We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
RM 360
Booking.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,940)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveller rating
1,359
404
118
31
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,359
404
118
31
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station city hall nice hotel business trip pleasant stay many choices breakfast menu shopping mall apartment security gym indonesia varieties ms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2019

Hotel's building was very luxury, the room was very comfortable and large. Hotel staff was very nice. This hotel near Merdeka walk, a place where you can hang out with friend till very night.
Try chinese restaurant there named Jilong chinese Restaurant, discount 40% for alacarte menu and the food was very good.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silence_soul22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrandAstonMedan, General Manager at Grand Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Dear silence_soul22,

It's great to hear that you found our hotel to be nice and thank you for your kind review. Do you know that we have other Chinese Restaurant called' Empress', which is also offering a 40% discount? Do try it out on your next visit to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Silvey Tangkilisan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2019 via mobile

A good place to stay, the room are cozy and comfortable. Moreover, the staff are polite and friendly. the breakfast was also very good. Anyway it's worth to stay because it's in center area, which in front of them are Merdeka Walk, issa a nice place to hangout at night.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ypt1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrandAstonMedan, General Manager at Grand Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Dear ypt1994,

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted to hear that you have had a good stay. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon!

Warm regards,

Silvey Tangkilisan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

You should think twice to held an event especially for corporate event here.
1st , you should be more extra patience with the staff attitude and service. They are not friendly and deft.
2nd, anything you need during meeting, you will get additional charge (they are not flexible to give something as complement)
3rd, they lack of initiative, so make sure you request all the requirement before meeting in super details or you will get trouble during the meeting day

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank valentineiskandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrandAstonMedan, General Manager at Grand Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Dear valentineiskandar,

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you have experienced unacceptable service from us. We value your input and take it as a mean to improve our overall services. Your comments have been shared with the staff in-charge during the event, so they would know exactly what to work on. Once again, I apologize for your unpleasant experience and let me assure you that this is an incidental occurrence and definitely not our service standard.

Yours sincerely,

Silvey Tangkilisan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2019

Service at cafe very bad. Hotel room some wooden already peel off and old. TV set for this stay too old version and too little channel compare with other hotel that I stay Medan. I won't choose this hotel in future if I go Medan

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank heanlim2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrandAstonMedan, General Manager at Grand Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Dear heanlim2000,

Thank you for your review and I'm really sorry to hear that your stay had been a disappointment. We will continue to strive to improve our hotel services. With regard to the television set, we have gradually started to replace it. Once again I apologize for the unpleasant experience.

Yours sincerely,

Silvey Tangkilisan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2019

Stayed here for 1 night and was given a smoking room despite requesting for a non smoking room. However, the hotel did set up an ioniser in my room to eliminate the smell but it wasn't successful.

There was a short power cut-off too while I was in the room and surprisingly the generator set did not kicked in to provide the supply which would have been normal in most 5 star hotels.

Breakfast was pretty local and not much of international foods served. Nonetheless, the staff did try their best to accommodate our request. Coffee could be better too.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Muzammil_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrandAstonMedan, General Manager at Grand Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2019

Dear Muzammil,

Thank you for your review and I apologize if we fail to impress you during your stay. I hope the next stay will be better. With regard to the generator set, usually there is a maximum of 20 seconds lapse before it starts to kick in. Do tell us about your coffee preference and will try our best to prepare it for you on your next stay.

Yours sincerely,

Silvey Tangkilisan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews