We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
US$262
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$105
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Deco On 44(Galle)
US$85
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fortaleza(Galle)
US$147
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
104
12
1
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
12
1
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiced teagrand pianovietnamese coffeeaussie ownerresidence roomrose goldfixtures and fittingscondensed milkwood appleroom had air conditioningluxurious experiencejazz musicboutique hotelhummussri lankaeach morningbeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel the moment I stepped inside. Beautiful decor, amazing antiques, and so many tasteful touches. The owner and his family were so lovely and helpful. The staff were incredibly friendly as well. Must try the coffee and the breakfast! Will definitely recommend this place to everyone back home.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but stopped in twice for drinks. Just delightful, amazing photos of a family that has a 300 year old association with Galle. The ambience is very old colonial but with a fresh intelligent eye. Well done mate .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank fmwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We stayed here for two days and it was very relaxing.

Our room was modern and clean and had all the amenities (except a hair dryer but I will forgive them).

There is a lounge area within the premises that is so relaxing you almost feel like your lounging at home. You can order a drink/tea/coffee whilst lounging about.

Coffee was provided outside our room each morning which was a nice touch.

The staff are great (staff only; we didn’t meet the owner/s), friendly and accommodating. There were times in Sri Lanka where we felt hotel staff over compensated on service however this hotel does it right.

The breakfast is great and worth the extra expense each day.

The only reason I did not give this place a 5 star rating is because the room we stayed in (room V) was a little bit noisy as we could hear the people above us. But it did not not ruin our stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The K, Manager at Prince Of Galle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

maaaan, Melbourne peops (we are sainters) ...so sorry i missed you, bloody kings upstairs...always making a noise :) (old buildings just are a bit noisier than most )

thx for staying

cheers
k

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

From the first smiling face that greeted us, that of Ameen the GM right down to the beaming goodbyes from the cashier, we were treated as VSGs (Very Special Guests). Maybe it was because we occupied the Kings Suite. Or so we thought... until we realized that this was how they treated EVERYONE! Super attention to detail. So much, that we expected them to start speaking Dutch. The piano player was a nice touch with the sounds wafting down on to the road, greeting us as soon as we alighted. Well-laundered linen and eco-friendly toiletries in a spotless toilet. A lot of love has been poured into the design and it showed. Welcome drink... what a concoction! And those steel straws!! The breakfast was lovely with the mini hoppers adding a quaint touch. Oh yes! We WILL be back!!!

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The K, Manager at Prince Of Galle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thanks Keith, everyone's a VSG at the Prince! see you again
cheers
k

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stopped into this hotel for a drink as it looked very nice and had cheerful and welcoming staff out the front with a very talented man playing piano upstairs.
As we sat for a drink the owner which I’m ashamed to say we found out is Australia (as are we) was abusing a female downstairs to which my wife and I jumped up to see if everything was ok as it seemed quite aggressive and heated.
When the man yelling (the owner) came upstairs he was intoxicated and continued to yell and even abused astaff member in front of us even though he was just doing his job cleaning.
If the owner acted this way back in Australia it’s likely he would have been dragged out of his own premises.
After reading other reviews It seems similar things have happened before.
Such a shame as the hotel is lovely, the staff were extremely friendly and cheerful and it had a great atmosphere with the live music until the abuse started.

Will never go again and will be sure to tell others of our experience. Such a shame that an Australian was the first rude person we have come across in our three weeks of travel in Sri Lanka where everyone has been so friendly.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ScottLawrence18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG G, Manager at Prince Of Galle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

scott,
you have completely and utterly misread this situation and taken a viewpoint without know g the full story.
firstly i was absolutely not intoxicated or under the influence of anything whatsoever, grumpy at best because i was called to deal a difficult situation which was fueled with misinformation. I no doubt raised my voice to which i apologise if that disturbed you and your partner. the fact is i was called in by staff as they were being pushed into a situation by a guest that was unacceptable and an unfair on my team. that's the story as it actually was, you really have no right to claim you know any better just by overhearing a situation. And for the record no I have not ever been involved in any similiar situation, absolutely quite the opposite, so my outburst would surely make you realise tht it was an extreme set of circumstances ! You can get off your high horse about how it might pan out in Australia - bollocks to that comment mate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews