We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$522
US$482
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Resort & Spa(Beau Vallon)
US$410
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$432
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$383/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$716
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa(Anse Louis)
US$1,806
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,683
US$1,527
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,113)
Filter reviews
4,113 results
Traveller rating
2,528
1,054
339
129
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,528
1,054
339
129
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth beachadam evejunior suitehalf boardzip linezee barrock climbingeve restaurantcyann restaurantspa villaour honeymoonlarge resortfamily villamain buffetdrinks are expensivedress codeshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
1,653 - 1,658 of 4,113 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Everything what is written by other travellers who were impressed by the Constance Ephelia, is true.
It is probably the most beautiful place on Mahé, it has a superb staff and even if the hotel is fully booked, you will still find it is a quiet place, you will still find free sun beds, you will still have a nice table in one of the excellent restaurants, you will still find staff that is ready to help you. The big advantage of this hotel is its overcapacity: there is simply enough of everything for anyone.
It is a bit expensive, but it is worth every penny.

We would highly recommend this hotel, and if we come back some day, we will stay here again!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JC_and_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My family, which includes three teenagers, spent one week at this resort in a beach villa. The property is located about 45 minutes from the airport on a large plot of land with two beaches, intact rain forest and landscaped gardens. Our villa was clean and comfortable with lovely linens, 5 star bathrooms and excellent audio visual equipment including free movies and lots of music which my kids appreciated. The north beach is one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen anywhere. The snorkelling was excellent, the sailing quite challenging in the bay and the beach breathtakingly beautiful. We tried paddle boarding and kayaking in this bay and saw turtles, rays and reef sharks as well as many types of fish. Kayaking in the mangroves was also interesting as we learned a lot about this specialized ecosystem. A very pleasant surprise were two short hikes on the property; one to a deserted beach and the other to stunning cliffs with steps carved down to the sea. The forest is pristine and very wild. We didn't expect to see such interesting plants and birds in this location. We also did some rock climbing and zip lining, again on site which was fun and educational. Food was good and plentiful although nothing exceptional. We only ate one meal at the main restaurant as it felt a bit industrial serving so many people. We found the service excellent throughout our stay. If we asked for anything staff went out of their way to help. The staff is very international which helped ensure that specific needs could be met. We visited the spa and used the onsite gym / squash court which were both very well designed. Service in the spa was super but the treatments are quite pricey.
One disadvantage is that the resort is spread over quite a large area. We used bicycles to get around which was convenient and easy for my family as we all ride regularly. There are shuttle buses (golf carts) for those people who do not ride bikes but this may discourage people from moving around the resort. My teenagers also said they missed motorized activities in the ocean which are not possible as the resort is in / near a marine park. While in the Seychelles we visited another beach and ate at a couple of places outside of the resort. It was good to learn more about Mahe but the best of what we saw was on site at Constance Ephelia. I would highly recommend this resort to other families or couples. It is fine for solo travellers although there was not much interaction between guests even in the bars

Room Tip: We preferred the North beach and the beach villas were absolutely fantastic.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We booked 14 nights at this resort in october. Our room was the standard junior suite which was more than enough with a large bed, bath, TV, walk in shower, outside terrace as we were downstairs and the usual mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities and complemenary wifi. We were located right next to the pool (the quietest one of the 4) part of Helios. The resort itself is beautiful located right in the middle of a mangrove forest which meant the wildlife was very near, to the extent twice we had giant crabs literally knocking at our door in the morning; in the seychelles breakfast comes to you! The food at the main restaurant was fantastic, cuisine from all over the world with different themed buffets every night; the arabic night and the lamb tagine are to die for! We could never eat 3 meals a day so we opted for half board, and even then we could never eat a 3 course main meal and only 4 times had a pudding which was usually ice cream; their pineapple and orange ice creams are a must. The resort has so much to do, using the TV guide you could never get bored at the resort itself with ziplining, the spa, bike excursions, the gym and various other activities to take part in, this would be in addition to any tours you wanted to do off the resort. We were very lucky with the weather it was very very hot most of the time we were there. My husband unfortunately ended up with an ear infection through diving so the second week we spent mostly by the phone in our room waiting for the resort doctor to call for him to have his treatement daily, so we never managed to do any island hopping which would have been nice, but that means if we decide to return to the Seychelles we can do that in the future. The staff at the resort are brilliant, Valerie who cleaned our room most days was extremely thorough and we always knew when she had been in by the lovely smell and the general cleanliness. Our waiters for the main restaurant were always friendly and had our table ready in the mornings and evenings always there to attend to your needs. All in all a very very good resort and very impressed with their eco-friendliness and how they have developed this resort. The only glitch (apart from my husbands illness) was the fact we were in the same block as most of the Emirates flight staff, and we were awake most mornings at 0530hrs with the "trolly dollies" clip clip clip of their high heels on the floors above us when ready to depart, but saying all that we could always go back to sleep. I do have to make mention of the ground staff who worked tirelessly in the gardens sweeping leaves and planting new plants; except one of them in particular, we had a gang of about 3 consisting of 2 females and one male, and one particular female was the laziest member of that group I have ever seen, the other 2 did all her work for her whilst she managed to sit on her backside doing nothing; If I managed this resort I would pay more attention to what they were up to because tourists on holiday who have nothing better to do notice things like this! I would definitely recommend this resort and am also looking at their Helaveli resort in the Maldives for our next holiday.

Room Tip: We were in the 400 block of junior suites by Helios which is the quietest of the 4 pools and right next to the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pittbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Located an hour of so from the airport, the hotel is built on a beautiful 120 hectare (300 acre) plot of land. Owing to the size, the resort is split into North side and South side, each with its own offering of restaurants, pools, beaches etc. The design and architecture is truly breath taking, supplementing the natural beauty of the area.

Apart from the main dining hall, there are 4 other restaurants (one is currently closed for renovations). Food quality is good, but you need to book in advance. There is an impressive wine selection.

Each room has an excellent entertainment system, built on a Mac mini. The architect has done an excellent job to create visually pleasing rooms, however, in my opinion the design is not always attuned to practical living. For instance, in the senior suites, the bathroom has plenty of space, but not enough space is provided for toiletries. There is no reading light in the beautiful balcony. The villas, in particular the mountain ones, are spectacular. Each has a magnificent view, with private pool.

However, the disappointing aspect is service. The hotel employs 850 or so staff, with a third or so being imported staff. There is some staff (in particular management) providing a truly exceptional service, but unfortunately the majority seems to forget or ignore the fact that they are in the service industry. Some call it the "tropical island mentality", which is exasperated by socialist way of governing and thinking. During our stay, we had interesting and lengthy discussions with the management team. They were extremely aware of the need to improve in this area and they are implementing various schemes to motivate staff more. With focus and persistence, I am sure the management team can succeed.

Despite having so many pools, none were great for kids under the age of 4. The pool at the kids' club is designed with a relatively steep slope, which makes it difficult for young kids to run around without falling.

Apart from the shortcomings listed above, this really is a great resort with some stunning views and beaches. We had many discussions with management on our feedback and they do acknowledge the shortcomings. I very much hope these can be addressed, as this could be a truly unbeatable offering if service is improved a few notches.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel is a very high end resort with excellent beaches and excellent accommodations. The service is 5 stars, with very well maintained grounds and the staff spares no attention to detail. The resort has very large grounds with two great beaches and many pools. There are not many people here for the size so there are no crowds. Here are the pros and cons of the resort as I see them.

Pros
The place is 5 stars and the amenities match the rating.
The beaches are some of the nicest I have ever been to.
There are many great places to hang out and laze in the sun. Two beaches, multiple pools with lots of sun beds all around and there is alot of privacy.
The rooms are very spacious with a nice bed, bathroom and a huge deck.
The food is very good and well prepared.
The staff is very polite and the resort caters to any request or needs that you might have.
There are many more pros for this place.

Cons
This is a high end resort with a price to match. This is not a bargain vacation destination so don't expect it.
The resort is out of the way so there are not any other places to eat at and the restaurants are very expensive. Dinners will run at least 150 Euros for two with wine.
They close all of the snack bars at 5PM so you have to eat at the expensive restaurants for dinner.
Our room was a bit tired but still very nice. Some of the wood furniture had signs of wear but it was not an issue. We had a Jr. Suite and it was very nice none the less.
The south beach has broken glass along the shoreline so beware. We would pick up several pieces each and every day. Not sure if the locals are doing this on purpose. Your holiday could be ruined in a heartbeat if you step on some of the pieces we collected. I think the resort should address this.


All in all it is a fantastic place and a great destination and I would definitely go back and recommend anyone to stay here. You will have a great time. Especially if you just want to hang out at the beach and pool and do nothing but relax.
Driving is a trip here, you better have good skills and lots of confidence because the roads are very narrow with large drop-offs on both sides so beware, I got use to this after a time.
It's a beautiful island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jr Suite, We did have a pretty nice view but were next to the Adam and Eve resturant. Some people probably would have not been thrilled with the location but it was fine with us. We were close to the pool and the beach I actually got a very good rate on the room. The upgraded rooms are very expensive.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews