Subak Sok Wayah, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: RM 179 - RM 289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful home located in central Ubud village. Our tranquil garden accommodation, set amid centuries-old cultivated rice fields, is off the beaten path yet still an easy 10 minute walk from all Ubud attractions: restaurants, museums, temples, spas, the traditional market and royal palace. Each of our 4 guest rooms offers stunning views, en-suite bath with hot water, and private balcony for relaxing to the sights and sounds of Balinese farming life.Sawah Sunrise is a "secret garden" in Ubud's tourist center, with all amenities and luxuries within reach. Our Balinese host family will welcome you and assist with all of your holiday needs: tours, rentals, transportation and special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawah Sunrise Bed And Breakfast
Sawah Sunrise Hotel Ubud
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing