We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
RM 168
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Komator
Barcelona, Spain
Great hotel in Medan
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Nov 2023
To travel from Java to Sumatra, we had to spend a night in Medan, and we found the Harper Wahid Hotel. It's a modern, clean, and comfortable hotel. It's quite well-located, and the staff is very friendly. The buffet breakfast was very good.
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 206
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 318
RM 267
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 154
RM 137
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 207
RM 179
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 157
RM 129
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 112
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
2.9 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Gedung Cambridge Hotel Medan
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 293
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 276
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 228
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Medan
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
27
17
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
17
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2022

Staying for two nights in their most basic room.

The moment i entered the room, i know this is such a good bargain and definitely best value for similar hotel at its level.

Room was super clean, very well maintained, definitely 5 star level of maintenance. Its spacious and bed is super comfy (quite firm which i prefer), even bolster is provided! there is small fridge, safe deposit box, electronic water kettle with large mug and instant coffees / teas. The hotel doesn't provide daily bottled water, but instead, they provide water jug which i can always refill from dispenser right outside my room (room tips: choose any room with 07, the dispenser is right outside your door). There are lazy chair with small round table and ergonomic working chair by the desk. Aircon works very well to beat Medan heat. Overall, room is very spacious!

Bathroom is also sparking clean, toilet is shining white and no sewage smell at all. its really that clean. kudos to the cleaning team. toiletries provided is basic. special mention to the wooden toothbrush and branded toothpaste. Bathtowel is huge and thick. Shower is very strong with very easy to adjust heating.

i didn't opt in for breakfast, so can't review on that. Alternatively, Medan has plenty option for local breakfast.

Although the hotel doesn't have fancy swimming pools or gym, but the cleanliness and quality of the room makes up.

My only complain is the internet can get unstable / slow especially during the night. The receptionist refused to bring the food i order online upstair (while their cleaning staff said it was okay). One day i called and requested to get my room clean up when i grab breakfast outside, but when i returned the room is not yet cleaned, they said the room cleaning takes turn (i wasn't informed on this when i called).

but overall, its really good hotel for the price. highly recommended

Room tip: room no 07, because the dispenser is right outside your room
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edi Suprayetno, General Manager at Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2022

Dear Sandycolondam,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day, especially the housekeeping team. We do Sorry for the internet service that did not match your needs and also the cleaning times did not match your expectation. We will maintain the availability of internet bandwith more effectively and keep arranging room cleaning schedule more tightly. Once again thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely yours,
Harper Wahid Hasyim-Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2022 via mobile

The new hotel in town,room was quite spacious and clean..all the staffs were friendly and helpful since arrival till check out,specially the front office team.no complain at all,everything is great.the coffee cold brew was really below expectation,need to improve.the rest I really reccomend this hotel,and will com back here soon..

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank HOKI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2021

The first time to stay in Harper Wahid Hasyim - Medan. Really enjoy having a clean room and very good hospitality from all of the staff. I really enjoy it because the location is quite strategic. The breakfast experience also really outstanding. A warm service by the staff, especially thanks to Edwin - FB, because he really takes good care of us during breakfast and the food is also good. I love the lontong sayur medan. Bravo for the chef. I am really sure for the next trip to Medan, Harper Wahid Hasyim Medan is the best option for us because the hotel overall is good for many reasons.

Room tip: Best Views
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank friska_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2020

All is beyond the expectation, room and bed is big, any smoking room, quiet area, many coffee and traditional food shops near the hotel and nice play to relax with my wife, thank you harper, will come bsck soon.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nugrohoprasetyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2020

Our stay was very enjoyable! Not only it's really clean, service was friendly, and good value for money, what we like most was the fact that the hotel try to support free plastic environment! Will definitely stay here again when we visit Medan.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank masita2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews