We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay if your expectations are low ”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

My family has a fondness of beach resorts and we've been to a variety internationally. Coming from a town and having a holiday home where Blue Flag beaches are a dime a dozen, our standards are high. But, in defense of what may seem snobbish - we paid a small fortune to stay here for four nights in their premium suite.
The good:
1. The renowned staircase is lovely
2. Beautiful setting
3. Good spa therapists and beautifully designed spa
4. Brilliant Christmas Eve dinner and good daily buffets
5. Breathtaking views
6. Nice selection of pools
7. Overall good staff (if you stick to the process they know) and warm welcome and farewell.
8. Lovely afternoon tea at Nihal's.
9. Great Ayurvedic spa product shop downstairs
Summary of negative:
1. There wasn't hot water the first day we arrived and we took a cold bath. We did endure 3 hours of back and forth with staff to no avail. It was fixed the next day. The rain had apparently affected the solar system. I only found this out two days later and frankly they could've apologized and offered us the use of another room's shower so we could have a hot one.
2. The spa also failed to communicate the next day and made us wait for ages for our appounent without coming to us and informing us.
3. I wouldn't recommend Nihal's for breakfast - burnt brioche, wrong orders and cold coffee... Nothing like the flyers in the lifts.
4. It is a bit far from Galle Old Town. You have to take a tuk-tuk and you're basically stuck at the hotel otherwise.
There were a few other issues too but the above as well as the minor issues were brought to the attention of the management staff. After numerous complaints to the front office and then an email to the hotel, the GM came to see me. The hotel truly did try to make it up to us in their way by having a staff member assist us, arranging spa treatments and even two free dinners.
In the end though, it's not about the money. We could have paid for our own spa treatments and dinners. In the end it's about the experience and unfortunately half of ours was marred.
I'm not sure if I'd go back to this hotel or even Galle. It's okay overall if you take it as it is and don't have too high expectations.

Stayed: December 2014
1  Thank Aneesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us the experiences following your recent stay with us. Apart from the few negative comments mentioned in your review, we are glad to know you have had a relaxed stay, enjoying the magnificent view of the Indian Ocean just feet away from your room while indulging in therapies done by our well experienced Spa Therapists.

Your encouraging feedback complimenting the location of the property and the variety of cuisine served by us is highly appreciated. Positive comments are always a treat as they carry a promising message to all our fellow reviewers of Trip Advisor. Thank you.

However, going through your comments we also notice a few drawbacks in our service to you. We extend our sincere apologies and most humbly state that we regret not being able to have addressed some of the issues as they should have, before it caused inconvenience to you. But we assure you that necessary actions will be taken to ensure that a repetition of the same shall not be experienced by another guest in future.

While hoping your last experience with us will not be the final one, we make this an opportunity to invite you again for yet another enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 701 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2015

We stayed last year in January and wanted to return again. The Grand Old Lady of the Jetwing line, whilst looking a little old and tired, still offers good accomodation. We found the majority of the staff helpful, courteous and polite but it was apparent that their attitude did improve on the day we were leaving!! Tip time, I suspect. The food was as last year, plentiful and on the whole very good. My partner is a vegetarian, that when stuck for a choice, will have fish but not seafood. On several occasions the veggie choice was disappointing. Once: lasagne. We had not travelled to Sri Lanka to eat Italian. I'm sure the chefs could cook a very presentable Sri Lankan vegetarian dish: potato white curry, egg curry. The other choice was the vegetable curry, which was on every night. Perhaps more thought required in this area. What was apparent was the lack of investment in the little things. The information booklets in the room were out of date and dog earred. They still had the name of the previous general manager. The complimentary bathroom kits were in boxes that were grey and dusty, giving the impression our room hadn't been used for quite a while. The menu cards were tired and creased. These matters could be addressed quickly. It did appear to be the case that there was friction within the team, a different one from last year. The resident naturalist, Anoma, was his usual helpful and interesting self; a pleasure to talk to. However, nothing marred our 5 day stay apart from the wedding party on the Saturday night. It would have been common courtesy to inform us of this event when we booked in, with the disco going until 12.30, right outside the rooms. I suspect investment is required to get this lovely hotel back to where it belongs, amongst the top ones on the island, but think that will require closure for a while. it needs a makeover in both the fabric of the building and management need to address the little things with more conviction. However, the location is fantastic, rooms spacious and food fine, so no grumbles really and I would have no issues with returning.

Room Tip: No real beach that is private, but huge expanse of beach just a few hundred yards up the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay with us in Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality, and enjoying good cuisine in our restaurants.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

This property is on the beach in Galle. Close to the Fort . The views from the sea facing rooms are great and even the lobby and restaurant have great views. Nice buffet breakfast spread that includes Western as well as Sinhalese dishes. They have a folk dancing show some evenings..start at 9;00pm. Good to see after dinner. They have two pools. A nice spa but hard to get appointments as the staff is limited, so try to book early in your stay.

Room Tip: Most all the rooms are sea facing. There are no rooms on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samosababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us, savoring great food at our restaurants that feature authentic cuisine from across the globe.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

This magnificent Barwa designed hotel is set in a beautiful part of the world but that is about where the magic ends. The service is poor and the food average at best. There does not seem to be strong management culture. It was not uncommon to be ignored by staff or have issues being understood. For the money it did not represent good value. Unless you have a good reason to need a large hotel better fun is to be had in Galle Fort itself

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for your valuable review of our hotel.

However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We stayed as a family (two adults, two children) in a super deluxe room in December. We wanted to arrive a day early from Yala to avoid the floods (and in fact, the roads were closed the day after we arrived), and we had an incredibly helpful member of staff who ensured that everything was arranged exactly as we needed: I cannot recommend her highly enough. Her name was Sabiha, and I don't think she ever took a break as we saw her virtually every day during our stay, quite often until late into the evening. After some debate (about whether a second pull out bed would fit in the room - it did but they needed convincing!) everything ran smoothly. We were there during a Rajapaksa rally, so the town was heaving, but we still managed to have an enjoyable experience. With the exception of Sabiha, and the extremely helpful boy who looked after our room, I would say that service was variable, particularly in the restaurant. We stayed in the spa wing, so had afternoon tea one afternoon which was quite fun, but the meals at Nihal's restaurant were disappointing. The main restaurant, which was buffet style, was fine but not as good as at some other hotels we enjoyed during our stay in Sri Lanka. Our room was lovely, but that wing had recently been redecorated and I had the impression that the rest of the hotel could do with some updating and decorating. The tennis court was not only flooded, but full of cracks and with a very uneven surface. The sea is impressive from the hotel, but the beach was small, not very clean and the currents are too rough for anything except paddling. Overall a good but not great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.8 km away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#9 of 24 in Galle
85 reviews
8.8 km away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
0.4 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
272 reviews
3.2 km away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
550 reviews
8.7 km away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: RM739 - RM2,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing