We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$338
US$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
US$358
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$368
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$98
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
69
24
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
24
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spend here 4 nights and it was wonderfull! The rooms are big, clean and cozy; the view on the rice fields is magnificent. It is located only 10 minutes walk from Ubud center and traffic. The staff is really frendly and efficient; they can also help to organize small tour, transfer to Denpasar airport or rent a motorbike. We are really missing the deliciuos breakfast, served next to the door, on terrace. There isn't internet but sometimes is even better, you are forced to relax.
Absolutelly recommanded!!!

p.s. I wouldn't suggest to go to the near SPA Cantika (too expensive and not so relaxing atmosphere) or to the near Organic Restaurant (the kitchen floor was so dirty and food was terrible)!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madteo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

If you don't want to stay in the bustle of Ubud but want to be able to walk there in a few minutes, this is the ideal place. The staff are friendly and helpful, the room lovely and the surroundings delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The location is unique. Rooms are clean. Breakfast is good. HOWEVER, we were upset at checkout when we were charged for a night that we didn't stay due to travel complications, the staff delivering our breakfast pointed out bat loop by our table but didn't offer to clean it, our bathroom had only a (dirty) garden tub with a handheld spout. The water fluctuated between cold and luke warm. This likely sounds silly, We were expecting to meet Mary, but she was not at the property (we were told she lives in Chicago) .

Room Tip: Ask for shower room!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WifewithBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Sawah Sunrise (what a brilliant name) is just a short walk (maybe 10 minutes for an olf fella like me) from Jalan Raya/Campuan Ubud but light years away from the busy, noisy, crowded crazy atmosphere. Just follow the lane (too narrow for cars) that goes past Abangan and you will really appreciate the benefits of being in such a great relaxing location. There are only four rooms at Sawah Sunrise; 2 upstairs with ricefield views and 2 ground floor with garden and ricefield views. I personally prefer the ground floor rooms. All rooms are very well equipped; traditionally furnished; very comfortable bed; well tiled and well finished bathrooms. The gardens are quite beautiful and have been very well designed and developed since I first saw the place 3 years ago. Choice of breakfast each day and all of the choices are excellent, but you have to try Nyoman's pancakes which are the best I have ever had (and I have have more than I care to remember). In fact all the staff are wonderful. Suma will organise trips and drive you at a very good price, we found him cheaper than the street price. I particularly enjoyed talking to Komang about Balinese culture and history; he is normally quite shy but get him talking and he is a wealth of knowledge. Owners are Wayan and Mary; two lovely people who I now regard as friends. The house is in the ricefields and that is much of the fascination of the place; but you cannot have ricefields without ducks, frogs and chickens and to some people (like me) the noise they make is part of the attraction. However I have read a couple of complaints about the noise - so my advice is this; if you don't like the ducks stay away from the sawah (but you'd have to be crazy!). It is a wonderful place to relax; take a walk through the sawah; a short walk to Ubud restaurants in one direction or to Sari Organic in the other. I highly recommend Sawah Sunrise, but I suggest you book well in advance because they are very popular and well patronised. It is a quality place, run by quality people, in a great location and at a very competitive price

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had good contact in advance by email with Mary and booked room no.1(upstairs,double bath) 4 months in advance.A one night's deposit using Paypal(41US$) secured the booking,with the balance to be paid in rupiah on arrival.Fine.
Shortly prior to our arrival she advised us that she and her husband would not actually be there as they would be in USA for a year.She assured me that her 'management team' were quite able to run the show and I should have no concerns.This threw me somewhat.However as we liked the sound of the property we went ahead.
Mary sent us a diagram of how to find it,but I was glad I booked Suma(Sawahsunrise's driver and 'manager' to pick us up at the airport.)
Airasia had changed 5 out of 7 flights during this holiday and we were re-scheduled on a later flt at the last minute.Fortunately we had a Malaysian sim card and Suma's number for just such an emergency.He took our call,noted the change and met us at the airport.Fine.
Denpasar airport is undergoing extension,and quite frankly it was a nightmare to tired disorientated travellers like us.We were therefore doubly glad that we were being met by someone who knew the way and who would also help with our luggage.We paid 250,000 IR,which was money well spent.Couldn't see a taxi stand or a taxi coupon place there.Very confusing and loads of people,so felt we had made good decision and recommend this to any other guests going to Sawah.
Suma was resplendent in national costume and drove us to Ubud(about 1;45 mins) and phoned ahead for another member of staff to meet us at the end of the pathways and put one of our cases on the back of his scooter.It also gave us a chance to check out Suma's fluency and so on, should we think of hiring him as a driver later on.
We didn't in actual fact get any info altho he answered direct questions like 'how long will it take etc' but was a smooth arrival for which we were grateful.

The property is at one end of Ubud reachable via a cobbled slope,paved pathways,cobbled pathways etc.in the middle of rice fields.Impossible to have dragged a suitcase and a roll- on together as the paths are not that wide,plus there is quite a bit of scooter traffic going backwards and forwards and you have to stand to one side to let it pass.So we were grateful for help.(The cobbles play havoc with a decent cases' wheels tho!)

Our room was on the first floor with magnificent views over the rice fields(glad to have been there when everything was looking so green) there is no aircon but for the time we were there we didn't need it,we hardly needed the ceiling fan as there was a fresh breeze circulating through the room most of the time.
2 bottles of drinking water provided on arrival only,from there on in you have to lug it from the mimimarts in Ubud.Would have happily bought it on site if it had been available.
The torn mosquito net needs to be removed as it is neither functional nor decorative and impedes the benefit of the fan which is above it.Having no restaurant near does mean traipsing out to find food even when one is tired though.It would have been useful to have had cuppa soup or something as an emergency alternative.(will know for next time!!Ha ha)My husband being diabetic and needing regular meals creates a problem that others would not be inconvenienced by.
The bed was very comfortable and the big bamboo type,with 2 side tables;we asked for a second reading lamp as there was initially only one,and this was supplied immediately.
The bathroom had a bath and shower fixture and hot water;the rose perfumed liquid soap was topped up regularly.Towels and flannels were changed daily.Very happy with the room and particularly the outlook.
After 4 days we asked for our bed linen to be changed,which was done.
The upstairs rooms share one continuous balcony which means tactful and quiet neighbours are a help;you can also hear the people on the same floor talking.We were lucky with the people who were there at the same time,who were very helpful and considerate and at the end of the holiday there was no-one in the second upstairs room;(we stayed 9 nights)The guests were also kind enough to share their tips and experiences with us which was very useful.Thank you.
Breakfasts were booked in advance and served on your balcony at the time requested.There was a choice of 3 menus.Hot water was provided in a thermos flask and this would always be topped up if you asked.Tea bags and ground Bali coffee were also provided.
An electric kettle would have given greater autonomy however.
There is no TV.
We were grateful for the small supply of books and mags kept at the top of the stairs.
You need a torch to get out and about at night as all the pathways are not lit.
If I was a single female traveler I would be quite apprehensive about making my own way into town and back along these unlit tracks,but everyone took it as a matter of course.
It takes 10 to 15 mins to get to the main road.The signage at the main road and along the paths is not very clear,I doubt if we would have located it in the dark first time on our own.
The rooms are cleaned daily and are spotless.
Suma did not provide us with any info and it would have been helpful to have an info book in the room with essential stuff noted and impartial notes concerning local transport,how much it costs,with a cultural show programme and the fact that the blokes selling tickets on the streets are not touts but legitimate ticket sellers.Also where to buy fruit,the nearest pharmacie,what to do in case of illness,details of sim cards etc;and that there is a huge supermarket to the right as you leave the entrance by Abangan Bungalows,(30 min walk but if you are lucky a driver will take you there for 2 US$)We would never have found this without the friendly neighbours in the next room.Don't think it was mentioned in our guide book either.

Suma asked us regularly most mornings what our programme was for the day and was obviously soliciting trade for a day out with him driving.We resisted.We had already booked a driver on line before coming and this was a disaster as we were sent a replacement,(not the person with whom I had discussed what we wanted in detail) who seemed to think his job was just to drive us,with no info,dump us and wait till we had done the visit ourselves and then rush on to the next stop.Beware of websites which look better than the real product!!!
The Sawah staff occupied a building in the same compound separated by an IMMACULATE garden with a pond with lotus and fish in it.Suma's wife and another chap were also there to see that things ran as they should,bring breakfast etc.
There are 2 dogs and 2 cats on site.They have free run of all the buildings and garden.
Strangely enough the cockerels next door and the ducks didn't disturb my sleep at all;the 2 dogs did now and again.We had some really good nights' sleep without man- induced noise.Fab!
We booked Suma for transfer from Ubud to Lovina in the North,where we would be staying for the second part of our Bali holiday,discussing sightseeing route on the way and agreeing to 500,000IR.This also was a disappointment as he didn't give us any info on route,only accompanied us where he obviously was getting a commission(so called coffee farm) and altho initially agreeing that we would have lunch somewhere overlooking rice terraces,by 1P.M we still hadn't stopped for lunch.As my husband is diabetic and has to take medicine at regular intervals with food,this was important.Suma said the place was closed and he would just continue to Lovina and we could find lunch there!!!So we were supposed to have had a leisurely day arriving at Lovina at 4.30 where instead it was rushed.We stopped at a road side cafe(which Suma obviously didn't know) and put his meal on our bill.Did he think we wouldn't notice;?It wasn't the price,it was the presumption.We arrived at our destination at 2.30 and were relieved that we hadn't taken up his offers of driving us to places during the week.
He usually charges 450,000 IR for the day.There are cheaper drivers about.Talk to them and make your own mind up,or rent a scooter for local runs.

We were lucky with our treatments at Cantika Spa,and made use of the facilities during our stay.It was near enough to pop along with just a sarong on.
Excellent accomodation,fabulous views,good price,fully recommended.Info book would have really helped though.

Room Tip: The 2 doubles on the first floor get the breeze+ wider panoramic view;no 1 has bath,No2 has shower.Downstairs twins have bigger terraces and cane furniture but verandahs are less private.Building N/S orientation so no sunrises or sunsets.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blingpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews