We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly Staffs, Great Location, and Good Brekkie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung
Ranked #24 of 224 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Tegal, Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Friendly Staffs, Great Location, and Good Brekkie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I was appointed as Project Officer for my company trip to Bandung. Actually I preferred to choose another hotel which is part of the hotel chain that I retain the status but I choose Aston instead since the location is better than my previous preference.

I booked nine rooms, 8 of them are two bedroom condotel, and another one is Executive Business Room for my boss. I booked the rooms with Ms. Eci's assistance and I'm so pleased that the booking process are smooth considering that sometimes I've encountered problem when making a group booking in other hotel.

We were greeted by Mr. Ken and Aston Braga staffs when we arrived. We were escorted to their lobby at the 3rd floor (called L), and were given welcome drinks. My colleagues and I felt so special for those friendly welcoming greetings. Thank you Mr. Ken and his team.

The lobby is very beautiful and it has two complimentary computers for guests. The hotel has free wifi also. The hotel has huge swimming pool but unfortunately there's no gym in the hotel. The location is very good, near to merdeka and there are lot of eateries in shopping mall nearby.

The two bedroom condotel is quite spacious. It has electric stove, fridge, private balcony (you have to deposit 50,000 IDR to get the balcony key), rainforest shower, toilet with bidet, sofa, one single bed and one double bed. Actually I thought that the room needs to be renovated little bit, since the ambiance seems little bit dark (especially in toilet), perhaps it needs a brighter lamp or brighter paints in the room. However, I'm pleased that all of my friends said the room is very good and all of them didn't find any disappointment.

The brekkie is good and has plenty of varieties. I think it's very good for vegetarians people since most other hotel usually mixed the dishes with chicken but I've found that there are many pure vegetable dishes here. There are also waffle station and jamu station !!!

Overall, my colleagues and I have great stay in Aston Braga. Thanks to Ms. Eci and Ms. Anggi for their correspondences, Mr. Ken and his team for their efforts in welcoming us during our arrival, and not forget to mention the staffs in restaurants that are also friendly. Thank you Aston Braga.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virtualaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonBragaManagement, General Manager at Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Dear Virtualaris,
It has been a pleasure indeed and honored for being able serving you and the company meeting.

We are delighted that you had enjoyed the stay, the meeting and complimenting our breakfast quality, soon we'll have variety of ice cream serve on the breakfast buffet along with wafle station. We have taken note the lighting condition in the bathroom, we'll re-calculate the brightness level again and adjust it as necessary.

Thank you so much for staying with us and giving us such a positive comments. I will personally praise our staffs, Mr. Ken and concierge staffs as well Ms. Echy and the restaurant staffs. Their
effort of going further in every steps of service is proven to be correct.

Best Regards,
Imant Setiawan / General Manager Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung / gm@astonbraga.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    472
    201
    41
    18
See reviews for
477
63
42
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

It was already a bad decision to stay in the Braga area instead of the northern area of Bandung. But Aston made our experience even worse. After checking in, it took 1 HOUR for their employee to bring us our luggage to the room. It was really inconvenient.. and we were in a hurry. Luggage finally arrived after I called 3 times to check and ask what’s wrong with it. Took for ever to ask housekeeping to bring us anything, mostly because the old, slow elevator they have.
Public area (lobby, concierge, café) were under-sized and shabby, definitely not for claustrophobic, or clean freaks. Not enough open space and no effort to put some greens/flowers to soften the ‘sick building syndrome’ atmosphere that this hotel has. The main entrance to the hotel is thru the low-ceiling basement parking area, which was unpleasant and smelled like emission from the cars.
Found many dirty spots at the hotel. The most terrible was the dining chair and under the floor between non smoking area and smoking area in the dining room. While we were in the restaurant, some employees did noisy work on the ladder while their legs dangled from the ceiling. Hard to enjoy lunch with that kind of show going on. We ordered special lunch which was said to be ready in 12 minutes, but then we had to wait for almost half an hour.
Breakfast buffet offered so much variety which is good, but the quality was so bad! From tempe mendoan to potato garlic was not made by heart… in Bahasa Indonesia you could say “asal-asalan” to describe the food. My husband refers to this as ‘desperation food’ (food you eat to avoid starvation, but taste very unpleasant). So disappointing. Even the fruit platter was bad quality of fruits, slimy papaya and thirsty watermelon included.
Room was OK but a bit dull and dirty. The view from the room was also sad, because you can see Bandung’s poverty from here. Shower curtain was dirty and smelly. It was like they use the same shower curtain for the last 25 years.
One of the reasons we chose the hotel was because the review said it is adjacent to the mall named Braga City Walk. It turned out that the mall was more like a pitiful shopping mall, ITC-alike ready to close their business. Nothing artistic or cozy like Paris Van Java or Ciwalk. Unappealing, not stylish and lack of green areas. Braga street was also filthy, with a road highly in need of repairs, hot and noisy during the day, spooky and haunted at night. More businesses are closed than open. Not the Bandung experience I was looking for, and hotel Aston Braga was nowhere near worth the price I paid.

Dislike: All of the above!
Like: Despite all the bad experiences, I appreciated some of the employees’ kindness (I guess one of them named Irfan?) who made a great effort to help us with some advice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marthiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonBragaManagement, General Manager at Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Marthiany,

We would like to thank you so much for your honest review and we are deeply sorry that you had not enjoyed your stay with us.
All our restaurant chairs are in the process of upgrading and also the buffet areas and we have no smoking section within it. We have well noted your breakfast comments and we will try to improve it accordingly. The luggage issue has been investigated and our staff has missed to deliver your luggage in the appropriate timely manner. Indeed, we are really taking in consideration seriously every single comment in order to get better and and give our guest the best service. Thank you for praising our staff Irfan from the food & beverage department.

Braga Street might be the one oldest street in Bandung, it has been known since then with all those old buildings, some still being used by the owners some don't, however the street remain as it is and becoming photographers heaven, night and day. The street is also known now as the culinary destination lovers. As becoming an old city area, it has been surrounded by old housing complex, houses that you have seen was not shown a poverty, it was the old style roof Bandung housing. We considered it as your own personal opinion.

Once again thank you so much for your valuable feedback that really make us motivated to improve.

Best regards, Imant Setiawan. General Manager Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung. / gm@astonbraga.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel service is very good. Room also feel very comfortable until i can't wake up on time, need to use alarm.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lim074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonBragaManagement, General Manager at Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear Lim074,
Very much appreciate to have your review and looking forward very much to have you back and stay with us. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@astonbraga.com. Aston Braga Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

A very simple apartment concept hotel. value for money . good for families

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajandevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonBragaManagement, General Manager at Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear Rajandevan,
Thank you for your review. Indeed Aston Braga Bandung is located at a very strategic place, not only you can feel the real old Bandung ambiance over the Famous Braga Street, but also seeing many historical building surrounding us (best for taking pictures) and most especially for shop-lovers, we are very near to "Pasar Baru". Let me know in person if you would like to stay with us again, feel free to drop me an email to gm@astonbraga.com. Aston Braga Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

3rd time staying in Aston Bandung and as always had a memorable experience within.
Stayed in 3 bedrooms apartment unit with my family was best choice.
Location was perfect for weekend shopper and food lover. We walked down to Braga street which just behind the hotel, and then spend the rest of the day at Jalan Dago, 10 minutes away from the hotel.
The best part was booking trhough internet and get unbeatable price !
Room was clean, staff are always smiling and food was good - bravo to Aston Bandung !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonBragaManagement, General Manager at Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Riradi,
Greetings from Paris Van Java....!
We would like to thank you so much for your review and glad that you had enjoyed your stay. It has been wonderfull seeing you again with us and hoping to see you and the family come back soon. Imant Setiawan. General Manager. Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Bandung
Crowne Plaza Bandung
#17 of 224 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.5 km away
Novotel Bandung
Novotel Bandung
#19 of 224 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Royal Panghegar
Grand Royal Panghegar
#35 of 224 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Bandung
Holiday Inn Bandung
#29 of 224 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 km away
Gino Feruci Braga Hotel
Gino Feruci Braga Hotel
#42 of 224 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Bandung Braga
Ibis Styles Bandung Braga
#31 of 224 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung

Property: Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung
Address: Jl. Braga no. 99-101 | Braga Citiwalk, Bandung 40111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bandung
#15 Business Hotel in Bandung
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
Price range (per night): RM214 - RM576
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Braga Hotel & Residence is a four-star hotel property, located in the central of Bandung and adjacent to the shopping arcade of Braga City Walk. An average 20-minute drive from Airport, 5 minutes from Train Station, 20 minutes from Rumah Mode Factory Outlet, Cihampelas and Dago Shopping distance, will ensure you that we are in a strategic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Aston Braga Hotel & Residence, Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Braga Hotel Bandung
Aston Bandung Hotel Residence
Bandung Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing