We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Firdaus A
Batam Center, Indonesia

Quiet place to get rest

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2015via mobile
I've been travel to Medan for many times. Tried many hotels but this hotel is good. 5 minutes to Sun Plaza, near to Grand Mosque of North Sumatera and the staff was nice. You only need spent 600k to get Executive room with bathtub inside.
Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
RM 275
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    RM 264
  • Vio.com
    RM 260
  • Hotels.com
    RM 283
0.6 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 179
  • Priceline
    RM 171
  • Agoda.com
    RM 163
  • Trip.com
    RM 190
0.9 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 212
  • Priceline
    RM 216
  • Trip.com
    RM 207
  • Expedia.com
    RM 265
2.5 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
RM 179
  • Priceline
    RM 192
  • Agoda.com
    RM 158
  • Expedia.com
    RM 207
1.2 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
RM 108
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 100
  • Agoda.com
    RM 95
  • Vio.com
    RM 97
1.1 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 267
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 276
  • Agoda.com
    RM 236
  • Vio.com
    RM 248
1.0 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 141
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 125
  • Agoda.com
    RM 119
  • Expedia.com
    RM 126
1.9 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Trip.com
RM 97
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    RM 89
  • Vio.com
    RM 92
  • StayForLong
    RM 136
0.3 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 76
  • Priceline
    RM 76
  • Trip.com
    RM 63
  • Expedia.com
    RM 86
1.2 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 148
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 131
  • Expedia.com
    RM 124
  • Hotels.com
    RM 129
1.3 km from Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Medan
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
15
50
39
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
50
39
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2015

When we tried to inquire about their functions rooms and asked for proposal, the sales person - Kyla did not entertain us properly, she sent me insufficient details, no rates, no menu...so we tried to call her over again, on the last part of the conversation she asked if our requirement is urgent because she cannot attend to because she has a lot more things to do. This person don't know how to prioritize. Who know's we'e a valid customer, she misses chance of gaining a customer because of her negligence.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Tiara Hotel is placed centrally in Medan in proximity of shops and a department store. The place is however quite and spacious. The room is large and well equipped, also with free WiFi. Beds are fine and in the room does not lack refrigerator or safe. Staff is friendly and helpful. There was however a number trainees at reception who unfortunately, knew very little and had hardly any backup by the permanent staff. As a result, their advises or info was either very limited or wrong. The hotel offers an excellent choice of food during the breakfast. The only point of critique of the hotel is the provision of only one key card per room. Not handy as the same card has to be used both for the elevator and the room. Being a couple, one had either to walk the stairs or leave the partner in dark. The hotel can solve this problem easily and provide for double room 2 key cards.

Room tip: For double room, ask for 2 key cards, the same card is needed for both the room and the elevator.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

It's surprising whether such a place like this hotel in jammed packed city like Medan. Located in the small road lining with trees, Tiara hotel is like oasis among crowd and packed townhouses of metropolitan medan. Just cross the road , you will reach the SunPlaza luxurious department store. This hoel looked old but well-decorated and good maintenance , this will make you have pleasant stay in Medan. Breakfast is very good and local food is tasty. I had a very pleasant time during my stay here.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jajavalB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Tiara Medan Hotel for two nights on our first trip to Medan. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak good English.
The location is good, short walking distance for shopping and eating and the sights aren't too far either.
Room was clean and well kept though we did have a leaky shower/bathtub.
Great buffet breakfast with a variety of dishes to suit all tastes.
Only negative would be the very slow wifi and the fact it times out and you have to login over and over. Being that we were trying to plan and book the rest of our travels through Sumatra during our stay here, it proved very frustrating.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank N1075XWamyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

this hotel was old in this city, but this is the best hotel i think.
the service was perfect and really enjoy to stay again with this hotel, stay good and always ve the best hotel in medan,room is good and very clean

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mvittoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews