We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$38
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$38/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$27
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$77
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA(Surabaya)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$27
US$19
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
152
393
240
100
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
393
240
100
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolgarden viewhotel areanice poolspacious roomtaxigymleisuredoormanpurposefoods
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

This is a three star hotel that can easily be a four with some very easy attention to detail and staff training.

Very nice old school design to the hotel, nice grounds, nice pool, mostly friendly staff. The hotel is 3 floors in a U shape with a 7-8 floor tower towards the top of the U. Main rooms have been renovated but a while ago since the furniture shows some stains. The tower has suites and older style rooms. Food is pretty good and the pool is very nice.

This hotel can easily be rated higher with minor improvements. First the towels are not old they are just grey with no remaining threads, also breakfast area staff although nice could be improved. Even in a small hotels in Indonesia they serve you tea or coffee but not here, you must get your own and from a coffee machine with 6-7 buttons and no instructions on which to press. Also you need to get your own eating utensils. Novotel service??

The blonde girl staff at the pool towel/gym area was too busy watching her phone to offer help. Just keep saying waiting for area manager instead of calling for him, really?? Lastly most annoying was the peanuts we found on the floor near the fridge which remained the entire 3 days we were there, never cleaned up probably still there on the floor.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Howard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Mr. Howard I,

Thank you for staying with Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites and for taking your time to share with us on your stay experience.

We are happy to know that you have wonderful times during your stay. However, we have note several issue on the towels, our Gym Attendant, breakfast experience, and others. We regrets this happened during your stay. Please rest assures that we are taking an appropriate measure to resolve this.

We look forward to welcoming you back anytime in the future. Thank you

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

location: in city center but traffic is bad here in surabaya so it takes time to some major attractions like Sampoerna, Tunjungan Plaza, etc. half an hour car ride, at least.

enviroment & facilities: very comfortable resort hotel but it's an old building. didn't use the gym but the machines look okay from outside. wanted to use the whirlpool and sauna but smell weirdly while enter the area.

room: our rooms are newly refurbished but not every thing in the room is new. bed frame is old, the skirting of the bed frame is torn. soap holder (please change it!) is terrible, toilet bowl is new but toilet seat is old. wall paper on one side is new, on the other side is old. wardrobe is new but the hangers inside are rusted! room size is great, very spacious and the king size bed is huge but pillows are not comfortable. room size is good for parents with young kid.

dining: breakfast is okay, not too special. tried the buffet dinner, we were the only guests. price is very affordable but food quality and taste didn't meet my expectation.

service: friendly staffs. i'll rate the hotel itself 3 stars and 1 more star for the service.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StanUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear StanUP,

Thank you for staying with Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites. We are happy to know that you have a wonderful time during your stay at the hotel. However, we regrets that there are still few issues that surely needs to be improved. We have note on your concerns and we feel grateful that you pointed very specifically on it. Please rest assures that we are taking an appropriate measure to resolve this. Thank you

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Suprise suprise! After my last visit a year ago, and a strong complain straight to asia head office singapore, a changement done by 100%. Breakfast aeria is clean, coffemachines clean; pingnions outsid who was .... on tabels and taking food away when turning only arround; gone! Stuff is taking care instead looking hp's. All fasilities now get cleaned up in time . Bravo managment. Now please keep it this way.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank PaulJoseph22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel ambience makes me feel relax although it was a business trip.
The bed is comfortable enough, and the service is excellent!
I am happy with the fast response of the staff. I told them that there was leakage in the shower room, and fixed when I got back in the afternoon.
Several things that I recorded as improvements needed are :
Tea bar / table above refrigerator was dirty, as also their glasses.
Wifi in the whole area was sucks! I can’t even download my email. I was there for business, so I need to work and wifi is a minimum requirement.
Fitness room was dump and dusty.2 of your 3 Treadmills were error, I still can use 1, but then error after my first 30mnt.
Your mini zoo looks neglected and smell.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank imelda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Imelda r,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us you experience. We are pleased to know that you have wonderful time during your stay. However, we regrets that there are few lapses that we agree it needs to improve. Please rest assure we are following this up. Thank you

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Stayed at the Novotel Surabaya directly after staying at Novotel Semarang. Noticeable difference in customer service and facilities.
Check in Semarang Friendly and helpful - Surabaya one person servicing check in and check out. Although people were waiting.
Semarang welcome drink - No welcome drink Surabaya
Great restaurant service Semarang - Surabaya, staff could not cope with the number of people in the restaurant. No coffee for a long period of time at breakfast, tables were not cleared, no cutlery on tables.
Semarang plenty of seating in lobby area - Surabaya no seating available in lobby area when waiting for pick-up each day.
Room was clean in Surabaya but towels very well worn.
Overall, the hotel has dropped in standard compared to several years ago and the Semarang equivalent provided a friendlier experience.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Mr. Robert G,

Thank you for staying with Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suite

Having read to your concerns, we sincerely apologize that you have to undergone such experience. We addressed this issue boldly to our team at F&B and Front Office for further improvement. On the other note, we are currently on process of procuring the new brand standard towels. We hope that should you return to stay again with us, you will experience the new one.

Again, thank you for your feedback as this is highly important to us. Thank you

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews