We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
favehotel MEX Surabaya
Ranked #43 of 137 Hotels in Surabaya
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Strange layouts. Upon arrival you need to take lift to 3rd floor where the reception and room are located. Standard 18sqm room doesn't have windows, so consider 20sqm superior room for a sunrise alarm.
Many bars, restaurant and bistro in front of the hotel, so having a quick and nice meal should not be a problem. Tak a little 500 m walk to get to nearest shopping mall.
This hotel I believe deserves 3 bullets for its location and hospitality. However the worst and most dangerous iron I've ever got in my life(see picture) derates the hotel two steps down. It's an electrical appliance, so I don't want to take risk.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Nanang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faveMEX, Front Office Manager at favehotel MEX Surabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Mr. Nanang

Thank you so much for choosing Fave Mex Hotel Surabaya and tell us your experience during your stay. Please let us give you our sincerest apologize because our inconvenience. We're so sorry if your experience didn't meet your expectation. We will fix our facilities as soon as possible and We hope we could meet you again in Fave Mex Hotel Surabaya and give you a better experience. Sincerely, Malpin Pagau - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel located just near Tunjungan Mall, the biggest mall in town. Just walk about 5-10 minutes. A lot of restaurants in front of hotel . But you can hear the next door people talking. And I have a little problem when my room card didn't work to open the floor door. Need to go down to reception counter to get help

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ZaimAzfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faveMEX, Manager at favehotel MEX Surabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Mohd Z,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the fave hotel Mex Surabaya. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have noticed your feedback and share with our whole team. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Warm regards,

Malpin Pagau
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located in a very strategic location which is near with many shoping center, such as Tunjungan mall. Walking distance to some other places around especially at night will feel a really metropolitan city. Unfortunatelly staying only 1 night, but it was really enjoying especially with the arround area

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Bi-Suksma99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faveMEX, Manager at favehotel MEX Surabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Bi- Suksma99,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable experience with us. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. We wish to see you again for your next staying in the near future.

Best Regards,

Malpin Pagau
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Vero good location near by Tunjungan Plaza mall, clean and room for a good prize,,I recomended to every one who like to be in The center town and a welcome hotel..near by places to eat, Indonesian but also KFC and McDonald's

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faveMEX, Manager at favehotel MEX Surabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Mr. Johnny K,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable experience with us, we are very pleased to be in your choice. We always do our best to meet our guest need, however some may not fit our service and we apology for this, and of course we will take all actions necessary to improve our service quality,

We wish to see you again in your next visit to feel our betterment.

Best regards,

Malpin Pagau
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

This hotel is great for a working traveler like me. It is located on the center city of Surabaya and the great mall is only a walking distance away. It is also surrounded by few interesting restaurants and cafes. On the plus side, this hotel also have its 24 hour restaurant. The food is not bad either, however the breakfast choice is limited but still nice. It has a mini working desk and lamp which help me to work at night. Also, it has a vending machine and coffee machine which is so helpful during the night. Plus, there is a taxi pool outside, so mobility wouldn't be an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faveMEX, Manager at favehotel MEX Surabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Gita D,

Thank you for choosing fave Mex Hotel Surabaya as place to stay, on behalf on Management please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced, We regret to hear that your experience did not meet your expectation. We will address your concern in regards to our team for further review and we will take all action necessary to improve our service quality. We do hope that you will accept our sincerest apology and to have opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel

Best Regards,

Malpin Pagau
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.1 km away
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#22 of 137 in Surabaya
382 reviews
1.1 km away
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
#29 of 137 in Surabaya
341 reviews
1.6 km away
Red Planet Surabaya
Red Planet Surabaya
#11 of 137 in Surabaya
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Artotel Surabaya
Artotel Surabaya
#10 of 137 in Surabaya
523 reviews
3.4 km away
Arcadia Surabaya Hotel
Arcadia Surabaya Hotel
#50 of 137 in Surabaya
293 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel NEO Gubeng
Hotel NEO Gubeng
#33 of 137 in Surabaya
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to favehotel MEX Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel MEX Surabaya

Address: Jl. Pregolan no. 1-5 | Mex Building, Surabaya 60262, Indonesia (Formerly Fave Hotel Surabaya)
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 137 Hotels in Surabaya
Price Range: RM83 - RM111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel MEX Surabaya 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish room.in the heart of Surabaya’s just a short stroll of Tunjungan Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your favehotel MEX Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing