We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$185
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amarit Hotel(Bentota)
US$43
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aayu's Guest House(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
US$124
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$350
US$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveller rating
838
551
181
56
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
551
181
56
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreeze restaurantchatters barfrangipani restaurantsri lankasuperior rooma la carte restaurantbeautiful locationgreat beachdinner buffetbuffet stylethe ground floorspecial thankspool stafftrain linepalm treesfront officerestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We stayed here for 5 nights in a deluxe room with our 2 boys aged 8 and 12.
We arrived on my husbands birthday and were surprised with a lovely birthday message on our bed, bottle of wine, fruit bowl and they even bought in a personalised delicious birthday cake. All the staff came to greet him and give their wishes which made us feel very welcomed.
All the staff from reception, cleaners, pool staff and wait staff are so friendly and professional. We didn't have one negative experience.
We had half board and found both breakfast and dinner buffet had a great selection with different options everyday. And an amazing selection of cakes and sweets which our kids took great advantage of.
The grounds and the pools were always spotless and yes, there are signs of age in some areas but the hotel is planning renovations in the off season. A bit of rust here and there definitely didn't spoil our stay.
Compared to other places stayed and visited along the coast we're glad we spent a majority of our time at Bentota. Plenty to do and see outside the hotel too with some great restaurant options near by. It's a bonus having the train station so close and in our deluxe room you could hardly hear the trains at all during the night.
A big shout out to Aeijh and Upul, the pool staff who always came to greet us daily and have a chat.
Can highly recommend this place especially if you have kids as there is loads of space for them to run and enjoy without bothering other guests. Must do the nearby turtle sanctuary too. We went back in the evening and our boys got to release baby turtles in to the ocean which was a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Ground floor deluxe room is perfect for families
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daviddesilvaavani, Operations Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Keirsten,

Thank you for sharing such a delightful review of the time you spent with us. It is reviews and feedback such as yours that motivate us to strive harder. I was delighted to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely

David de Silva
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

A lovely almost colonial style hotel set in absolutely beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed our stay at the Avani as it was relatively peaceful, stunning beaches, good food and very friendly staff. Our room was spacious, clean and had a view of the ocean. Yes, the hotel does need refurbishing in parts and a general tidy up. However, we loved the personable friendly staff, the tired look of the place just added to the charm and it was a pleasant relief to get away from all the mod cons. Bentota is largely unspoilt by tourism compared to other similar places in the world, enjoy it's tranquil beauty while it lasts.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistryMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daviddesilvaavani, Operations Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Mistry,
Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of your stay with us. I was delighted to read that overall you had a lovely time at our resort and we hope you will come back for a longer visit.

Sincerely
David de Silva
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a fantastic time
The Hotel is right on the beach with two lovely pools, the Hotel is colonial in style and over 50 years old it shows signs of age but it adds to its charm. We stayed on a half board basis. Breakfast and dinner, very relaxed buffet style. Lots of choice mainly curry based for dinner with a few Western choice meat dishes. I am a fussy vegetarian and could eat well every night. A big shout out to the pattiserie Chef for the amazing sweets/puddings and Revuka for the Egg Hoppers in the mornings a must try...
I cannot praise ALL the staff enough from gardeners to General Manager, so friendly and obliging. We were lucky enough to be in Sri Lanka for Sinhalese New Year and enjoyed celebrating the traditions at the Hotel with the Staff and families. The room was great teo bottles of water every day in the fridge and all cleaned to a very high standard, comfortable bed and lovely walk in shower.
There is a train track beside the Hotel but it certainly never impacted on us at all and our room was right by it. Unless you are used to a very rural location it shouldn't be a problem to you either
We travelled to Galle on the train from the station beside Hotel and used a tuk tuk which was a great experience. Just agree a price per KM about 90 rupees is usual and they will show you pictures of local destinations and take you there. If you are happy at the end give them a nice tip ( we were very happy and gave the chap £20 in rupees)
We loved the Avani and Bentota because it is easygoing no silly rules and regs and has a friendly feel to the place.
We would love to return and really hope the upcoming reburbishement does not detract from this Hotels lovely atmosphere.
Well done and THANK YOU to All the Staff and the New Manager who seems to have a nice manner with guests and staff.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank KerenCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daviddesilvaavani, Operations Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Kerencav,

Thank you for the rating and for sharing such a lovely review of the time spent with us. It was a pleasure to read your review and to know that overall you enjoyed the time spent with us.

We hope you will come back again for a longer visit.

Sincerely
David de Silva
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Tatty marked rooms with exposed electrical wiring and faulty lights. Trip hazards all around the pool, whole place needs a refurb. Nice long beach, very quiet apart from being right next to the Colombo- galle train line, first train is at 3am.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daviddesilvaavani, Operations Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Dan,

Firstly thank you for having selected to stay with us and for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback based on your stay with us. My sincere apologies if we did not meet your expectations during this visit. The overall hotel will; be undergoing a soft renovation from May to July this year which will definitely add to the ambiance of the hotel.

Please do visit us again after July.

Sincerely
David de Silva
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

This is a huge hotel set on acres of lawn and gardens. It is right on the beach. The rooms are large and clean. The breakfast is great and the whole ambience is lovely and relaxing. We looked for the best beach to stay for our last few days in Sri Lanka. While it is a beautiful beach it is quite rough and because of rips the beach was closed on several days. This was disappointing as we had a 4 year old who wanted to swim. The pool made up for it though. The only negative, the pool has no shade until 4in the afternoon. It would be great if management could plant some palms around the pool for shade. Overall I would recommend this hotel. I did not go to any other beach areas so I cannot comment. If there were calmer beaches further south I would go to them next time

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Wendy12045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daviddesilvaavani, Operations Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for the rating and for sharing such a lovely review of the time spent with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely
David de Silva
Operations Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews