We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better location inside Galle Fort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rampart View Guest House
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Sunset and sunrise from your balcony! Add to that a commanding view of the old Dutch Fort ramparts on the sea. There is nothing more you would need to look for in Galle Fort. And please do not miss the breakfast! It's fabulous! And do prefer the Sri Lankan breakfast! The owner of the place makes the breakfast for you herself and is served on the balcony overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarthikArun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2015

Rampart view is very good place to stay. Its in very good place right next to rampart and south coast.
Although the mosquito net was quite bad and we got few mosquito bites.

The running couple is very nice and helpful. We had a very good stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jarponen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Really cool location inside the fort with great view of the sea and the fort. Tried the traditional Sri Lankan breakfast which was really yummie (it was actually the only place we've been too that served real traditional breakfast), and we had it outside so we could enjoy the wonderful view.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sylver1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Great old hotel with run of the mill food and a dated atmosphere. Take a look if you want to see what colonial resthouses used to look like! Quite rundown but charmingly so! It feels like it is as old as the fort itself!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roberts746d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RampartView, Owner at Rampart View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

It gives us great pleasure to thank you for the comment and would like to bring it to your kind notice and for the readers of tripadvisor, we at Rampart View won the tripadvisor award trophy for the year 2013 and for the 2014 as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

We spent 3 wonderful nights and enjoyed our stay. The hosts were kind, charming and were able to accommodate the mobility issues of my mum by providing a room on the ground floor and also serving meals in their dining room. The location was perfect - so close to the ramparts and the ocean. In the mornings we watched the glorious sunrise from the balcony and at nights, the sunsets. Our rooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious and mosquito nets were provided. Highly recommend the breakfasts provided - delicious, authentic, home cooked Sri Lankan food. The hosts - Mr. & Mrs. Rauf and their son were always there to help us and we had many interesting conversations with them on various topics ranging from the history of the fort to gems. All in all, a great experience, highly recommend this very reasonably priced guest house.

Room Tip: Any of the upstairs room has access to the balcony with the gorgeous view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 km away
Millennium Resort & Gems
5.1 km away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 24 in Galle
134 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#13 of 24 in Galle
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Lady Hill
Lady Hill
#11 of 24 in Galle
278 reviews
3.3 km away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,802 reviews
2.1 km away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#17 of 24 in Galle
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rampart View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rampart View Guest House

Address: 37 Rampart Street, Fort, Galle | Sri Lanka, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galle
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range: RM202 - RM490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rampart View Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is situated overlooking the sea and it has rooms with sea view. The view of the sunset & sunrise is what unique and the big terrace where the guests could have the sun bath is what differentiates our Guest House. Registered and approved Home Stay Guest House by the Sri Lanka Tourist Board. Free from alcohol.The view of the ocean, Southern & Northern side of galle. It is only ten minutes walking distance from the Galle town to our Guest House.We at Rampart View will deliver reliable and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rampart View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rampart View Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing