We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Charming and warm”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This Inn was such an unexpected delight. I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor, but this little gem far exceeded our expectations. It is a quaint and beautifully restored property that has all the amenities of a first rate hotel. The owners, Jeff and Benay Katz saw to our every need. The breakfasts were no less than outstanding. Coffee and snacks were available in the beautiful community living room 24 hours a day. They even prearranged dinner reservations for us before we arrived.
And as if that were not enough, Jeff is a most knowledgeable and energetic tour guide. He traveled to meet us so that we could see all the places of interest between Tel Aviv and Safed before dark.
I can't say enough good things about this rare find. If you are looking for a place to stay in Safed, don't miss The Artists' Colony Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
189
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west harrison, ny
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Artist Colony Inn. Our family of 5 stayed in 2 rooms (Avital and Lianna). The inn was very charming with welcoming hosts. Safed was a nice location to use as a home base while touring the Galilee. Jeff took us a great tour of Safed for a morning which was very enjoyable. Snacks were always available and breakfast was delicious!

Note: The inn is located on a side street that doesn't allow cars, so you need to wheel/carry your luggage from the street to the inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bres235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Artists Colony Inn is an absolutely stunning B&B - the room was beautiful and every little detail was taken care off. Jeff and Benay were so welcoming and accomodating, recommending tour options, dinner plans, etc. The breakfasts are amazing and this is honestly the nicest place I've ever stayed at! Book early and enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada_Canada6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

If you are looking for accommodation in Sefat, stop wasting time and book a room at the Artist Colony Inn now to make sure you don't miss out. Seriously, read this quickly and book. Trust me. Jeff and Benay will treat you like family, opening up their home to you as if you are part of their family. The location couldn't be better. The rooms are brilliant. Breakfast is excellent. Their advice is accurate and well worth considering. Sefat is a special place and the Artist Colony Inn will enhance your experience. I can't recommend it strongly enough without sounding like I have shares in the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Were should I begin? It’s hard to add anything to the reviews already written on this place and every word is true. We stayed at the art Colony for two nights. And it was a beautiful experience. First about the hosts Jeff and Benay you couldn’t find nicer more Helpful and interesting people to host you than this couple, they will do everything to make your stay worth every penny. Jeff’s insight and knowledge as a tour guide was fascinating and he was very generous with his time planning our whole day of touring and among his many recommendations he directed us to a great winery Adir in Dalton.

The breakfasts were fresh delicious and mouth watering made for us by Benay whenever we got up. Fresh snacks pastry’s fruit etc. and drinks throughout the whole day.

The room was as beautiful and clean and charming décor as advertised and even nicer, which unfortunately is not the norm in hotel advertising Beautiful bathroom with Jacuzzi clean crisp linen Robes and slippers towels etc.

It was a fabulous stay and I would recommend it to anyone going to Safed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOl18Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 km away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
551 reviews
0.3 km away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#3 of 5 in Safed
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
20.8 km away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.1 km away
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Property: Artists' Colony Inn
Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price range (per night): RM893 - RM1,172
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing