We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leynbaan Villa & Fish Spa
Ranked #70 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

The major plus is that the guest house is located in the centre of old Galle and is the cheapest option available within the old walled city. Normally I'd choos3 further away cheaper options but I had 2 nights here... half a day for Galle and half a day Unawatuna beach. If they called the place Leynbaan Rooms it'd be more appropriate. The name villa gives other ideas. I upgraded on arrival to a room with air-conditioning and hot water and own bathroom and so glad I did. Mosquito nets and the aircon was great. There are insects everywhere in Sri Lanka... best to just accept that. The guy who checked me in was friendly. I read some places that breakfast was included but it wasn't the case so I didn't take it. A good budget option for open minded travellers wanting to stay central galle.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We booked one night in this «villa» and I would never book it again. We paid for a room with balcony and got a room next to a shared balcony. The room was very small and the washroom smelled. At our arrival they offered free tea for the next morning but nobody was between 8 and 9 at the reception. The only good thing is the good location. Absolutely not recommended.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed for a night @ Leynbaan Villa which is situated less than 100 meters away from Galle Fort. Situated on Leyn Baan Street, the location is good enough for someone who'd like to spend their day strolling around the old dutch settlements. Its a family run place and we were well looked after by the staff . The room was simple and clean with basic amenities, opening to a balcony that looks across the narrow street. They run a restaurant diagonally opposite to the fort and we enjoyed our meal there. Inexpensive, centrally located, free wifi, clean rooms, friendly staff :) glad we chose to stay here!

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rushiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights as a solo female budget traveller and it was the nicest place I've stayed in Sri Lanka so far. It's family run and the owners are kind, helpful and friendly. I felt really safe and I was very well looked after, offered fresh cinnamon tea and help with train times. The whole place felt warm and friendly, and they burned incense which smelled gorgeous. My room was a good size, really clean and comfortable with A/C and hot shower and clean mosquito net, plus a private balcony. Really great value for money.

The location is also absolutely perfect, right in the heart of the fort. You can walk everywhere and it's quite well lit at night.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank ccassidy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Unexpected stay at this hotel since we were double booked elsewhere. We were not expecting to stay behind a fish spa and jewellery shop but we were pleasantly surprised and found this quite quaint!
Staff were lovely and helped us with our air-con and shower problems (our own stupidity...) without any bother, and got up to let us in when we returned after 10pm!
The room was clean and comfortable with mosquito nets, wifi and air-con.
Location was great, within the fort and close to lighthouse beach.
On our day of departure the staff looked after our bags all day.
Can't fault it - but don't expect more than your room for amenities (which wasn't a problem for us).

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jas149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 km away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,799 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Republic Galle
Villa Republic Galle
#1 of 1 in Gintota
80 reviews
0.0 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 24 in Galle
482 reviews
0.0 km away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
559 reviews
0.0 km away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leynbaan Villa & Fish Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leynbaan Villa & Fish Spa

Address: 74 Leyn Baan Street,Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Price Range: RM50 - RM116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leynbaan Villa Leynbaan Street,Fort - Galle offers five clean and comfortable rooms with king-size beds, ensuite bathrooms and fans. Some of the rooms have air-conditioning,Few rooms with shared bathroom for long stays watch the sunset and have breakfast and dinner on a spacious roof-terraceTraditional srilankan meals are in our resturant down A/C -king-size beds-attached bathrooms-meals (breakfast / lunch / dinner) on request-took-took – service-airport - transfer-reliable and personalized service-pleasant rooftop sitting area-loundry facilities-night securityRoom Rates Deluxe AC Hot Water with breakfast Single USD 35Room Rates Deluxe Ac Hot Water with breakfast Double USD 40Standard Non AC Hot water with breakfast Single USD 27Standard Non AC Hot Water with breakfast Double USD 33Standard Non AC Balcony with breakfast Single USD29 (Normal Rates USD 36)Standard Non AC Balconey with breakfast Double USD34 (Normal Rates USD 42) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Leynbaan Villa & Fish Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing