We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jetwing Lighthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lady Hill(Galle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amangalla(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,924)
Filter reviews
1,924 results
Traveller rating
1,158
532
161
42
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,158
532
161
42
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rockscinnamon roomindian oceangeoffrey bawasri lankamain restaurantwaves crashingset menubuffet styleoverlooking the oceanhalf boardbeautiful hotelnew wingtuk tukdeluxe rooma la carte menurooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
829 - 834 of 1,924 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2015

We stayed last year in January and wanted to return again. The Grand Old Lady of the Jetwing line, whilst looking a little old and tired, still offers good accomodation. We found the majority of the staff helpful, courteous and polite but it was apparent that their attitude did improve on the day we were leaving!! Tip time, I suspect. The food was as last year, plentiful and on the whole very good. My partner is a vegetarian, that when stuck for a choice, will have fish but not seafood. On several occasions the veggie choice was disappointing. Once: lasagne. We had not travelled to Sri Lanka to eat Italian. I'm sure the chefs could cook a very presentable Sri Lankan vegetarian dish: potato white curry, egg curry. The other choice was the vegetable curry, which was on every night. Perhaps more thought required in this area. What was apparent was the lack of investment in the little things. The information booklets in the room were out of date and dog earred. They still had the name of the previous general manager. The complimentary bathroom kits were in boxes that were grey and dusty, giving the impression our room hadn't been used for quite a while. The menu cards were tired and creased. These matters could be addressed quickly. It did appear to be the case that there was friction within the team, a different one from last year. The resident naturalist, Anoma, was his usual helpful and interesting self; a pleasure to talk to. However, nothing marred our 5 day stay apart from the wedding party on the Saturday night. It would have been common courtesy to inform us of this event when we booked in, with the disco going until 12.30, right outside the rooms. I suspect investment is required to get this lovely hotel back to where it belongs, amongst the top ones on the island, but think that will require closure for a while. it needs a makeover in both the fabric of the building and management need to address the little things with more conviction. However, the location is fantastic, rooms spacious and food fine, so no grumbles really and I would have no issues with returning.

Room Tip: No real beach that is private, but huge expanse of beach just a few hundred yards up the coast.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay with us in Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality, and enjoying good cuisine in our restaurants.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

This property is on the beach in Galle. Close to the Fort . The views from the sea facing rooms are great and even the lobby and restaurant have great views. Nice buffet breakfast spread that includes Western as well as Sinhalese dishes. They have a folk dancing show some evenings..start at 9;00pm. Good to see after dinner. They have two pools. A nice spa but hard to get appointments as the staff is limited, so try to book early in your stay.

Room Tip: Most all the rooms are sea facing. There are no rooms on the back side
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samosababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us, savoring great food at our restaurants that feature authentic cuisine from across the globe.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

This magnificent Barwa designed hotel is set in a beautiful part of the world but that is about where the magic ends. The service is poor and the food average at best. There does not seem to be strong management culture. It was not uncommon to be ignored by staff or have issues being understood. For the money it did not represent good value. Unless you have a good reason to need a large hotel better fun is to be had in Galle Fort itself

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for your valuable review of our hotel.

However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We stayed as a family (two adults, two children) in a super deluxe room in December. We wanted to arrive a day early from Yala to avoid the floods (and in fact, the roads were closed the day after we arrived), and we had an incredibly helpful member of staff who ensured that everything was arranged exactly as we needed: I cannot recommend her highly enough. Her name was Sabiha, and I don't think she ever took a break as we saw her virtually every day during our stay, quite often until late into the evening. After some debate (about whether a second pull out bed would fit in the room - it did but they needed convincing!) everything ran smoothly. We were there during a Rajapaksa rally, so the town was heaving, but we still managed to have an enjoyable experience. With the exception of Sabiha, and the extremely helpful boy who looked after our room, I would say that service was variable, particularly in the restaurant. We stayed in the spa wing, so had afternoon tea one afternoon which was quite fun, but the meals at Nihal's restaurant were disappointing. The main restaurant, which was buffet style, was fine but not as good as at some other hotels we enjoyed during our stay in Sri Lanka. Our room was lovely, but that wing had recently been redecorated and I had the impression that the rest of the hotel could do with some updating and decorating. The tennis court was not only flooded, but full of cracks and with a very uneven surface. The sea is impressive from the hotel, but the beach was small, not very clean and the currents are too rough for anything except paddling. Overall a good but not great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

I generally do not like big hotels, but this one is an exception. Built by Geoffrey Bawa this hotel has it all. From the outside it looks somewhat austere, but with beautiful views and dramatic confrontations with the ocean. The rooms are a very pleasant surprise with a tasteful eye for detail.
Service is as good as it can get for a big seize hotel and it has a very attractive spa and great swiming pools. Only 5 minutes away from Galle Fort by tuk tuk, it is ideally located for a stay on the beach and only a short way from where the action is. Staff is very welcoming and pleasant.
The Sri Lankan family who started this had a great idea and followed it through until the end. Bravo!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Petrus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in, and enjoying sumptuous cuisine in our restaurants.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests. We appreciate your kind sentiments and we hope that your next stay at our hotel would be a longer one.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews